We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best dive outfit I've used”
Review of Scubafish

Scubafish
Ranked #10 of 41 Tours in Ko Lanta
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Scubafish offers small groups, an unrivalled reputation for high quality, personal service, a PADI 5 Star Training Centre, Underwater Digital Imaging Academy and Marine Education Centre. Based in the South of Ko Lanta, our 2 luxury dive boats offer shorter journey times to some of Thailand's top dive sites. We know your holiday time is precious and we want to make sure you get the most out of it!
Reviewed February 15, 2013

They were professional, helpful and very well organised. I liked that all the drinks were included. It was a long day but sooo worth it. We saw the manta's!

Food was good too! Chocolate croissants, nice thai lunch, afternoon cakes - you won't go hungry.

Only negative would be that they charge for nitrox (standard practise in Thailand it seems - we're not used to this as Nitrox is always free in the Red Sea). Another Red Sea quirk that we weren't expecting was the lack of din - seems Thailand only uses international first stages. Not the fault of Scuba Fish as this is a Thailand-wide thing, but something to remember if you are taking your own reg sets.

Thank pilotlady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (403)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages
All reviews
"scuba fish"
in 28 reviews
"ko haa"
in 35 reviews
"dive sites"
in 44 reviews
"open water"
in 25 reviews
"kantiang bay"
in 21 reviews
"great diving"
in 20 reviews
"liquid lense"
in 8 reviews
"diving experience"
in 20 reviews
"pool session"
in 4 reviews
"breakfast lunch"
in 4 reviews
"the upper deck"
in 4 reviews
"certified diver"
in 5 reviews
"dive shop"
in 19 reviews
"underwater world"
in 10 reviews
"marine life"
in 16 reviews
"these guys"
in 19 reviews
"shrimp"
in 8 reviews
Filter

258 - 262 of 403 reviews

Reviewed February 2, 2013

We booked everything with scubafish, a service that most dive centers don't provide. Kim was fantastic! They were very accommodating and helpful with the changes we needed due to flight delays.
The diving experience was great. The boats were never overcrowded and there was always plenty of food and drinks on board. The divemasters were experienced and knowledgeable. They really know what they're doing. If you like the small stuff, dive with Sanae! He doesn't miss anything!
I've read some reviews about dive sites being overcrowded..... True, there are a lot of dive operators in the area; it is one of the world's most popular dive destinations. Scubafish did a great job keeping the diving as "private" as possible by keeping the dive groups small and separate from the masses. They could have just herded us in with the rest, but they are different from the rest.
It's nice to see a dive operation actually practice what they preach in terms of environmental responsibility, not just below the surface, but above it too.
With scubafish, everything was easy, the way it is supposed to be.
Can't wait to go back.

Thank Stan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 29, 2013

Wanted to do the Padi Open Water Course and picked Scubafish. Not cheap but surtenly worth all the money. Had a fantastic teacher in Simon, who got me totally hook on diving. I' ll recommend Scubafish too everyone looking for a company with a competent and professional staff.

Thank Frank_neu_DK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2013

A big diving center with a lot of dives at the very same time which makes it not ideal at all. Guides are good but for themselves. The third dive ( unexpected and not told before) is waste of time and money. You dive in the same place which is very small. You leave at 8 am and you come back at 8 pm, because the boat i slow and too many people on board to get home. You should definitely take a smaller base with not so many people hanging around.

3  Thank igitravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SCUBAFISH-Lanta, Manager at Scubafish, responded to this reviewResponded January 2, 2018

We were so sad to hear that you were unhappy with your diving trip and value any comments which can help us to improve our service. We take any complaint very seriously and having spoken to staff from your day trip and built a picture, we would like to take this opportunity to reply to your comments.

Firstly, you mentioned we are a big dive centre and its true - in terms of other dive centres we are fairly large. We have a main shop in Kantiang Bay, 3 smaller shops based within resorts on the island and operate 2 dive boats. However, we have grown this success from one tiny shop and only 6 sets of equipment. Many people return year after year to dive with us and have become friends rather than customers. We are extremely proud of the fact that we have grown our dive centre whilst still managing to retain a friendly and personal feel. This is down to our fantastic guides and instructors. Scubafish certainly would not have flourished as it has if these wonderful, hardworking people were only for themselves. If you had this experience of any of our staff on the day, we wholeheartedly apologise.

The lots of divers at the very same time which you mention, I think refers to the specifics of your day trip to Hin Muang and Hin Daeng, 2 of Thailand’s most popular dive sites. Due to the fact that Manta Rays had been sighted regularly over the previous few weeks, the sites were busier than usual. Having spoken to our guides from the trip that day, they all agree with your comment that it was not ideal as there were quite a few divers from different dive centres in the water at the same time. Whilst that is very unfortunate, it is not something that we at Scubafish can control.

Regarding the 3rd dive, we apologise that you were not told about it before setting off – that was certainly an oversight on our part. However, our staff tried to rectify this on the boat by letting you know that the 3rd dive was completely optional and you were welcome to remain on the boat and relax, or snorkel if you did not want to dive.

Finally you mention that we leave at 8am and get back at 8pm – we advertise that we usually we get back at around 6.30pm. On the day of your trip - we moored up in the bay at 6:35pm. On occasion, we do return a little later - this can be due to all sorts of reasons but not usually because there are too many people on board to get home. Our big boat is able to accommodate up to 50 people. On the day of your trip, there were just 17 divers on board, a very manageable and comfortable number on such a large boat.

We agree that if you would like to get out there and back much faster, a speedboat may have been a preferable option. However, traveling by speedboat is not for everyone as it is often considerably less comfortable and cramped.

To conclude, we would like to reiterate that we are very sorry your trip with us did not live up to your expectations. Had we realised you wanted a smaller base, perhaps with a faster boat, we would have been happy to recommend one of our fellow dive centres on the island.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
See more reviews
Reviewed January 22, 2013

Service generally very good. Friendly guides. Good boat. They could serve better breakfast and food on the boat considering how amazing Thai food is I thought the lunch wasn't that great. After the dive they take you back to the shop and there seems to be a long wait while they sort paper work out and some divers buy photos of their dive. I'm not sure if it's just me being impatient but I wanted to be either on the beach or by the pool at our resort. Holiday time is valuable. Waiting for 45 minutes at the end of the day to get my lift back to the hotel was really tedious.

Thank Harry L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SCUBAFISH-Lanta, Owner at Scubafish, responded to this reviewResponded January 27, 2013

Hi Martin,

Thank you so much for your review – we really appreciate it. We’re glad you flagged up your wait time at the shop before getting a ride back to your resort. I personally remember that day - it was a particularly long wait for you. I agree, you were not impatient (normally we get people on their way much more quickly) but for sure, 45 minutes was a long time and I understand your frustration.

We just wanted to let you know that the logistics of getting people back to their resorts more quickly, if they do want to be on their way (and not sit and drink a post-dive beer), is something we're actively working on improving.

We hope to see you back in Lanta next time - it was a real pleasure having you diving with us

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Scubafish also viewed

 
Ko Lanta, Krabi Province
Ko Lanta, Krabi Province
 

Been to Scubafish? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing