We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Place on Ko Lanta”
Review of Phra Nang Lanta

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Phra Nang Lanta
Ranked #39 of 84 Hotels in Ko Lanta
Atlanta, Ga
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Best Place on Ko Lanta”
Reviewed August 4, 2009

The Hotel staff picked us up from the airport. We ate lunch at a bar which overlooked about 1000 acres of land and the ocean! We took pictures of pretty much everything. Even the rain was beautiful.

We stayed in four places around Thailand. Ko Lanta was our favorite place because because of Phra Nang Lanta. We rode elephants, relaxed on the beach, got super cheap massages, unwound at the local bar, etc. The staff will attend to your every need. We had a fresh catch fish dinner one evening prepared by the staff. Breakfast was the best of all of the places we stayed in Thailand. Overall, it was a perfect stay.

The 'Why Not" Bar was next door to Phra Nang Lanta and very low key. I'm sure if Jimmy Buffet came here during the 80's we would all be singing about Ko Lanta and Phra Nang Lanta instead of Margaritaville. I'm sure.

I have more pictures. If you want to see or ask questions then email me.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ThaiAtlanta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

243 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    96
    89
    33
    12
    13
See reviews for
43
135
9
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
copenhagen
Level Contributor
91 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed August 4, 2009

Thank you for a great hospitality, service and amazing staff.
We stayed 6 days in room H1 and H2(connecting rooms) with our 2 small children.
It is a very nice small resort, with all suites facing the ocean and the pool.
Nice clean pool.
The beach is fantastic and the sorroundings are just great.
Perfect for family holiday.
We definitly go back as soon as possible.
Best food in town is at "The drunken sailors" restaurant.
The sister hotel in Ao nang "Phra nang inn" is just as nice and great, but bigger - try it!
Sandy, Peter, Ditte, Aline, Silja and Bertil from Denmark

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kuglen04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
46 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2009

really no complaints, fantastic service and food....take the speed boat to snorkel..you will not regret it.

  • Stayed February 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Wanderingyogi74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
70 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed June 30, 2009

A stayed at the Phra Nang for our anniversary. The rooms ordinarily are out of our budget - at 3000 baht a night and very expensive food and drink. But you get what you pay for. The manager was very helpful. If you have extra requests - like a run bath, flowers, champagne, anything you want to put in the fridge in advance - he will accommodate you. The rooms are very spacious and each one is individually decorated. The bathrooms all have western standards - seated, flushing toilets and hot water - and the views over the bay are very good. Most rooms have a personal balcony or veranda - some have two. The breakfast in the morning is a buffet - which is nice, and the pool is amongst a cobble pathed garden. The food is very good - if expensive. The Thai green curry was the best I had anywhere in Thailand. They have book swap and they have DVDs to use at reception. They also take card - which is handy.
The only problem is that the kitchen shuts at about 5.30 pm so you have to pre-order dinner, which is a very expensive set menu. The food and dirnk in general is jacked up prices which I didnt like at all.
However, I would recommend this - especially for a romantic getaway.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EnglishTripHead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cuenca, Ecuador
Level Contributor
47 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed June 8, 2009

I am currently sitting in the "Sunshine" room writing this review. I was delighted by this small quiet place, where they treat you like family (honored member). I found the room large, quiet, lovely front sitting porch and a great view of the ocean. I was tired from traveling so they arranged room service for me from the restaurant next door. They do serve a breakfast on their open patio (eggs to order).

I find the staff really does try to go out of their way to please and be helpful. Your wish is their desire to please and always with a smile. I have enjoyed the stay here that I have extended by one night, I just could not leave so soon. My only regret is that I could not extend a week or two.

Since, I'm a travel agent, I'm always looking for perfect hotels. This is a gem. I think it would be perfect for family reunions, or destinations weddings. There are only 15 rooms so a small group could have the whole place to themselves. The lovely pool just sits above the beautiful beach, thus you have the best of both worlds.

If you are a young traveler looking for excitement and bars, then I suggest this is NOT the place for you, nor this island, really.

You must also understand that getting to the Island of Koh Lanta is not easy. I suggest you fly into Krabi and then have driver bring you to the island. It is about a 2 hour drive from Krabi. But, well worth the trip and time. Koh Lanta Island is not a "hopping" place with shopping and night life. It is a retreat, peaceful and beautiful. Now, if you should find you need things to keep you busy, other than sitting by the pool, soaking up the sun and beauty. There are many activities to enjoy. You can take a boat tour to Phi Phi Island, Krabi has 4 islands to check out, a day trip to snorkel is worth the time. They offer fishing, elephant trekking, kayaking and the hotel will even allow the guests the use of their motorbike (if you dare to drive here).

So, come to a hidden jewel and find your home away from home. They will welcome you with open arms and hearts.
Best wishes & happy travels

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelwithpeggy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ko Lanta hotels
0.0 mi away
Baan Laanta Resort & Spa
Baan Laanta Resort & Spa
#55 of 84 in Ko Lanta
3.5 of 5 bubbles 214 reviews
0.1 mi away
Kantiang Oasis Resort & Spa
0.3 mi away
The Houben Hotel
The Houben Hotel
#3 of 84 in Ko Lanta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 677 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
LaLaanta Hideaway Resort
LaLaanta Hideaway Resort
#20 of 84 in Ko Lanta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 667 reviews
1.1 mi away
Anda Lanta Resort
Anda Lanta Resort
#13 of 84 in Ko Lanta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 427 reviews
0.2 mi away
Alama Sea Village Resort
Alama Sea Village Resort
#27 of 84 in Ko Lanta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 113 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Phra Nang Lanta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Phra Nang Lanta

Property: Phra Nang Lanta
Address: 139 Moo 5, Ba Kan Tiang Bay, Ko Lanta 81150, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Krabi Province > Ko Lanta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#10 Romantic Hotel in Ko Lanta
#13 Spa Hotel in Ko Lanta
#21 Top resorts Hotel in Ko Lanta
#27 On the Beach Hotel in Ko Lanta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Phra Nang Lanta 3.5*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Phra Nang Lanta is a small boutique resort located on a peaceful and romantic beach of Ba Kan Tieng Bay, Lanta Yai Island, Krabi. The resort offers the comfort of a luxury hotel and the homely atmosphere of a holiday villa. Each of its 15 rooms is uniquely decorated with the breath taking view of the Andaman Sea and large balconies. Whatever you may be looking for, whether it is a relaxing weekend at the beach, a romantic honeymoon, or a beach bash with friends or a family getaway, Phra Nang Lanta can provide you with the ultimate holiday experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Phra Nang Lanta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Phra Nang Lanta Hotel Ko Lanta
Phra Nang Lanta Ko

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing