We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pacience amd good mood”
Review of Fantasea Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Fantasea Resort
Ranked #63 of 91 Hotels in Ko Pha Ngan
Reviewed March 12, 2013

The huts are veeery basic, plenty of dogs around and the owners have the speed of reaction...thai style. But, appart of that, its an amazing beach, an amazing location, an amazing veranda and the food is really good. I'll give it a chance again!

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank violeta y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (24)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

7 - 13 of 24 reviews

Reviewed January 4, 2013

We booked this location because we left it VERY late to look online for somewhere to stay over the New Year/Full Moon party period.

If you are ONLY going to Koh Phangan for the full moon party - I would not recommend staying on this side of the island. It's not a problem getting TO the party, but on the way back be prepared for a 2 hour trip (Taxi's only take groups and will drop everyone back at their resorts which takes a LOONNNGGGG time).

If you aren't overly fussy then this is an 'ok' place to be. Be realistic though - it's not luxury by any standards and you might be disappointed if that's what you're expecting. I gave it three stars because for the price you pay during peak season on the island - the standard is ok.

The area is good because the beach is RIGHT there and very nice for swimming. It is not as crowded as other bays that are close by.

The restaurant is the BEST eating in the area ... and I believe it was the best food I had in Thailand. If it's busy you might be waiting a long time for your meal, but it's worth it - so enjoy the view and don't be in a hurry! :)

We actually stayed in two different bungalows, just because when we first arrived we decided to 'upgrade' for 3 days while one of the Deluxe Bungalows was available.

The deluxe bungalow had a double bed, and then a single bunk bed above it. The beds were clean - but very hard (which is pretty standard in Thailand). The shower pressure was really bad, but the water was hot. We were a group of 3 adults and it felt a bit tight in this bungalow. It did have a tv and fridge though - and when it rained (and we were recovering from full moon) there was an excellent movie channel in English :)

We also stayed in R7 - a beach cottage and we all actually preferred this room! It felt like it had more space - was a bit cooler than the last one because of the tiled floor and the shower was a LOT better. There's no fridge or TV ... but we weren't there to watch tv. The room wasn't cleaned frequently - but we were given clean towels when we asked for them.

Be careful when booking online. To book online we were told we HAD to stay 7 nights and that there was a compulsary gala dinner which cost 1500 Baht each. When we arrived people had negotiated to stay for fewer days, and other people who walked in for the gala dinner paid MUCH less. The gala dinner was more like a barbeque - which I wouldn't have minded if we hadn't had to pay so much for. The meals that we bought in the restaurant were of MUCH better standard and for a fraction of the price.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ferrisnz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 22, 2010

We stayed in a little hut on the beach. Hut was very basic, but then you're not there to spend all your time in your room. We were right on the beach, a couple of steps from the water. The hut had hammocks on the deck and was a really nice spot. The Resort was a really good place to eat as well - the food was really good and they made the best shakes I had in Thailand. The people who run it are friendly enough.

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lexy66NZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 19, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: September 2017, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Emma L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2016 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: July 2016, traveled solo
Thank RamBam77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 6, 2016 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: February 2016, traveled as a couple
Thank Daniela Fernand... P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2015
Google Translation

  • Stayed: July 2015, traveled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank glotro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ko Pha Ngan hotels
3.7 mi away
Santhiya Koh Phangan Resort & Spa
3.6 mi away
Buri Rasa Koh Phangan
Buri Rasa Koh Phangan
#1 of 91 in Ko Pha Ngan
1,546 reviews
0 mi away
Wild & Wandering Backpacker Hostel & Bar
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Panviman Resort - Koh Pha Ngan
4.6 mi away
Kupu Kupu Phangan Beach Villas and Spa by l'Occitane
3.6 mi away
Anantara Rasananda Koh Phangan Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fantasea Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fantasea Resort

Address: Chalok Lam Bay East | Surat Thani, Ko Pha Ngan 84280, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Pha Ngan
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #63 of 91 Hotels in Ko Pha Ngan
Price Range: $17 - $80 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fantasea Resort is positioned beach front at Chalok Lam Bay in Thailand. The bay is one of the most beautiful on Phangan with fantastic views and large mountains framing the bay. Fantasea offer a range of classic Thai bungalows to suit all budgets. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing