We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Food and fun with fab people”
Review of Coco Garden Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Coco Garden Resort
Certificate of Excellence
San Francisco, California
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Food and fun with fab people”
Reviewed September 3, 2013

I chose this place based on previous reviews and happy to say it was the perfect choice. Highlights were the friendly staff, delicious food, location, and other travelers. Took a ferry from Koh Samui then a taxi for 100 baht to get there. The bungalows were average and comfortable for the price. The staff (Noori and Lek) elevate the charm of this place with their smiles and funny banter. Coco Garden is within walking distance to other restaurants, bars, and shops, but set far enough away from the blaring techno sounds down the beach. This was a place people come back to when they visit Koh Phangan and I plan to be one of them.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pbacani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

383 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    229
    95
    41
    11
    7
See reviews for
19
132
51
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 30, 2013

We stayed here for 3 nights-the most enjoyable 3 so far. The staff were very helpful and made us feel so safe and at home here. The owner reccommended places for us to visit, without trying to sell us a product. Clean rooms, great food, relaxing atmosphere and fantastic value for money. Staff and owners take great care keeping the place and a lot of planning and thought has obviously gone into this resort. Make sure to visit the coffee and postcard shop down the road (if you can bring yourself to leave the resort!). Would definitely come back and we will reccommend it to our German, Irish and English friends and family!! Also the perfect place to stay for Half Moon Festivals!

4 very happy girls

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hanleosvenpaul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 29, 2013

We stayed three nights at cocogardens as part of our trip through Thailand. The bungalow was ok, provided we payed 7 euros per night per person. What is really remarkable about the stay is the chilled out atmosphere - the bar by the beach is awesome, as well as the covered dining and relax hall. The owner is very nice and helpful but the true entertainer is the thai bartender, he's my best friend in Thailand now so be nice to him! Overall I would really recommend this stay.

Pavel

Room Tip: If you're a couple I think beachfront bungalows are a wiser choice for you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tobradex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 29, 2013

I stayed at Coco Gardens for a week and had an amazing time. The location is perfect as all parts of the island are accessible from it via a cheap cab or motorcycles. The beach huts are basic but great value for money and clean. You are right on the beachfront which is great. The staff are very helpful and the food is good. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank george_barry92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2013

Beautifully clean and new front row bungalows directly on the beach. Air con, comfy beds and hot showers. Fun bar dude and friendly owner. Delicious food. We couldn't stay there over Xmas as it was fully booked but stayed just up the beach and came down for Xmas day for the barracuda and enormous buffet! Couldn't rate it higher.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jennietools
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed August 19, 2013

stayed here in oct 2011

+excellent location on beach
+ air con bungalow
+ clean, spacious, quiet rooms
+ amazing staff - I managed to leave my passport in the safe at the coco bungalows & didn't realize until i arrived at Koh samui. The hotel where I was staying phoned coco gardens and they were helpful enough to arrange for a staff member to put my passport in a courier package on the ferry to Koh samui. Amazing service!
+ food was very good, if a little dear
+ staff helpful & booked us taxis
+ nice bar overlooking sea
+ central chill out area to watch movies on a rainy day

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Melanie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed August 19, 2013

We stayed in Coco Garden from the 10th - 16th August as a slowly down period from the rest of our travels. On appearance the resort seems very low-key and basic but given the price you pay it's not going to be luxury.

The rooms (ours was beach front villa number 1), were good but again mininmal, bed is fine, slightly hard but not unbearable. Bathroom is ok, shower was are only qualm because on some occasions it would behave like a dripping tap as appose to a shower but never the less facilities are there.

The public areas are a huge plus on this place, amazing people to chat to with a good food menu in the restaurant! Wifi is spacey but it's not a major trouble when sitting in the public areas. The staff who work here are exceedingly helpful and push out the extra mile on recommending bike rentals and organising cabs.

One of the best places to stay on the island if your looking for; beautiful sights, good food, basic but immaculate lodging and overall a good chat!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lauren K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ko Pha Ngan hotels
6.0 mi away
Koh Phangan Dreamland Resort
Koh Phangan Dreamland Resort
#38 of 92 in Ko Pha Ngan
234 reviews
1.2 mi away
Angkana Hotel Bungalows
Angkana Hotel Bungalows
#1 of 367 in Ko Pha Ngan
285 reviews
0.9 mi away
Milky Bay Resort
Milky Bay Resort
#19 of 92 in Ko Pha Ngan
744 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.4 mi away
Shiralea Backpackers Resort
Shiralea Backpackers Resort
#7 of 367 in Ko Pha Ngan
698 reviews
5.1 mi away
Palita Lodge
Palita Lodge
#12 of 92 in Ko Pha Ngan
531 reviews
1.5 mi away
Echo Beach Backpackers
Echo Beach Backpackers
#14 of 367 in Ko Pha Ngan
221 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Coco Garden Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coco Garden Resort

Property: Coco Garden Resort
Address: 100/7 Moo 1, Ko Pha Ngan 84280, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Pha Ngan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 367 Specialty Lodging in Ko Pha Ngan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Coco Garden Resort 2*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At Coco Garden you will find... a lush garden of shady coconut trees, the warm & welcoming Coco staff, your charming bungalow with hammock & sea view, great value tasty food, good music & ice cold drinks at our Beach Bar, free WiFi, help with onward travel, many happy faces, beach volleyball, a chill-out deck with cushions & low tables on Ban Tai beach, right beside Thong Sala and only 20 min. from Full Moon Party! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, HostelWorld, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Travelocity and Hotwire so you can book your Coco Garden Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Coco Garden Hotel Koh Phangan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing