We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Made our stay on Koh Phangan so enjoyable”
Review of Coco Garden Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Coco Garden Resort
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 18, 2013

We stayed at Coco gardens for six days in February 2013 and loved every minute. From the moment we arrived after a very long and tiring journey we were looked after by the friendly staff who are always on hand to answer questions or help out. It is a fifteen minute walk from the main town area of Thong Sala and we happily walked there and back everyday, even at night. The atmosphere is just lovely, whether on the beach, the bar or in the restaurant you can just chill and relax. We were lucky to be able to book an air conditioned beach front bungalow and woke up to a pretty sea view which never got boring. The rooms are clean and comfortable and have all you need for an island stay including a cute hammock on the balcony area. The staff can book excursions for you - everyone should try the local cooking course at 'My Wok and me' - it was fab. Also Angthong national marine park is not to be missed. We really enjoyed our stay here and i'm missing it's laid back vibe and the people already. I would highly recommend it and look forward to returning one day.

Room Tip: The air-con beach front bungalows are worth the extra money for the view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gem918
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (391)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

213 - 219 of 391 reviews

Reviewed February 16, 2013

I stayed here a week, the fan rooms are great value and the staff are really helpful.

A great location for getting to Thongsala and right on the beach. You may not need to leave the beach bar much as it;s breezy in the day to get a lovely tan and fun at night, with plenty of fun sorts both sides of the bar.

Very clean towels, sheets, all loo roll provided and the food in the restaurant is lovely.

You'll find this place busy, so book in advance!

Room Tip: Ask the owners depending on whether you want beach front or a value fan room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Zebradong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 8, 2013 via mobile

Awesome beach bar and area for chilling out in. Loved it!! Also right on the beach but a lot better beaches around if you hire a motorbike

Rooms were basic and bathroom was average

Would probably stay again

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Murry9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 28, 2013

Second year in a row I've stayed at Coco Garden and I can guarantee that I will not stay anywhere else when visiting this lovely island! The atmosphere at the resort in general, and especially the bar area is second to none and if there are better owners/staff in the area, then I have yet to meet them! They basically become your friends during your stay (so expect a bit of banter, especially after a few beers!) and how many other places can genuinely offer that?

The resort is in a good location; the beach is nice and not far from a lot of the other nicer ones on the island, the bar is in a wonderful place situated right on the seafront, Thong Sala town is only a walk away (or very short taxi/motorbike ride) and it is not too far from the main parties the island offers (transport will be arranged to them if required). The rooms although not being 5-star, are clean and comfortable and more important to people like me, very reasonably priced! If you are looking for luxury then maybe the budget bungalows aren't for you, but they have nice beachfront rooms if that is the case. There's a free pool table in a good open space and a decent TV in the restaurant/lounging area.

Even if you are not staying at Coco Gardens, make sure you spend some time at the bar during your trip, best place on the island to meet new people and the atmosphere there is generally always top notch. A lot of the locals regularly come to the bar and in the owners, AD and Lee, you're generally guaranteed a good laugh! Drinks are reasonably priced too and the bar staff knock up some mean (and sometimes dangerous!) cocktails!

I've read reviews on here that moan about the rooms not being cleaned daily... all you have to do is ask and it will be done!! That is the same for pretty much anything you need; taxis, excursions, transport to the parties etc. I preferred getting my room cleaned whenever I needed it, especially if I fancied a bit of a siesta in the afternoon! We needed to book a journey to Phi Phi island which was sorted out by the staff immediately and at a good price.

The restaurant is also another hit! As well as being a nice area in general (with most tables out of the sun for those needing breakfast with a hangover!), the food is some of the best around. A lot of places do great Thai food but leave a lot to be desired, but the chef here gets it all right! I do recommend the Thai food though, especially the seafood Tom Yam soup! They will also be able to make most other Thai dishes that are not on the menu. You won't be disappointed.

All in all, I could not recommend a stay at this resort any more, mainly for the atmosphere but of course, that would not be possible without top staff working as hard as they do.

Room Tip: Just be aware that the standard fan bungalows are quite basic (although clean and comfortable), whic...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GaryEvans69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 18, 2013 via mobile

We were really happy with our stay at Coco Garden, we originally booked for 4 nights but stayed an extra because we liked it so much. We booked a twin fan room, which was basic but it's what you pay for. We have stayed in backpackers hostels which cost more and you get a lot less. Towels, toilet paper and sheets are supplied.
The staff are really friendly and helpful.
The restaurant is good, not too expensive and the food is nice.
The wifi works most of the time, but only in the dining area.
The downside is that the beach is not fantastic, we didn't really swim because we saw some jelly fish, the water wasn't that nice and also the weather was a bit average. We took a share taxi from the street (the resort have their own taxi but it's more expensive) to haad rin for 100thb each and the beach was a bit nicer. You can walk to the hostel from the pier in Thongsala.
Coco Garden is a great place to have a few relaxing days away which is what we wanted.

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lpedetti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 15, 2013 via mobile

was stay 4 night at this boungalow we co this cuz many people write best place for stay anyway we had basic room...too small doest has fresh air at room...ugly floor...wifi only at reception or at bar.not frendly staff...

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank doestn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coco Garden R, Manager at Coco Garden Resort, responded to this reviewResponded January 17, 2013

Very suprised about your comments.
We wish that you has expressed your dissatisfaction during your stay.
We welcome all feedback and will always do our best to resolve matters.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 3, 2012

Stayed here for one week in November. Rooms are a little too basic for me. I agree with some other reviews that drawers or a wardrobe would be useful. There is no storage space. Rooms are only cleaned if you ask, and towels provided were threadbare and stained. However, the atmosphere is fab, the owners are just the most helpful friendly guys and the view from the beachfront bungalows is amazing. The beachfront bar is currently under reconstruction, but I think this will be electric when completed. So, would I stay here again? Yes I would.

Room Tip: Request a beachfront bungalow, more expensive but worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank angel365
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ko Pha Ngan hotels
1.7 mi away
Le Divine Comedie
Le Divine Comedie
#5 of 91 in Ko Pha Ngan
709 reviews
1.2 mi away
Angkana Hotel Bungalows
Angkana Hotel Bungalows
#1 of 383 in Ko Pha Ngan
302 reviews
0.2 mi away
V-View Beach Resort
V-View Beach Resort
#21 of 91 in Ko Pha Ngan
171 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Milky Bay Resort
Milky Bay Resort
#19 of 91 in Ko Pha Ngan
771 reviews
5.4 mi away
Shiralea Backpackers Resort
Shiralea Backpackers Resort
#9 of 383 in Ko Pha Ngan
704 reviews
6.3 mi away
Buri Rasa Koh Phangan
Buri Rasa Koh Phangan
#1 of 91 in Ko Pha Ngan
1,515 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Coco Garden Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coco Garden Resort

Address: 100/7 Moo 1, Ko Pha Ngan 84280, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Pha Ngan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 383 Specialty Lodging in Ko Pha Ngan
Price Range: $11 - $22 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Coco Garden Resort 2*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At Coco Garden you will find... a lush garden of shady coconut trees, the warm & welcoming Coco staff, your charming bungalow with hammock & sea view, great value tasty food, good music & ice cold drinks at our Beach Bar, free WiFi, help with onward travel, many happy faces, beach volleyball, a chill-out deck with cushions & low tables on Ban Tai beach, right beside Thong Sala and only 20 min. from Full Moon Party! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, HostelWorld and Hotwire so you can book your Coco Garden Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Coco Garden Hotel Koh Phangan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing