We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Resort”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Ko Libong
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Le Dugong Resort & Diving Center
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Ko Libong
Seattle, Washington
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Wonderful Resort”
Reviewed December 3, 2009

This resort is tricky to get to but my husband and I wish we could have stayed longer. We had the greatest view from our bungalow. The staff was friendly and very helpful. We went to Koh Muk and a few other neighboring islands, the snorkeling was great! We can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed December 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DestructoCat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

25 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    9
    12
    2
    1
    1
See reviews for
3
17
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cumbernauld
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 26, 2009

This was the best place we stayed in Thailand. Perfect little hut- no hot water and no fills. But bear in mind the water is not freezing either due to the warm weather. Spiders and gekos but I was ok with the moskito net over the bed during the night. The beach was lovely too and the staff were so friendly and made us so welcome- I cried when we left here. You can book trips here to other islands and they are the cheapest around. GO HERE you wont regret it! Who needs luxury!

  • Stayed January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MrsLMcD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed November 28, 2008

We stayed for five nights at Le Dugong and it was lovely. The bungalows are right on the beach and the resort is family-run so very friendly. The bungalows are well-priced and the best we stayed in in Thailand, with a nice big bed, cupboards, shelves, and an outdoor, cold-water shower....although it is still Thailand so expect cockroaches, ants, geckos etc.! Don't stay in the cheap bungalows, which don't have a bathroom, as they are not nice! Koh Libong has only three resorts so it is very quiet (although Le Dugong was building a beach bar with a disco when we stayed so it may get noisier!) but we amused ourselves quite happily hiring a motorbike and a canoe, dugong spotting and visiting the emerald cave. Prices for trips are per boat so make friends with your neighbours and go together! Also, it is much cheaper to organise a longtail boat from the mainland and get a motorbike taxi to the resort than to take their private transfer.

  • Stayed November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Dig-dig25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
61 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed May 25, 2008

If you are looking for somewhere to get away from it all and recharge then this is the place to go. Not a beach party in sight and nothing much to do but soak in the sun, eat some food, go for a swim and catch up on some neglected reading. We stayed for five nights and left feeling completely relaxed.

The ‘resort’ consists of 10 pretty basic huts (eight with outdoor bathrooms connected and two using the communal bathroom) that all have balconies and look out direct to the beach. The set up is basic but nice. I think that this is the best place to stay on the island – it is relaxed and low key, the huts have fans and mosquito nets and the outdoor bathroom is fun, although there is no hot water (if you want aircon and/or more modern facilities then go to Libong Beach Resort next door).

The staff are friendly and helpful and the restaurant has basic but nice food. You can also eat at the other places on the island, but we found that we enjoyed the meals at Le Dugong the best. If there is fresh fish on offer for dinner then take it up – they BBQ it on the beach in front of you and it was some of the best fish I’ve ever had.

You can get to the island by yourself pretty easily, taking a mini-van from Trang to the coast and then a boat across the water and finally a motorbike to the resort. Or, do as we did and pay the resort to organise the whole thing for you – it was 700B, which involved being picked up from the train and then transfer to private longtail boat direct to the resort. A nicer way to go if you’re not on a budget.

There is not much to do on the island itself, but if that is what you are after then this is the place to go. You can hire canoes, snorkels and even a moped to take you around the island. We walked into the village one day and apart from the fact that the locals thought that we were mad for not being on a moped like everyone else, it was an interesting trek through the rubber plantations.

the only note of caution is that it is not the best beach you have ever been to. the beach is nice but it is very tidal so early in the day and late in the evening is not great for swimming.

I couldn’t recommend this place more as a great location to escape the rest of the world and recharge yourself. Catch the train down here after a few mad days in Bangkok and you will see the best of both sides of Thailand.

  • Liked — simple and relaxed
  • Stayed February 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank peejay_london
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
218 reviews
101 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 154 helpful votes
Reviewed April 3, 2008

The resort is very small and fairly basic but provides an opportunity to get away from everything and relax on a genuinely quiet, undiscovered island. There are a less than a dozen huts to stay in, all of which are built of wood with thatched roof and semi-outdoor bathroom. They are very simple but are comfortable and allow you to open the whole of the front which allows you to lie in your bed with the sun shining onto you all day. All rooms have views over the beach and sea and give great sunsets. A further resort is next door and has approximately 20 rooms to let. Both resorts have 1 restaurant and the food in both is great. The locals are very friendly and everyone will say hello to you. Well worth a visit.

  • Liked — The simplicity
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ClovaTheWestie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
China
1 review
Reviewed February 17, 2008

Truly a gem. Libong has only three resorts and Le Dugong is by far the best value for money. Bookings via email and pay on departure. Only ten well appointed traditional bungalows right on the beach (includes two older ones with communal bathroom).

We never needed to use mosquito nets and only occasionally used the fan. We stayed an extra night it was so relaxing. Food was best value for money too. We ate at all three resorts for some variety but preferred Le Dugong's simple kitchen.

The beach faces north and gets good sea breezes most of the day. A visit to the Nature Resort is very educational. All three resorts are clustered around a small village which consists mostly of Muslims and Sea Gypsies who make a living from fishing and rubber tapping. The village is interesting and so is the local wildlife.

Staff are friendly, efficient and un-intrusive. Bring a few extra snacks if you stay more than a day or two. Koh Libong is a good island to make day trips from and also offers dive training and dive trips.

Mini van from Trang Airport to town B90 per person
Minivan from Trang town to Had Yao pier B60 pp
Local longtail from Had Yao (Chao Mai) to the islands port B50 pp
Then it's a bumpy motorbike ride across to the resort B100 per person. Rates are posted at the pier on Koh Libong.

Or the resort offers direct private transfer. Refer to website for details.

We left aboard the resort longtail stopping at Koh Kradan for some snorkelling and Koh Muk to swim the Emerald cave before meeting the Had Yao to Koh Lanta ferry which picks up off Koh Muk around 2.30pm

Longtail to Koh Muk B2300
Ferry from Koh Muk to Saladan B650 pp and takes about 2.5 hours

  • Liked — Traditional style, clean and well appointed with fantastic views
  • Disliked — Proximity of other bungalows
  • Stayed February 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jabaru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ko Libong
0.0 mi away
Libong Beach Resort
Libong Beach Resort
#1 of 4 in Ko Libong
67 reviews
0.0 mi away
Mook Lamai Resort and Spa
0.0 mi away
Andalay Beach Resort Koh Libong
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Libong Relax Beach Resort
Libong Relax Beach Resort
#2 of 3 in Ko Libong
64 reviews
0.0 mi away
Koh Mook Sivalai Beach Resort
0.0 mi away
Baan Chao Mai Beach House
Baan Chao Mai Beach House
#3 of 3 in Ko Libong
30 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Dugong Resort & Diving Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Dugong Resort & Diving Center

Property: Le Dugong Resort & Diving Center
Address: 15 moo 5, Ko Libong, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Trang Province > Ko Libong
Amenities:
Beach
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Ko Libong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 8
Also Known As:
Le Dugong Resort & Diving Hotel Ko Libong
Le Dugong Resort And Diving Center

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing