We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not a bad hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Lanta Il Mare Beach Resort
Ranked #54 of 84 Hotels in Ko Lanta
Sweden
Level Contributor
79 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Not a bad hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2011

We stayed for 14 nights in a "beach front bungalow" and were quite satisfied with our stay there. This is the beach to visit on Koh Lanta if you want peace and quiet. Not very much happening after 10 AM.
The bungalow was nice and clean and big enough for three people and the staff always kind and and service minded and some of them actually spoke understandable english.
There are free sunbeds around the pool and on the beach and the restaurant serves nice thai and international food.
The hotel however is not on the best part of Klong Nin Beach and in low tide there are some rocks in the water, but in high tide the beach is very nice. 200 meters to the left the beach is really good and you can rent sunchairs there at a small fee.
The beach front bungalows are not really beach front because there is a little stream running between the bungalows and the beach - not smelly or anything - but you have to cross a short bridge from the hotel to get to the beach. Not really a problem but I think it is worth mentioning. The view from the beach front bungalows is very nice with beautiful sunsets over the Andaman Sea.
There are some hotels and restaurants and a few shops near the hotel so you don't have to eat every meal at the hotel if you don't want to.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank svempaj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

88 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    15
    46
    17
    8
    2
See reviews for
26
46
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
leicester
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 15, 2011

We stayed at this hotel for two months and agreed on a price for a long term booking back in August 2010. We had looked round the hotel last year so we had a vague idea what to expect. We were lucky as we were given a detached bungalow with only three other rooms near so very quite.

The service at the hotel was great and the staff are very friendly. Fresh beach and bath towels, two bottles of water left in the room daily, but you could also have another bottle of water at breakfast. Breakfast is good and they would cling film the fresh fruit if you asked so we often took that back to the room to eat later. Location is great as it is quite but only approx ten min walk to the busier bars and restaurants along the beach although there are a few to the left of the entrance to the hotel. Only used the pool once as we prefer the beach but this is kept very clean. The sea is rocky here so I would not reccomend this to families with small kiddies as when the sea is not clear you have to be carefull. We did keep our room on and had five days away at different islands and we managed to get a further discount on the price
which we thought was great.

We have booked again for next year and can't wait to get back

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank grumpyLeicester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 10, 2011

My girlfriend and I stayed over Christmas and New Year. Very nice hotel. Friendly staff. Good food. Quiet location but walkable (along the beach or road) to a lively area (and by lively I mean nice bars and restaurants on the beach). Good location to explore the island by scooter which you can hire from the hotel. Very good value for money even during the most expensive time of the year.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RizMaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moravče
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 19, 2010

We stayed in Il mare for 7 days (we are on our honeymoon)... at this moment we are packing away to Koh Lipe, and this place is just wonderful!!! Very friendly and helpful staff, the food is excellent, also the breakfast is very good, the prices are reasonble, the pool is clean and iven if you have children, I think this is an excellent place to go. Also our garden deluxe villa is very clean and spacey, we iven have a minibar in wich the water is for free and the beer and all the oder soft drinks are sold for the reasonable price. The beach is 10 meters from the hotel and it is a very nice beach, and there you can iven get a massage or be "served" from the hotel staff. There are several bars and restourants along this beach, and we walked every night from restourant to restourant , where we had excellent thai food and cooctails!!! The hotel is located in very nice village with very nice people. I recommend it to everyone!!! single or family with children!!!

Borut and Helena , from Slovenia

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Lordburrito
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
midlands
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2010

We only had a short stay on Koh Lanta. It was low season and very quiet.
After reading the positive reviews on this website we decided to book in here, we were not disappointed. We stayed in a Beach front Bungalow which was very clean and modern.
The staff were extremely friendly and you can tell they take pride in there resort.
All the Bungalows looked in good condition and the bar / restaurant was being renovated in time for High season.
I will stay here again, but not in low season. The whole of the Island is very quiet in low season and the sea is a bit rougher which made snorkeling difficult and the beaches not quite so beautiful with debris washed up.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank wimMidlands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Granada, Spain
Level Contributor
320 reviews
94 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 314 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 17, 2010

We felt that this hotel offered excellent value for money and the staff were very helpful and friendly. This small hotel is set in attractive gardens, giving a feeling of intimacy. It was relaxing and quiet, located right on the beach and at the far end of Klong Nin beach, so it was nice and quiet but only a 5 minute walk to lots of restaurants and bars. Having said that the hotel provided great food in its restaurant, especially at breakfast. Good selection of cocktails and fruit shakes. The pool was attractive with ample sunbeds and umbrellas both around the pool and on the adjacent beach. The bedroom was large with a huge terrace outside with two loungers. The bathroom was of a good size although fairly basic with a "wet room" style shower. Unfortunately on some days it was not cleaned as well as I would have liked. Internet facility in the hotel lobby area.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MargaretGranada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, TX
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 10, 2010

My husband and I booked what turned out to be a horrible hotel in Ko Lanta, and upon arrival, immediately started walking up and down the beach to find a new spot. Il Mare was the last one we came across and it was a perfect fit. At the end of Klong Nin beach, it is quiet and relaxed, yet close enough to walk to the hot spots if you want more action. The beach is beautiful and the staff very helpful. They sent a car to our old hotel to pick up our luggage, as well as gave us a great deal at the last minute.

We had a beachfront bungalow with the perfect porch for watching the afternoon rainstorms. The breakfast was pretty good and happy hour was a great deal. Surprisingly, we broke down one night, and they had fantastic hamburgers with the very best buns ever. Their Thai food is toned down for tourists and unfortunately not spicy, although I am sure if you ask they will kick it up.

Not to be missed are the massages on the beachfront by Fung! She is fantastic and really works out the kinks!

Highly recommend Il Mare!

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank austin_love2travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ko Lanta hotels
0.0 mi away
Lanta Nice Beach Resort
Lanta Nice Beach Resort
#67 of 84 in Ko Lanta
3.0 of 5 bubbles 164 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Wings Boutique Hotels
The Wings Boutique Hotels
#42 of 84 in Ko Lanta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 47 reviews
0.0 mi away
Royal Lanta Resort and Spa
Royal Lanta Resort and Spa
#31 of 84 in Ko Lanta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 341 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Lanta Seafront Resort
Lanta Seafront Resort
#75 of 84 in Ko Lanta
3.0 of 5 bubbles 58 reviews
0.0 mi away
Clean Beach Resort
Clean Beach Resort
#41 of 84 in Ko Lanta
3.5 of 5 bubbles 135 reviews
0.0 mi away
Lanta Manda Resort
Lanta Manda Resort
#37 of 84 in Ko Lanta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 153 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lanta Il Mare Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lanta Il Mare Beach Resort

Property: Lanta Il Mare Beach Resort
Address: 52 Moo 8, Khlong Nin Beach | Ko Lanta Yai, Ko Lanta 81150, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Krabi Province > Ko Lanta
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#36 On the Beach Hotel in Ko Lanta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Lanta Il Mare Beach Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 33
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Lanta Il Mare Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lanta Il Mare Beach Hotel Ko Lanta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing