We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nice beach”
Review of Ocean View Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Ocean View Resort
Ranked #71 of 85 Hotels in Ko Lanta
Reviewed March 5, 2014

was disappointed with this hotel, we had a garden villa but it faced the reception building ( v2 ) the room itself was big, no hairdryer provided and no tea making facilities, the bathroom was basic, no shower curtain and shower fitting would.nt stay in fitting properly so water went everywhere but not in the bath that you stood in.on the plus side you had clean bed linen every day although some we had had patches on them and clean towels also ( only one each. no hand towels ) rooms were cleaned with sliding doors left open also the back doors so when you came back from the beach you were plagued by mosquito,s.the mirror in our room was never cleaned in the whole week that we stayed there. it was full of squashed mossies left by previous guests. you get towels for the beach when you go to reception in the morning to get your breakfast voucher, the restaurant where you have breakfast and bar on the beach is not owned by the hotel. you get four different options but somedays they run out of things, not good especially as it is owned by an English chap who should know better.young lads does there best to serve you but a little bit slow.only deckchairs on beach and no umberellas anywhere. only a few trees for shade,

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank milkate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (83)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

36 - 42 of 83 reviews

Reviewed March 2, 2014 via mobile

We stayed in the ocean view bungalow. Hopefully they didn't have rooms for the next nights so after two nights we changed place.
My first impression was like this place is not worth that money. No beach towel and electric kettle, air condition is old but working. The walls are thick but bungalow is separated into two independent rooms, so u can hear everything through doors which is between them. We were lucky that in front of our bungalow was pool, the other houses have tree view, but hardly no ocean in front of the windows. Only two big bungalows has the ocean view. Pool is small but not so crowded. Free sun beds on the beach.
But the beach is stunning! Amazing views and turquoise water, a lot of dead coral reefs on the beach which can be annoying for some people but is great to snorkel. It's perfect to rent a kayak and snorkel on the headland nearby. People here are nicer and happier than on Phuket, you should check why ;)

Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank ChinOlka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 2, 2014

We had booked from home and payed some of the amount already. However, they did not expect us at all, but luckily we had the reservation confirmation on our phone. The lady at the reception was extremely rude and shouted/spoke very loudly - guess she was stressed. They went on checking there banking accounts to see if our payment had gone through, while we were waiting with our 6 months old child.
We eventually got our bungalow, which are a bit under average, though clean and ok.
During our stay, I must say, that the attitude of the staff changed a lot to the better and was very friendly. There are a lot of good restaurants around the resort and the beach is wonderful with a beautiful sunset view. Ok value for money and if you stay for a longer period discount is possible.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Adam G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2014

Stayed in a beach fron bungalow last week for 7 nights.They didnt seem to know we were coming as there was no one at the ferry terminal and by the look of confusion when we arrived.We did however end up in the roon we had booked.The rooms are basic and you dont get any hand towels but the bed was huge, the breakfast was adequate and the location was great but no sun beds for the beach, deck chairs only.There are plenty of resaurants nearby but I dont understand the love in for the koala bar.The best resaurant by far is thr Phet restaurant which you find by walking down the beach and over the little river that goes to the sea.We ate here several times and the food was better than any other around including the Rann restaurant.
Overall the hotel is basic and as long as you go with that in mind you will enjoy your stay.

Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank billydwarf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 24, 2014

Ocean is located on a great beach. Koala restaurant is good. Renting and discovering the island is great. Staff is friendly and helpful. Rooms in main buildong are motely the cottages are beyter. Very small pool.

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rspadiva1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 17, 2014

Be careful when booking; choose a bungalow and NOT a room! From the balcony we had a view of a wall, and there was only one tl-light in the room. Besides that, the room wasn't very clean; the dustbin wasn't emptied, and the toilet had brown streaks on it.

Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank zondagszus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 12, 2014

Three of us stayed here for five nights and paid about $100/night. On the plus side, our bungalow, which like all the others here was a duplex unit, was extremely clean and daily housekeeping was great. Two adults stayed in a queen-sized bed with a teenager on a cot. Our "beach view" bungalow had a view of the beach, but only from the nice little porch in the front with just enough space for the three of us. You're just a few steps from the beach, where there are usually plenty of available beach chairs. There are minimarts and restaurants located just across the street and within a five-minute walk. Plenty of beach restaurants nearby too.

There are four breakfast sets: three centered on eggs and one muesli. That got old for me after three days. But decent espresso and latte is available for a nominal additional cost, which is something you won't find at many more upscale hotels. There's a small, clean pool.

Starting on the down side: the room was a bit small for the three of us, and the cot would not work for a larger person. The queen bed shook at the slightest move. The shower head is located above a bathtub with no curtain, with a weak jet of water spraying over the bathroom counter and floor...as well as you. There's also some road noise. The seafront bungalows look like they have a great ocean view, and they'd be quieter because they are furthest from the street. But this is not a place where you spend time hanging out in the room.

The establishment is run by a no-nonsense Thai Queen Latifah type who is good at getting things done. But because she pretty much runs it by herself, you'll be out of luck if you need something and she's not around. Overall, a good experience for a reasonable cost. This is not a luxurious place, but you probably won't find much better on Klong Dao for three people at $100/night over high season. See other posts for a comparison of Klong Dao and Long Beach.

Room Tip: Oceanview bungalows look best. These are different from "beach view" and more expensive.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank knickherboots
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ko Lanta hotels
6.5 mi away
Lanta Nature Beach Resort
Lanta Nature Beach Resort
#38 of 85 in Ko Lanta
213 reviews
1.3 mi away
Saladan Beach Resort
Saladan Beach Resort
#30 of 85 in Ko Lanta
51 reviews
1.4 mi away
Kaw Kwang Beach Resort
Kaw Kwang Beach Resort
#47 of 85 in Ko Lanta
276 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Leaf House Bungalow
Leaf House Bungalow
#59 of 85 in Ko Lanta
75 reviews
6.2 mi away
Lanta Nice Beach Resort
Lanta Nice Beach Resort
#68 of 85 in Ko Lanta
173 reviews
5.6 mi away
The Wings Boutique Hotels
The Wings Boutique Hotels
#44 of 85 in Ko Lanta
56 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ocean View Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ocean View Resort

Address: 193 Moo3, Saladan | Klong Dao Beach, Ko Lanta 81150, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Krabi Province > Ko Lanta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#20 Spa Hotel in Ko Lanta
#44 On the Beach Hotel in Ko Lanta
Price Range: $25 - $68 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Ocean View Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 172
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ocean View Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ocean View Hotel Ko Lanta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing