We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Andaman Sunflower Resort & Spa
Ranked #30 of 84 Hotels in Ko Lanta
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Amazing”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 17, 2011

We stayed here last year! As soon as we arrived Norman and his wife (the owner) looked after us, booked us taxis and even offered to pick us up from nights out! He was like a 4 day German dad! They made every effort to entertain us in the morning and evening, he let us use the volleyball court and take his kayak to the see! Great Guy!
The rooms were spotless, yes a few frogs inside and outside..but it is Thailand isnt it! I would recommend the rooms with two double beds (i think grade c) as they are more luxurious and alot bigger!
They make the best spring rolls we have every tasted!

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank h0liday101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

87 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    60
    16
    7
    1
    3
See reviews for
8
51
8
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Paris
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 3, 2011

We chose this resort due to the numerous positive messages on Tripadvisor. Unfortunately we cannot confirm at all these opinions. We had a Bungalow for 650 Bht (2nd category) made of bamboo. The interior was pretty dark, the bathroom was dirty, the water coming out of the shower was brownish, the bedsheets and the mosquito net were full of spots and we had numerous not invited guests like frogs, mice, mosquitos, lizards etc. who do not even hesitate to urinate from the roof directly onto the bed. The problem is that the bungalows are not really closed and the spacings are lacking of mosquito nets so that you sleep more or less outside. Moreover we had a frog concert during the night which made it rather impossible to sleep. However, the exterior with a hammock was quite nice and also the food was quite delicious. The possibility to use the canoes for free is already the last positive point. Norman, the grim owner, welcomed us (french/german couple) with an antifrench speech (french people are never happy, unfriendly and always make problems etc.), is quite annoyed and nearly aggressive when you dare to have another opinion and is treating his thai staff (who is veeery friendly and warm) like servants.
To make the long story short, avoid this place. Anyway Ko Lanta itself was not our favorite island...

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 11, 2010

It was our first time in Thailand and this place was recommonded by our friends. They couldnt recommend a better place! When we arrived late there where some nice people sitting in front and working behind the bar. The owner Norman and his quality staff served the most delicious food and drinks and they gave us a very affordable excellent house near the beach. We stayed at this place for almost 14 days and the best times we had where the great trips to all the terrific places who Norman showed us and the nights at the bar. We met some real nice people over there wich are still friends. You can rent the bikes for free and at the bar is a laptop which you can use anytime you like. At our last day we got the most delicious farewell diner we ever had. This is place to be at Ko Lanta! I´m going back next year to Thailand to meet up with this great people.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MaartenLeschot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lyon
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 4, 2009

Many hours have I spend in this charming little resort. The lovely rooms make you feel like Robinson Crusue, but with all the comfort and cleanliness we are used to in Europe. The enormous hospitality of Norman the owner would make us feel at home and he would always make sure none was in need of something. In this homey place all guests would eat together in the garden at joined tables and often Norman would disappear in the kitchen to prepare dinner. I can highly recommend his excellent steaks, African dish, Indonesian noodles ... actually I have never not liked the food he made. Never before have I have experienced this unique atmosphere in a resort and I highly like to recommend the place to everyone that wishes to get just a little bit more out of their holidays. All the best to Norman and his team.
Matteo

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MatteoTato
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Germany
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 27, 2009

I have visited Thailand many times and was always looking for a nice place to rest and relax. Two and a half years ago I visited Koh Lanta for the first time and discovered the Andaman Sunflower Resort, located in a beautiful tropical garden, surrounded by coconut-trees and banana plants. It is a quied and lovely place where the staff cares a lot about their guests. They have different types of bungalows, depending on the luxory one prefers.
Additionally the resort has several sports-facilities, including a volleyball court.
The german owner, called ‘Norman’, lives in Thailand for several years. Being very experienced, he is always ready to give many helpful tips regarding Thailand, especially where to go and what to visit. He arranges trips to other islands, pick-up services to airport etc.
The beautiful corals and fishes are a must-see, so it is very convenient, that a friend of him owns a local diving-school. If you are lucky you even get the chance to see sharks and turtles.
Finally, the kitchen staff will provide you with thai and international cuisine in very high quality which you can enjoy accompanied by ambient music. Sometimes Norman even conjures special food for you, which you will remember fo a long while. If you’re there, you must taste the fantastic ‘bami goreng’.
All in all it is a place where everybody is always welcome. I personally always have a feeling like coming home. Since my first visit I’m fascinated about the Andaman Sunflower Resort and return once or twice every year .

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Charly_Berlin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deggendorf
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 2, 2009

We (my girlfriend and me) have been travelling the andaman coast and islands in october this year and luckily found this place, where we stayed for 6 days. Its not directly located on the sea-side but the bungalows were cosy and clean, located in a quiet area with a nice garden between cocos trees, a 2 minute footwalk from the beach. What this place makes special is the owner Norman and his very lovable staff. They did nearly everything to make our stay a pleasure ( inclusive a non-ordered cappuchino at 6 o´clock in the morning, we didn´t dare to ask ), and this in a very unobtrusive way. Norman is very helpful german original who knows a lot about Thailand, likes to talk to the people, telling funny and interesting stories and will give good tips for your activities.
Besides of that the food is delicate and sometimes Norman serves some special dishes. So I never thought anybody serves "Tartar" (its raw meat with capers and onions, and in the middle is placed a raw egg) and "Kirschwasser" in Thailand.
Surely this place is not a (boring) luxury resort, but in our four weeks of travelling the Andaman Sunflower was the most welcoming accomodation we have been.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MaxSchreck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
amsterdam
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 11, 2009

We made a reservation for just one night. We wanted to explore the island for a good resort to stay during our 4 day trip to Koh Lanta. But, after arriving in the Sunflower we didn't look any further. We stayed here for 9 nights.
The resort is beautifull with green trees and plants everywhere. The bungalow's are always clean with an amazing nice bed and a nice bathroom. I also enjoyed the hammock in front of your wooden bungalow.
We will never forget all the dinners in the garden that were perfectly arranged by the friendly staff. The nights at the bar were also unforgettable.

We really want to thank Norman and Kittyma for there hospitality during the last period of our vacation.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kevin_rian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ko Lanta hotels
0.6 mi away
Mook Lanta Resort
Mook Lanta Resort
#16 of 84 in Ko Lanta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 434 reviews
0.8 mi away
Lanta Just Come
Lanta Just Come
#26 of 84 in Ko Lanta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 170 reviews
8.1 mi away
Bamboo Bay Resort
Bamboo Bay Resort
#52 of 84 in Ko Lanta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 99 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Lanta Nature Beach Resort
Lanta Nature Beach Resort
#40 of 84 in Ko Lanta
3.5 of 5 bubbles 193 reviews
0.2 mi away
Lazy Days Bungalows
Lazy Days Bungalows
#9 of 84 in Ko Lanta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 179 reviews
1.9 mi away
Lanta Pearl Beach Resort
Lanta Pearl Beach Resort
#17 of 84 in Ko Lanta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 419 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Andaman Sunflower Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Andaman Sunflower Resort & Spa

Property: The Andaman Sunflower Resort & Spa
Address: 174 Moo 2 Phra Ae, Saladan | Krabi, Ko Lanta 81150, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Krabi Province > Ko Lanta
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Ko Lanta
#15 Top resorts Hotel in Ko Lanta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your The Andaman Sunflower Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Andaman Sunflower Hotel Ko Lanta
The Andaman Sunflower Resort And Spa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing