We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stunning Location”
Review of Phra Nang Lanta

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Phra Nang Lanta
Ranked #30 of 85 Hotels in Ko Lanta
Reviewed April 27, 2011

Small hotel I guess around 15 rooms on a beautiful bay. Rooms were very clean and tastefully furnished with good range of amenities and gorgeous views over the bay. The food was excellent and the staff very friendly and helpful. The beach was really nice and sandy and not too crowded. Nearby the hotel are some small shops and a 7/11. Really nice for a relaxing break.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank zmg42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (264)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

135 - 141 of 264 reviews

Reviewed April 25, 2011

The worst about this review, will be to tell others about how great this hotel is, becase it's really a hidden perl.
The Hotel is placed on the beach where all 15 rooms, is max. 15 meters from the beach. All rooms are different decorated, so you would never get tired to return to this hotel.
All staff is very kind, and was very fast to find a solution on any problems.
We were at the hotel at the end of high season, so the breakfeast buffet was not allwas up. but we just have to order what we want too, a they will get it, so nothing was missing.

Some good things.
- The hotel is a Paradise Hotel, with 15 unique rooms
- Very unique position at the beach
- The prices is allmost as the same, as others on the beach.
- Free loan of motorbike, just fill it up before returning.
- Free loan of kayaking
- Free internet (Not reachable from all rooms)

Something the hotel can do better?
- The beds is new, but pretty hard, and some likes this, but we prefer very soft beds, so it was too hard for our spine.
- In the restaurant did't get what I ordred, and the staff know it before they served me, so a little more information would be great.
- The aircondition was a little hard to control.

And the end, I comment a little on other reviews, complaints about time of service.
Every where in Thailand, things take the time things takes. If you can't accept this, don't go to Thailand on vacation.
So whats the rush, just enjoy the location instead.

Room Tip: Rooms starting with H is next to the live bar
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Jan-B-Coyle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 3, 2011

We only stayed in 5 star resorts on our trip except for this place, and it was just as good as the others. It is a bit more simple than a 5 star, but its still fab. We stayed in room 7 "Moonbeam" it had a breathtaking view over the beach, with a hammock on the balcony too. It was very spacious as well. The pool is small, but doesn't matter as you are metres from the beach.
Driving south on Ko Lanta and through all the other towns and past resorts, we are so glad we stayed here away from the rat race and backpackers, package resort tourists etc. This beach was pretty empty and secluded, with just two other resorts nearby and a very cute village out the back. We ate in the village for lunch each day (at the cooking school place, I think its called Herb & Spices or something); and we cooked our own lunch there one day - very fun.
For dinner, we ate at Baan Lanta two nights - good seafood BBQ; and also down the other end of the beach at Same Same but Different bar.
At Phra Nang the breakfast buffet is simple, but satisfying - fruit, toast, pasties and eggs. And we enjoyed a couple of drinks during happy hour each day. The staff were very friendly and we enjoyed a Thai Massage on the rooftop spa in pouring rain - it was quite beautiful!
One night we did a cooking class at Lanta Thai cooking (yellow brochure); this was amazing and best food we ate in Thailand.
As it rained a lot when we were their the book and DVD library came in handy. We would definitely stay here again!
The music from the bar didn't bother us AT ALL and we had a great sleep each night- we were exhausted from all the relaxing by 10pm each day!

Room Tip: Moonbeam - room7
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank MzPink
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 7, 2011

This hotel has all the important things for a family with small kids. Very close to the perfect beach with child-friendly descent, ok pool and with great sun beds around, a few good restaurants just around the corner on the beach, a small street behind the hotel with 7/11, atm and small sovenier and beach toys shops. All you need, but still very calm place and great atmosphere with quite few people in total on this beach. Shade available!

On the downside: rooms and facilities are a little worn down not as fresh as one could wish ideally. Cleaning on outside areas like verandas, pool area from leaves etc is so-so but prrhaps difficult since many very nice trees around. Restaurant is ok, but in terms of food , price and servuce well outdone by baan lanta next door. Breakfast here was a pleasant surprise though with lots to choose from.

The staff warned us about the music from the bar next door and gave us a room on the other end. We did not find the music disturbing though and since our small children went early to bed we hung out in the balciny in the evening and quite enjiyed that there was a little music around whuch was not very loud.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Lillafamiljen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 5, 2011

Restaurant of this resort:
First we wait a waiter 15 minutes, then we wait our drinks 20 minutes, then we wait our food 30 minutes then we ask the waiter were is our food. He said "5 minutes", after that we wait 20 minutes.After that we are ready to leave the restaurant without eating anything. We ask the owner to get our bill of drinks and said that we were waiting over one hour. Owner´s answer was: " No you don´t" That man was very arrogant and unpleasant.
After all it seems that we were the only customers in the restaurant.
After that episode we were not very interested in asking free rooms.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sandramaa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 21, 2011

We stayed for 5 nights overhere. Nice please, friendly staff, nice room. During the day it is a fantastic place! The beach is ok. The nice 'backpackersbar' nextdoor with a nice atmosfhere and great cocktails will have their live band playing every evening. So from 021.30 - 24.00 it's a noisy place. Best way to avoid is getting your kids tired and asleep before 2100 and join the party till 24:00. What we did. At the other site of the complex the neighbours are also noisy in the evening.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RoelKiers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 26, 2011

I don't know how this hotel can have so goods comments and evaluation.
Unable to sleep because of the live music just below our window. The room wasn't clean at all. The price paid is too high.
For us it's the badest hotel in thailand where we stayed.

  • Stayed: December 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nalfe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rmpnl, Manager at Phra Nang Lanta, responded to this reviewResponded January 28, 2011

I do not really feel the need to respond to a bad review per se, as this is not a discussion platform. As long as we as a hotel do our job as we should, the positive reviews will automatically outweigh the sporadic bad one.

For this review I want to make an exception and I would like to give some background information. The guest indicated that he wanted to check out early as he wished to move to another hotel to join friends who were staying there. I informed the guest about our early check out policy: last minute internet bookings during high season are non-refundable. Refunds are only given in exceptional cases. Hereupon the guest threatened with a bad review on tripadvisor.

This is the second time that a guest tries to blackmail the hotel by threatening with a bad tripadvisor review if certain demands are not met. And it actually resulted in two bad reviews.
I wish people would not misuse tripadvisor in this way.

It goes without saying that we as a hotel take all genuine complaints very seriously and try to find solutions where possible and continuously work hard on improving our service.

With regard to the live music from the bar next door we must admit that the music can be heard in some of the rooms. (The room from this guest was the closest to the bar as you can get). Local authorities allow the music and there is nothing we can change about that. Luckily recently it was agreed that the music must stop at midnight.

We apologize if your room was not clean. But next time if you think your room is not cleaned as it should be please notify reception and/or the manager immediately so they can confront housekeeping staff with shortcomings and take appropriate action.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ko Lanta hotels
8.8 mi away
Lanta Sand Resort and Spa
Lanta Sand Resort and Spa
#15 of 85 in Ko Lanta
492 reviews
8 mi away
Long Beach Chalet
Long Beach Chalet
#6 of 85 in Ko Lanta
618 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Houben Hotel ( Adult Only )
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Baan Laanta Resort & Spa
Baan Laanta Resort & Spa
#54 of 85 in Ko Lanta
229 reviews
4.1 mi away
Rawi Warin Resort & Spa
Rawi Warin Resort & Spa
#13 of 85 in Ko Lanta
905 reviews
4.3 mi away
MOONLIGHT Exotic Bay Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Phra Nang Lanta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Phra Nang Lanta

Address: 139 Moo 5, Ba Kan Tiang Bay, Ko Lanta 81150, Thailand
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Krabi Province > Ko Lanta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#10 Romantic Hotel in Ko Lanta
#13 Spa Hotel in Ko Lanta
#15 Top resorts Hotel in Ko Lanta
#25 On the Beach Hotel in Ko Lanta
Price Range: $85 - $316 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Phra Nang Lanta 3.5*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Phra Nang Lanta is a small boutique resort located on a peaceful and romantic beach of Ba Kan Tieng Bay, Lanta Yai Island, Krabi. The resort offers the comfort of a luxury hotel and the homely atmosphere of a holiday villa. Each of its 15 rooms is uniquely decorated with the breath taking view of the Andaman Sea and large balconies. Whatever you may be looking for, whether it is a relaxing weekend at the beach, a romantic honeymoon, or a beach bash with friends or a family getaway, Phra Nang Lanta can provide you with the ultimate holiday experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Phra Nang Lanta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Phra Nang Lanta Hotel Ko Lanta
Phra Nang Lanta Ko

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing