We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Koh Phangan - Coco resort”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Coco Garden Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Coco Garden Resort
Certificate of Excellence
Brisbane
Level Contributor
21 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Koh Phangan - Coco resort”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 17, 2013

I had the luxury of staying here for 4 nights primarily for the half moon party. Without the intention of splurging too much ideally the resort would have to be in close proximity to the harbour & Ban Tai.

As a resort Coco Garden itself is cozy & open space. The #1 a/c beachfront bungalow is right next to the reception area, restaurant, bar & beach. The bedding is comfortable with a large en-suite with hot water. The hotel is safe, secure and the staff is great. There is always someone onsite at any given time happy to assist with transportation requests.

The restaurant is fantastic with a wide variety from Thai food to the CoCo burger. The bar is also exceptional with the option of a room tab. The beach although only steps away is very rocky with alot of coral. Ideally swimming isn't recommended.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank franzchristoph
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

379 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    227
    94
    40
    11
    7
See reviews for
18
130
51
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Juba, South Sudan
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 11, 2013

Stayed here around full moon party time. To get the bad stuff out the way first, the beach isn't great... but that's it. Everything else is great. The location is walking distance from the main town and harbour and 20 mins taxi from the full moon party (you don't want to stay in that town anyway). Had a great time chatting to Adrian who was always really helpful and a good laugh at the bar, people would come from all over the other beach resorts to drink at Coco at night. The rest staff will bend over backwards for you for whatever you need, and the food is awesome. The hammocks and those Thai-mat-things are the perfect place to lie while you get served your 5th Pad Thai the day after the full moon party. Rooms are simple but great value! If you want nice beaches you can always hire mopeds and head north for 20 mins, but Coco Gardens is the place to stay!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 17AlexD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013

We didn't actually stay at Coco
Our taxi dropped us here by mistake (or perhaps on purpose) whilst looking for our actual hotel.

We came in and the staff were amazingly helpful going out of their way to call our hotel and arranging a taxi for us... we were not even guests! During our brief visit we were amazed at how nice the place looked, so peaceful. Ultimately we wish we had stayed here instead!


  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mrlex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nong Prue, Thailand
Level Contributor
29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 5, 2013 via mobile

Thus is our second stay and as usual the service was great, the food fantastic and the staff took care of us every step of the way.

Yes the beach isn't great and the snorkelling worse but now you've been warned, don't bother going with yer mask & fins. I go for the bar, the view from the bar, room 10 some 20m from the waters edge, the good company and the Coco Breakfast. Oh and did I mention the bar!

Well done Coco Team

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mo M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 2, 2013

My husband and I stayed at Coco Garden for 4 nights in an air conditioned room and then another 8 nights in a fan room (a little more towards the back of the complex). The fan rooms have more basic facilities and have less water pressure but they are still very good value for money. The bar right on the beach is great - very social for people of all ages, and the food is really good. Occasional noise from surrounding hotels and nearby Thai karaoke can be a bit annoying, but this was not often. We stayed at Coco Garden in March and it was pretty busy but it still felt chilled out and never overloaded with people. We went back a few times during April for dinner and a few drinks (in fact, it kind of became our 'local' for a while...) and it was pretty quiet. If you are planning to go to the full moon party it will take 15-20 minutes in a cab over extremely hilly terrain. Pretty sure Coco's organises trips down to the party and then everyone just shares a cab (or tuk tuk) back. If you want to swim, suggest you wait for high tide. It is an extremely shallow beach (as is the whole west coast) and a little rocky. Go to the east side of the island for the best beaches, although they are more remote....just depends what you are looking for... Overall, we had a great time at Coco's and felt really at home. On a final note, it would be remiss of me not to mention the owners Lee and Adrian, who are great guys, and their wonderful, hard working team member Nuodi, who keeps it all running smoothly.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sambo100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 13, 2013

Myself and my girlfriend spent 4 nights in Koh Phagnan for the Full Moon Party. We were looking for somewhere away from Haad Rin but not too far away (if you know what I mean!).

Step forward Coco Garden!

This place ticks all the boxes; clean affordable bungalows (with A/C), great location right by a beautiful beach, the pier abd lots of shops and restaurants, great for meeting people.

One of the owners Adrian is a brilliant host, great craic and always up for a laugh. The rest of the staff are also very kind and welcoming. The bar area is really chilled out and ideal for meeting people.

I would definitely come back to Coco Garden if I return to Koh Phagnan in the future, but I would also reccomded you book in advance. We were hoping to get a beachside bungalow however these were all reserved about 2 months in advance. We met one couple who booked last June, that's how popular (and good) this place is!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sweetman09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Germany
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 12, 2013 via mobile

Stayed for several nights and enjoyed the relaxed and very friendly and helpful atmosphere. Close to party locations and the pier, this place is definitely a good choice for phangan. Staff were always happy to give tips, book tours, taxis and whatsoever.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Florian W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ko Pha Ngan hotels
1.7 mi away
Le Divine Comedie
Le Divine Comedie
#3 of 89 in Ko Pha Ngan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 611 reviews
0.5 mi away
First Villa Beach Resort
First Villa Beach Resort
#9 of 354 in Ko Pha Ngan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 256 reviews
1.2 mi away
Angkana Hotel Bungalows
Angkana Hotel Bungalows
#1 of 354 in Ko Pha Ngan
5.0 of 5 bubbles 276 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.7 mi away
Santhiya Koh Phangan Resort & Spa
0.7 mi away
Phangan Beach Resort
Phangan Beach Resort
#27 of 89 in Ko Pha Ngan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 455 reviews
4.6 mi away
The COAST Resort - Koh Phangan
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Coco Garden Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coco Garden Resort

Property: Coco Garden Resort
Address: 100/7 Moo 1, Ko Pha Ngan 84280, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Pha Ngan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 354 Specialty Lodging in Ko Pha Ngan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Coco Garden Resort 2*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At Coco Garden you will find... a lush garden of shady coconut trees, the warm & welcoming Coco staff, your charming bungalow with hammock & sea view, great value tasty food, good music & ice cold drinks at our Beach Bar, free WiFi, help with onward travel, many happy faces, beach volleyball, a chill-out deck with cushions & low tables on Ban Tai beach, right beside Thong Sala and only 20 min. from Full Moon Party! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, HostelWorld, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Coco Garden Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Coco Garden Hotel Koh Phangan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing