We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Lanta Castaway Beach Resort
Ranked #3 of 85 Hotels in Ko Lanta
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 27, 2014

This was our favorite place to stay during our whole trip. Right by the beach amd near heaps of restaurants. But we actually just stayed in the hotel area most of the time. After breakfast in the outdoor restaurant we would lie in the beach matresses or in the beach chairs and just relax. Drinks and food by the beach put on the room bill. We loved it

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Scoogan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (685)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

231 - 237 of 685 reviews

Reviewed February 25, 2014

Lanta Castaway and all it's staff are incredible.
We stayed 7 nights in a garden bungalow and it was perfect. Good size, clean and comfortable. The garden bungalow has excellent fans (we were never hot in the room), small but useable bathroom (put the lid down on the toilet when showering) and energy saving lighting but they give you a torch! They even provide free water in the room.
The resort is beautiful, well maintained and so peaceful.
We can't rate the staff highly enough (with special thanks to Well, Nong, Bank, Dodo and Jaa). They went out of their way to help my boyfriend with organising a dinner on the beach for our anniversary and subsequent engagement. They really were so kind and helpful.
The food here is incredible and so much variety, we had so much we wanted to eat but also wanted to have our favourites again - you won't worry for food if you stay here!
Location is great, private patch of beach (little rocky) and short walk to pharmacy and 7-11 for anything you might need.
We will definitely be coming back to Lanta Castaway - thank to everyone who made our stay perfect!

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank shjnmee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2014

Clean and nice rooms. The resort is right on the Beach.
Amazing spot for watching the sunset! Stayed in the Tropical Daze, which was a perfect match.
The Beachbar has a very good happy hour with fantastic cocktails! Also having a diving center (Dive & Relax) right in the resort is very good.
A Little noise from surrounding bars is possible, but it was only until midnight and not really and issue.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TropicanoGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 19, 2014

Stayed here mid Nov '13 and absolutely loved it. We stayed in a Tropical Daze room for 9 days, the room was perfect for us and had everything we needed. Although the shower is a bit on the wonky side and slightly difficult to control the temp. The room was keep clean everyday by really friendly maids and there is always a grounds keeper out and about seeing to all the plants.

The reception staff were OK not overly welcoming or forth coming with much information when enquiring about trips. The bar and restaurant staff are great, really approachable and friendly. Breakfast is good, gets a bit samey after a few days but there are alternatives nearby if decide on a change. Restaurant food is slightly pricey but really good quality, would recommend the Mexican choices these are surprisingly good.

We rented a scooter from the reception, 300B for 24 hours which is great value. They just hand you the keys and some helmets and send you on your merry way, so if like me you are not 100% confident take some time and have a spin around the little car park. Would definitely recommend this, it's great fun and you see so much of the island.

This place has a lovely relaxed atmosphere and it a great base to explore other islands. Staff are on the whole really nice and the rooms are excellent. I would go back in a heart beat.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kitafer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 17, 2014

We stayed in Castaway four nigths in january 2014. This is very clean and nice resort to stay, beautiful garden and food was so good. Great place to relax and no voices in the evening so you can sleep well.

Room Tip: First bungalow big one near to restaurant is perfect and even more. Others bungalow left side are s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 258Paivi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 16, 2014

After traveling for a week and a half through Bangkok, Chiang Mai and Krabi, we wanted a peaceful place where we could hang out after all the running around and just look at the water and read. I knew I picked a good place the second we arrived and walked down the flower and palm-lined pathway to reception. Castaway has a happy, nice vibe about it. It was just what I hoped for. Our sea breeze bungalow was very clean and nice, so I never worried about bugs - even though we found a little gecko that ran out of the curtains when I opened them. It was cute, though. The place felt small and perfect for us. We used the massage place every day and it was wonderful to hear the ocean.

I recommend taking one of their kayaks (free) and exploring the shoreline and stopping off at little deserted beaches for a swim. I also recommend wandering up the beach and exploring the tiny bars and restaurants on the shore as well. We jumped in a tuk tuk and explored Old Town one day, which has a completely different feel. This might be a good place to rent a long tail boat. Boats weren't able to get close to Castaway because of rocks here and there.

Some things I wish I knew and may not be specific to Castaway, but maybe Ko Lanta: flies! Wow, so many flies. We shared our breakfast each morning in the outdoor restaurant with about 15 flies that were landing on our forks, backs, hands. Sitting directly in front of a fan on "high" did not seem to deter them. I did not like this and by the end of our week stay, we couldn't face the flies and skipped breakfast. The flies weren't as bad at night, but be careful trying to have dinner before the sun goes down. Also, we thought the tap water had a bit of an icky smell and especially noticed it in the bathroom. Small things, really.

Overall a wonderful little place and nice respite. We really recharged here and it felt like a true vacation. Plus, the staff seemed really nice and that made all the difference. Oh, and when we arrived we had towels shaped like swans and elephants!

Room Tip: I was worried about our bungalow directly in front of the bar, but it wasn't a problem at all. I...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank hollywurn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 11, 2014

Castaway allowed us to have the 'beach hut' experience in great style and comfort. We stayed in one of the Sea Breeze bungalows which was large, spotlessly clean and well presented. The restaurant is wonderful, the facilities great and the staff lovely but the best bit is the access to an open and un-crowded stretch of beach which is great for swimming and sunbathing. We loved this place and will be back for a much longer stay.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fofalola
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ko Lanta hotels
0.6 mi away
Long Beach Chalet
Long Beach Chalet
#6 of 85 in Ko Lanta
585 reviews
0.8 mi away
Layana Resort and Spa
Layana Resort and Spa
#1 of 85 in Ko Lanta
1,522 reviews
2.9 mi away
Twin Lotus Resort & Spa by Burasari
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.3 mi away
The Houben Hotel ( Adult Only )
3.3 mi away
MOONLIGHT Exotic Bay Resort
3.3 mi away
Crown Lanta Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lanta Castaway Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lanta Castaway Beach Resort

Address: 299 Moo 2 | Saladan, Ko Lanta 81150, Thailand
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Krabi Province > Ko Lanta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Ko Lanta
#3 Romantic Hotel in Ko Lanta
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Ko Lanta
Price Range: $94 - $153 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Lanta Castaway Beach Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lanta Castaway Resort is a boutique beach resort located on the southern end of Long Beach in Koh Lanta, Thailand. We have 19 modern air-con bungalows and 3 small traditional fan bungalows. Our Beachcomber Restaurant features awesome Tex-Mex dishes, as well as, a selection of excellent Thai, Western, and Seafood BBQ. Our Mad Bull Beach Bar offers a terrific atmosphere with awesome views and delicious cocktails. Other services include: beach-side massage, free WiFi, motorbike rentals, and transfer & tour coordination. We also have an onsite dive shop operated by Dive and Relax. We do not have a swimming pool on the property. However, during high season, the beach is excellent for swimming. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Hotels.com and Ctrip TA so you can book your Lanta Castaway Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lanta Castaway Beach Hotel Ko Lanta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing