We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lanta Castaway Beach Resort
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Mook Lanta Resort(Ko Lanta)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (738)
Filter reviews
738 results
Traveler rating
544
166
25
3
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
544
166
25
3
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewstex mextropical daze roomsea breeze bungalowmanager joedive relaxdive shopbeautifully kept gardenssouth endwatching the sunsetthai foodsun loungersphi phiscuba divinglounge chairslow seasonspent nightsscooter rental
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
313 - 318 of 738 reviews
Reviewed May 29, 2013

My girlfriend and I stayed here for 4 nights at the beginning of May. Our bungalow had everything we needed and was very clean. The setting is idyllic, with beautifully kept grounds and a lovely view across the sea towards Koh Phi Phi. Happy hour from 5-7pm was the perfect time to sit and watch the sun set. There was lots to choose from for breakfast, (which was included in our deal) and the food at the restaurant was great so we ate there every night. One thing I would say is that the boat trip with snorkeling which the hotel organised was much more expensive than other trips; we went down the road and found a place which offered us a day snorkeling on the 4 island day trip with food included plus another day trip to Koh Phi Phi for the same price as the hotel offered for one morning trip. All in all we had a really relaxing time and would love to go back again someday.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank thestranger26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 22, 2013

Loved this place stayed for 7 nights in the beach front room and it was awesome.
The room was a good size and kept immaculate, we did not hear any noise from the bar.
The staff were all very friendly and helpful, Jadee massages on the beach among the best.
The food was some of the best we have had in Thailand and ate lunch here most days and dinners a few nights and not one complaint.
Always at the bar for the sunset and happy hour cocktails
The beach was just what is expected in Thailand long, sandy and quite we will defiantly return.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TJWhiteUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 21, 2013

We loved this place. We stayed for four nights in a Sea Breeze bungalow, which was a good size and extremely comfortable. Breakfast was perfectly adequate and they happily gave us tea and coffee refills (I really don't know why other people are complaining about it). We ate here most nights as we enjoyed the food so much and sipping a cocktail while watching the sun set every evening was amazing!
Our one tiny complaint is that we were collected from the ferry by an extremely grumpy man who barely spoke to us and didn't even offer to help us with our luggage - not a good first impression. This was a real shame as we couldn't have faulted the other staff, who were always very helpful and friendly.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SarahandPaolo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 15, 2013

Stayed 5 nights at end of April. Wonderful.
Quiet and relaxed atmosphere, good service , good size rooms, convenient location , right by the beach.


The good points
Great communication by email prior arrival. They also helped out booking the transfer from/to Krabi Airport.
Very good (yet not outstanding) customer service through out. Helpful to assist with local day drips but not proactive.
Ideal location for enjoying nice sunsets , right by the beach.
Close proximity to Saladan, real Thai lifestyle on the main street.
Very private & quiet with beautiful path between villas to bar/beach
Spot on air cons in the room (Seabreeze room). Clean room & bathroom.
Most important – GREAT food. We virtually eat all dinners in the restaurant. Friends stayin on a nearby villa loved the food as well. While the European food (burger, chips) might seem pricey, the real value and proper flavors are on the Thai cuisine. Good value, for app 7-800 BHT per couple, you’ll have two courses and a drink


Others
I won’t call them bad points, but there are couple of things that can be noticed.
Rooms size for SEABREEZE is not very big. The resort seems a bit squeezed but smartly hidden by the lush plants in front of each house.But in all honesty, you won’t went much time inside apart sleeping. Is much nicer to unwind on the decks or on the beach.
Bathroom, by design is rather small and an odd choice of colors which make it look a bit dated. However it is clean and the shower works OK. The resort is 7 years old by the way..
No fancy interior designs, down to basic. No small touches to make you remember the place.
The location by the beach: there is a stream coming down from the island and flows right beside the beach. Water was OK but you can see rubbish uphill. I preferred swimming about 30m-50m up further up , after crossing the stream.
The beach is very long and shared up the road with Layana Resort. At the end of last day was very very dirty with a lot of rubbish thrown by the sea. Not sure how often is cleaned, but we were there on low season. So maybe not that often that period.
Just 2 doors away on main road there is a 7 Eleven. About 5-7 min drive to Saladan if you want to experience street food.
I tried the massage on offer at the hotel but it was nowhere near to others I enjoyed in Krabi. I would say mediocre. One excuse might be that it was just at the end of the day and maybe the ladies were tired.
Breakfast. The food was OK but each morning you are only offered a small (200ml or less??) glass of juice. No top ups were offered.
Drinks was the biggest minus. Couple of notes that I hope will be considered. If the owner will raise the bar on drinks to match the food offer, it would only be a win-win for everyone.
While they have a happy hour up to 7 pm for 120 BHT any cocktail (other restaurants nearby have 100 THB), in one evening, after spending more than 1h eating dinner, I ordered cocktails at 5min past 7pm only to be told that the happy hour is over. I found that odd and decided not to spend more money if they don’t want me too. And had cold drinks instead.
The fruit smoothies are delicious but the glasses are rather small and the price is on a high note at 80 THB. The price for a small bottle of water is 20THB while on 7eleven is 6 BHT, soft drinks are sold at app 30-40 BHT while outside are 50% less. Fair point, this is an old trick done by all hotels. More money to restaurant. But if Castaway would like to be different, with the abundance of mangoes, watermelon and pinneaple in Thailand, maybe for a small optional amount of USD per day, you could have ‘all inclusive drinks’.

Another drawback, independent to hotel is the transport, to and from Lanta. We chose the public minivan but they were very unreliable. 1h extra waiting from Krabi Airport. IF YOU’RE LEFT ON TERMINAL 2 , IS BEST FOR YOU TO GO TO TERMINAL ON TO BE PICKED UP.
The worst happened on return. Despite being booked one day in advance for 8am next day. It was still 11 and I was still passed around twice to ‘next’ van.There was a couple that traveled to Krabi airport and who booked a private minivan for 2500 THB but despite them being Ok to give us a lift, the driver didn’t wanted to take us on board claiming that the van was booked for 2 persons only and if we have to join we have to pay extra 1500 THB. The personnel from hotel (a gardener) interfered and looked rude as he kept the driver story that the van is booked per person. Despite the well known fact that when you book a van for that amount.. you book the car not 1 or 2 seats in it. There is no regular transport to/from airport not Krabi so the hotels and clients are at the mercy of the taxi companies.
If this won’t change , hotels will only have to lose clients long term as there is no point to drive 2 hrs to Lanta only to get stuck there, there are nicer beaches closer to Krabi.

The quiet atmosphere was what we needed, nice views right by the beach and great food.
If you need more than this, look elsewhere but chose carefully.
p.s.. we stayed on 5 start hotels afterwards and the holiday feel wasn’t as great as in Lanta Castaway.

Recommend to friends : Yes.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank mbmarian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 13, 2013

Our room was nearly $90 a night and we thought we would have a room overlooking the beach which is why we paid extra for this room however it was right opposite reception and everyone could see in our room so it wasn't private. None of the rooms are private however. The room was huge and perfect for three girls, very basic bathroom and I was glad i wasn't there with my partner as it would be too expensive and not private . It was very close to a nice beach but the beach so very small as there is an area that fills with water and looks hard to cross at some points.
The beach bar was lovely but no one was ever there or they would be there for sunset then disappear. I have to say i would definitely stay in the place next door which must a third of the price and much more fun.
The staff were ok. They offer free transfer to other hotels. The menu was quite good. The beach bar nice. Beach beds great. Boat trip organizer at reception. Computers at reception. Mosquito stuff and toiletries in room. kettle in room. Breakfast was ok but you have to order to a certain amount of money rather than giving you a menu for the complimentary breakfast.

Not much to complain about really i thought it just seemed to have a lack of atmosphere and was too expensive to not have a pool.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank natalie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews