We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
2 people are viewing this hotel
Booking.com
$60
View deal
Free cancellation until 12/09/22
Expedia.com
$57
View deal
Free cancellation until 12/10/22
Travelocity
$57
View deal
Free cancellation until 12/10/22
Priceline$72
Hotels.com$57
Trip.com$58
View all 16 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (847)
Filter reviews
847 results
Traveler rating
641
178
26
2
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
641
178
26
2
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews thai food lounge chairs low season dodo massage nong lanta beach island transfer
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
452 - 457 of 847 reviews
Reviewed October 31, 2012

I booked in for three nights but ended up staying for six. The resort is quiet, relaxed, with good facilities and direct access to the beach, which was very quiet when I went.

I had a garden bungalow which was great value and very comfortable. My only comment would be that the mosquito nets were quite loose fitting around the bed so you had to spend quite a bit of time tucking them in, I got bitten a fair amount but that's probably due to my inability to fit them properly!

I did my PADI dive course through the on site dive school who were great and the seas around the island are beautiful.

Date of stay: October 2012
  • Trip type: Traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Helen P
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed October 29, 2012

I'm not sure if I should write this review.....it's almost like letting out a secret! Castaway is located on the aptly named Long Beach, at the northern end of Lanta. Tucked away from the main street, as soon as you enter the resort you know you've struck gold! Beautifully kept gardens, neatly arranged bungalows and then the beautiful beach in front of you!! We had a mid-range bungalow, as all others were booked for the time we were there, a good indication that there is something special about Castaway. Our room was comfortably furnished, good airconditioning, and had plenty of drinking water provided. The cute little Beachcomber restaurant served wonderful food at prices comparable to others in the area, and the beachside bar likewise (Dodo, Bank and Pu provided great service and lots of laughs!). Beach side massages were well priced and of an exceptional standard (Thanks Paa!). There was no swimmming pool here - but nor was one necessary. The beach is right there, it is immaculately cleaned ( by resort staff!) and the water is so warm it's like stepping into a bath!! What stood out at this resort was the care taken to recruit and train staff - we couldn't have asked for more. Darren and his partner Nit have done a great job in this regard. We look forward to visiting again - with family and friends. Thanks Darren and Nit. Lee and Paul

Date of stay: October 2012
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LeeEsperance
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed October 22, 2012 via mobile

This place was fantabulous.Great Value, great food and great staff.
One of those rare finds, a boutique style resort, meals and drinks were the same price and better quality as on the street so why would you go outside of this small bit of paradise. Staff were friendly and helpful and Darrin and Nit the owners out having a chat and a drink at the bar with you. All tours and transfers can be arranged by hotel and prices the same as outside if not better for a transfer.My husband did 6 dives with the dive company that ran from the resort too as they were friendly and professional. We shall be back! We loved our seaview bungalow.Tip email Darrin at resort direct for best prices, better than booking agent.

Date of stay: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rosey15
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed October 21, 2012 via mobile

We stayed here as part of our honeymoon - everything was outstanding from the cleanliness of our rooms to the standard of food and service. We stayed in the beautiful beach bungalow - the room itself was first class. Although the bathroom was very clean and had everything in that we needed it wasn't to the same standard as the actual room- but it's only a bathroom so it didn't make any difference to our stay.
The only thing that would stop us staying here again was something that the owners had no control over and that was the rubbish in the water- we only went in the sea once as it was full of rubbish from phi phi - the owner of the resort was brilliant at cleaning up the beach everyday with his staff. This apparently is only a problem in the low season because of the direction of the wind .
We did love our stay - koh lanta castaway is possibly one of the best run resorts we have ever stayed at.

Date of stay: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Gunby
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed October 20, 2012 via mobile

Having stayed in a bit of a dump in Phi Phi and after the slightly crazy tuk tuk ride from the pier to the hotel, it was impossible to suppress the huge smile that spread across our faces when we arrived at Castaway! Situated on the beach front, we were instantly impressed with this immaculate hotel. We stayed in a Tropical Daze room. We were excited when we saw our room from the outside (a detached bungalow) and thrilled when we were shown inside to our room. Clean, spacious and well appointed. Great aircon and thoughtful extra touches left in the room like mosquito repellent spirals. The hotel staff were courteous and helpful. Fabulous massages which we followed up with some refreshing cocktails at the bar!! I could continue to wax lyrical about this hotel, but I think all I need say is that we loved it so much we extended our stay there!! No need to procrastinate any further, you have stumbled upon a gem.

Date of stay: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lueck_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
View more reviews