We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Chilled fun for everyone”
Review of Coco Garden Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Coco Garden Resort
Certificate of Excellence
Alcester, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
111 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Chilled fun for everyone”
Reviewed October 2, 2013

Great find, with a fantastic small bar and great owners. We stayed here, two, laid back couples, and had a great time. The bungalows are incredibly clean and comfortable and each one has a great hammock which I laid in for hours. We met one of the English owners who was an absolute legend, Lek the barman is great and so laid back. The food (ribs especially) is also very good and being able to get a taxi so easily is great too. The restaurant is also great, with Thai cushions for you to really relax too. If I am honest, Phangan is my least favourite island, but If you are going to do it, do it here.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ap_0011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

383 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    229
    95
    41
    11
    7
See reviews for
19
132
51
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
Reviewed September 14, 2013 via mobile

Coco has to be the best place on the planet! From the minute we arrived we were treated like royalty with a warm welcome from nudi and lee. The people definitely make the place here at coco! But the surroundings are breath taking, soft sand, water like a bath and stunning views over to Samui. The star attraction has to be the best bar man in thailand... Lek, who literally had us and other guests laughing from start to finish!!
If you're anything like me you'll be pleased to hear you won't be sat with an empty glass for long! With the stunning cocktails a particular highlight as the sun sets over the sea as you chill in your hammock listening to amazing tunes.

The group of people we met at coco will now be lifelong friends. Coco can be whatever you want it to be. We chilled on the beach of a day and went a bit wild of an evening, but fear not all you boring ones or those on tight budgets! If a quiet evening meal and a few drinks under the stars is more your bag, the food is great and caters for all tastes.

We stayed in both fan and air con bungalows and both were superb value for money! Clean, secure, superb location I couldn't fault anything for the price!

For people heading to full moon Coco is ideal with taxis running throughout the night for 100BHT pp. situated in ban tai you're away from the madness which gets pretty heavy in haad rin but close enough whenever you feel the need for a crazy one.

In summary, if you're heading to Koh Phangan STAY HERE!!! I will be back 100%

A truly life changing experience. Thanks to all the staff in particular Lee, aidie, Nudi and Lek. Can't wait to see you guys soon!

Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Mark H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2013

I've been back backing for three months, and felt this place was fine but wouldn't make an effort to come back.

The positives:
+ Owner was very helpful in making suggestions. The rest of the staff was fine (polite, would help when asked but didn't go out of their way to be helpful)
+ Right on the beach, lovely views of the water.
+ Great restaurant / bar - yummy food and a good vibe
+ Basic rooms (with hammocks!) were very reasonably priced

The drawbacks:
- The beach wasn't really suitable for swimming. In fairness, they don't claim that it is a swimming beach, but staying on a beach where you can't swim doesn't do a lot for me.
- The light in my room wasn't good enough to read a book; wireless didn't make it to my room
- The bathroom was rundown (fixtures on the sink were wobbly, shower had to be held, no hot water)

Bottom line: I probably wouldn't make an effort come back since you can't swim on the beach and the bungalows are pretty basic but I know people who would probably enjoy staying here

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sanda2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 3, 2013

I chose this place based on previous reviews and happy to say it was the perfect choice. Highlights were the friendly staff, delicious food, location, and other travelers. Took a ferry from Koh Samui then a taxi for 100 baht to get there. The bungalows were average and comfortable for the price. The staff (Noori and Lek) elevate the charm of this place with their smiles and funny banter. Coco Garden is within walking distance to other restaurants, bars, and shops, but set far enough away from the blaring techno sounds down the beach. This was a place people come back to when they visit Koh Phangan and I plan to be one of them.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pbacani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 30, 2013

We stayed here for 3 nights-the most enjoyable 3 so far. The staff were very helpful and made us feel so safe and at home here. The owner reccommended places for us to visit, without trying to sell us a product. Clean rooms, great food, relaxing atmosphere and fantastic value for money. Staff and owners take great care keeping the place and a lot of planning and thought has obviously gone into this resort. Make sure to visit the coffee and postcard shop down the road (if you can bring yourself to leave the resort!). Would definitely come back and we will reccommend it to our German, Irish and English friends and family!! Also the perfect place to stay for Half Moon Festivals!

4 very happy girls

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hanleosvenpaul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 29, 2013

We stayed three nights at cocogardens as part of our trip through Thailand. The bungalow was ok, provided we payed 7 euros per night per person. What is really remarkable about the stay is the chilled out atmosphere - the bar by the beach is awesome, as well as the covered dining and relax hall. The owner is very nice and helpful but the true entertainer is the thai bartender, he's my best friend in Thailand now so be nice to him! Overall I would really recommend this stay.

Pavel

Room Tip: If you're a couple I think beachfront bungalows are a wiser choice for you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tobradex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 29, 2013

I stayed at Coco Gardens for a week and had an amazing time. The location is perfect as all parts of the island are accessible from it via a cheap cab or motorcycles. The beach huts are basic but great value for money and clean. You are right on the beachfront which is great. The staff are very helpful and the food is good. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank george_barry92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ko Pha Ngan hotels
6.0 mi away
Koh Phangan Dreamland Resort
Koh Phangan Dreamland Resort
#38 of 92 in Ko Pha Ngan
234 reviews
1.2 mi away
Angkana Hotel Bungalows
Angkana Hotel Bungalows
#1 of 367 in Ko Pha Ngan
285 reviews
0.9 mi away
Milky Bay Resort
Milky Bay Resort
#19 of 92 in Ko Pha Ngan
744 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.4 mi away
Shiralea Backpackers Resort
Shiralea Backpackers Resort
#7 of 367 in Ko Pha Ngan
698 reviews
5.1 mi away
Palita Lodge
Palita Lodge
#12 of 92 in Ko Pha Ngan
531 reviews
1.5 mi away
Echo Beach Backpackers
Echo Beach Backpackers
#14 of 367 in Ko Pha Ngan
221 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Coco Garden Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coco Garden Resort

Property: Coco Garden Resort
Address: 100/7 Moo 1, Ko Pha Ngan 84280, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Pha Ngan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 367 Specialty Lodging in Ko Pha Ngan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Coco Garden Resort 2*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At Coco Garden you will find... a lush garden of shady coconut trees, the warm & welcoming Coco staff, your charming bungalow with hammock & sea view, great value tasty food, good music & ice cold drinks at our Beach Bar, free WiFi, help with onward travel, many happy faces, beach volleyball, a chill-out deck with cushions & low tables on Ban Tai beach, right beside Thong Sala and only 20 min. from Full Moon Party! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, HostelWorld, TripOnline SA, Travelocity and Hotwire so you can book your Coco Garden Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Coco Garden Hotel Koh Phangan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing