We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic location - beautiful views great food and amazing sunset!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Lanta Castaway Beach Resort
Ranked #3 of 84 Hotels in Ko Lanta
Certificate of Excellence
Sheffield, England
Level 6 Contributor
196 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
“Fantastic location - beautiful views great food and amazing sunset!”
Reviewed August 20, 2012

Just left here - had 3 nights with my husband and 6 year old. Gorgeous villa style room - super clean with fridge which was welcome! Breakfast was really good - try the pancakes! Lots of variety and the staff are really helpful and kind! Wifi is a bonus with Internet also available in the restaurant The restaurant does great food including Thai and Wrstern tec mex - good value too The beach bar is a lovely place to watch sunset with a lovely cocktail! I highly reccommend this place and Koh Lanta We hired their scooters for a day and it was fun exploring the island - lots of tuk tuks if you do not fancy braving the scooters but they really are easy and fun! Thanks Darin for a great stay x

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PMDBooth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

660 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    475
    159
    23
    3
    0
See reviews for
118
375
23
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (99)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed August 16, 2012

We arrived at the resort after a traumatic ferry ride from Phi Phi. It had been raining and the sea was still very rough, but it didn't take long to feel right at home. Check in went quickly and smoothly and soon we were being oriented to our rooms by the front desk staff. The bungalows were as promised, right on the beach and they looked just like they do in the photos. We stayed in the beachcomber while the kids stayed together in the next sea view bungalow. They were both very roomy and comfortable.

Soon after settling in we were all ready for a bite to eat. The food was fantastic. Let me just say that we ate almost every meal there and were never let down. They serve tex mex as well as Thai and a fair amount of international options, which was nice for the kids. They needed an occassional break from Thai food and Lanta Castaway had them covered.

The rest of the first day was just relaxing, and then we stepped over to the beach bar for some sundowners. The sunset position was amazing and we made sure to be there every night. It was very much a social event as most everyone came out to watch it.

The next morning the weather started to improve and we got to get a bit of sun on the comfortable sunbeds. The sea began to calm and it started looking pretty good for some swimming and diving. Every day seemed to get better and we settled in more and more.

Diving with the Dive and Relax guys was amazing. The sea was warm and inviting. The food and drink kept on pleasing. The kids loved the place and the team at the hotel.

The room servicing was great. They have a library of movies, which we raided a few nights for a bit of variety. The massage cabana, right on the beach is convenient and the ladies do a first class job for a very reasonable rate.

We went off one day to go elephant trekking. I can't remember the name of the place but they'll be able to tell you. I had heard bad stories about how elephants were treated in Thailand but I saw no evidence that this was happening at the place recommended to us. We also did a day trip into Saladan Town, which is a nice stroll through shops and restaurants along the water.

All in all, we had a great time and although we don't usually don't do repeats, this place we will be making an exception for. It was great and really felt like home. That is, if home is a beautiful bungalow on a beautiful beach in beautiful Ko Lanta, Thailand. I wish it was.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Dice367
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Worth, Texas, United States
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 30, 2012

After my week on Phuket, It was nice to be 60 steps from the beach. I stayed at Castaway for 6 nights, and it was amazing! The scenery was breath taking, not to mention the sunsets. The staff is very attentive and friendly. I am from Texas, so the fact that the Tex-mex food was an option was good to have. CAstaway is right on the beach, perfect for tanning and just enjoying the ocean. The room I stayed in was very nice! always clean and fresh everyday after a day outside. It had a nice little veranda to sit and watch the occasional rain! I came to Kho Lanta in the rainy season, thinking it was just going to be NASTY...but it was not. I had very good weather! I highly recommend the dive center! The owner, Cameron, Is very helpful and nice! Out of all the places i have dived, this was the best service, and probably some of the best diving I have ever done! I am very glad to have found CAstaway, and I hope to come again in the near future.

Room Tip: The ones that get you the closest to the beach!!! but all are great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tyler D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canton, Michigan
Level 6 Contributor
141 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed July 21, 2012

At Lanta Castaway, you are always right on the beach, whether you are in your bungalow, having breakfast, or a drink at the bar...the sound of the ocean ever present. We were delighted with our choice to stay for 5 nights, although this is by no means a luxurious place. This is easily made up for by the home from home feeling that is ever present because of the friendly staff, and extremely relaxed atmosphere. In the bungalow we stayed in, the room was a decent size and very comfortable. The bathroom is rustic - reminiscent of a camp site -but perfectly acceptable and always very clean. The restaurant is open all day which means you can eat at any time that suits you. The highlight of each day was watching the sun set while enjoying a beer. Speaking of drinks, the wine menu is very limited but the wine was not bad at all and reasonably priced. The restaurant food menu is extensive but do not expect haute cuisine. It's biased more towards Thai and Tex Mex type food, with a limited choice for vegetarians- and very reasonably priced. If you're into scub diving and snorkelling, there is an onsite operation that can cater for you. As far as overall value for money is concerned, Lanta Castaway is difficult to beat. Looking forward to returning one day.

Room Tip: All the rooms are well positioned but S1 and S2, although close to the sea, are directly opposite th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CraigvE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed July 12, 2012

My girlfriend and I stayed here for 5 nights at the beginning of July and we were over the moon with our decision to stay here. We came to Koh Lanta from Koh Phi Phi whilst island hopping around Thailand and this place was fantastic for us. We stayed in the Tropical Daze room and paid £15 a night each. This was slightly over our back packing budget but we thought we would treat ourselves for a week and we was so glad we did. The rooms are huge, the beds are massive the showers are massive and the resort itself is clean, tidy, quiet, friendly and simply gorgeous. We had fantastic weather and chilled out by the beach in the lounging area everyday. The staff are very friendly and more than accommodating. As backpackers we e-mailed the resort in advance of our arrival for advice on how best to get to them from the pier and they sent a car for us. We thought this was fantastic as we aren't on a package holiday with transfers and all that jazz. The food is amazing and reasonably priced. My one and only criticism of this place would be the lunchtime menu. There isn't a great deal of choice and I found I was eating meals I would normally have for dinner but for lunch. This isn't a big deal at all and in no way is it a negative comment, just an observation. Overall we enjoyed our 5 days here and would very much recommend it to anyone who is looking for a a few days (or more) of peaceful tranquility at a beautiful resort right on the beach.

Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Neal W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
107 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed June 18, 2012

Ko Lanta is a very relaxing resort; low key, right by the beach and excellent service. We had a villa right by the beach that was clean, spacious and very comfortable. The staff were very friendly and the food at beakfast and in the evening was of a good standard. A highlight was having cocktails by the beach bar watching the sun go down.
If you are thinking of going to Ko Lanta, you really should consider staying here.

Room Tip: The villa right next to the beach (Beachcomber?) was excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WorcesterWanderer6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sherwood Park, Alberta
Level 6 Contributor
157 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed May 21, 2012

The amenities and staff made this a great place to stay for 4 nights. For 1000 baht, we stayed in a garden bungalow, outfitted with a double bed with mosquito netting, clean private bathroom, and small patio with deck chairs. It quickly became our favourite accommodation in Thailand.

The location is a 2 minute walk off the main road, just far enough that you don’t hear any of the hundreds of tourist ridden scooters racing along the coast. The quality of service and hospitality is a reflection on the emphasis ownership has on providing a positive experience. Tours and transportation to and from the ferry are arranged by the helpful staff. Whether in the restaurant or hotel, staff are extremely friendly and hospitable. Wifi is available in the front desk area, and there are 2 PC’s for use by guests.

The Beachcomber Restaurant serves both Western and better value Thai fare. Unless you are really Jonesing for a cheeseburger, make sure you try the Pad Thai, Som Tham or Chew Chi Paa. This fish preparation was my favourite meal in all of Thailand. Also be sure to frequent the beach bar for Happy Hour from 5 to 7 pm.

In the main lobby, Dive and Relax arranges daily snorkelling trips (www.diveandrelax.com ). For 1,900 baht, snorkelers are afforded two separate dive sites in a day. Groups are kept small, and when we went, were dominated by divers, resulting in only 4 snorkelers per leader.

As a result of the amenities, location and staff, this was our favourite accommodation in Thailand.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Pyke88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ko Lanta hotels
0.6 mi away
Long Beach Chalet
Long Beach Chalet
#7 of 84 in Ko Lanta
549 reviews
0.8 mi away
Layana Resort and Spa
Layana Resort and Spa
#1 of 84 in Ko Lanta
1,444 reviews
2.9 mi away
Twin Lotus Resort & Spa by Burasari
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.3 mi away
The Houben Hotel ( Adult Only )
0.7 mi away
Lazy Days Bungalows
Lazy Days Bungalows
#9 of 84 in Ko Lanta
183 reviews
3.3 mi away
Crown Lanta Resort & Spa
Crown Lanta Resort & Spa
#10 of 84 in Ko Lanta
1,388 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lanta Castaway Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lanta Castaway Beach Resort

Property: Lanta Castaway Beach Resort
Address: 299 Moo 2 | Saladan, Ko Lanta 81150, Thailand
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Krabi Province > Ko Lanta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Ko Lanta
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Ko Lanta
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Ko Lanta
#3 Romantic Hotel in Ko Lanta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Lanta Castaway Beach Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lanta Castaway Resort is a boutique beach resort located on the southern end of Long Beach in Koh Lanta, Thailand. We have 19 modern air-con bungalows and 3 small traditional fan bungalows. Our Beachcomber Restaurant features awesome Tex-Mex dishes, as well as, a selection of excellent Thai, Western, and Seafood BBQ. Our Mad Bull Beach Bar offers a terrific atmosphere with awesome views and delicious cocktails. Other services include: beach-side massage, free WiFi, motorbike rentals, and transfer & tour coordination. We also have an onsite dive shop operated by Dive and Relax. We do not have a swimming pool on the property. However, during high season, the beach is excellent for swimming. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, Cheap Tickets and Priceline so you can book your Lanta Castaway Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lanta Castaway Beach Hotel Ko Lanta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing