We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Thank you to the staff of this hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Kantiang Oasis Resort & Spa
Ranked #25 of 84 Hotels in Ko Lanta
Certificate of Excellence
Oslo, Norway
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Thank you to the staff of this hotel”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 13, 2012

We had booked a room at this hotel for our stay at Koh Lanta, believing this was a beach front facility. Maybe we didn´t study the information good enough, but this is a "backyard"-hotel. We think they have done a great job with the place and it looks very good to be what it is, but with our 2 girls of 2 and 4 years we really wanted a place closer to the beach. That been said; the beach is only a very short walk away. The closest beach is very rocky, so it is a 15 minute walk to were the beach is suitable for swimming.

Our room was a 2 bedroom one (the biggest of the hotel). The room was really dark without windows letting any daylight through. Apparently there is a mosque pretty close which is somewhat disturbing in the morning.

We really want to express our gratitude to the staff. Thank you so much for your service! We had done a mistake booking this hotel and had paid everything upfront. However the managers at Ancient Realm were very understanding and were willing to refund our payment. The money has been wired back to us and we thank you for being so understanding and service minded. Our vacation turned out fantastic. Our advice is to not book ahead when traveling in Thailand, or at least don´t book more than a night or two. We traveled at high season, but availability was not a problem at all.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ExperienceMoreRNes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

343 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    169
    91
    46
    22
    15
See reviews for
55
202
18
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 5, 2012

We were shocked by how rude the staff were here when we booked this hotel. Having been misled by a map posted on their website the resort was in a completely different, much less appealing location. The management dealt with this badly and when I sent an emailing explaining how this needed changing the booking company sent me a highly unprofessional email in reply. Not a great location. Unprofessional staff.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RReview
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 30, 2012

We warmly recommend this place to anyone who wants a calming and friendly environment. A family run business, Ancient Realm is ideally located just off the main street of Kantiang Bay - (they used to be up near long beach but have moved to the south of the island - which is definitely the best place to be on Lanta). Vince is a fantastic host who made us feel very welcomed straight away. People will occasionally wander in from the street as they catch a glimpse of this charming boutique establishment - it is very nice in its design and layout, and contains a pool, restaurant (great food!), spa building, and less than 10 rooms. Definitely one of the best places we have stayed during our travels - the rooms and very beautiful! Also recommend the "Why Not Bar" next to the beach - less than 5min walk away for some great live music.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank johno_t_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 27, 2012

My boyfriend and I stayed at the Ancient Realm Resort and just loved it. Yes there were a few negatives, but the positives outweighed them.

Ancient Realm has a great atmosphere, incredibly friendly staff and a nice quiet peaceful place to recoup. Although it is peaceful and quite 98% of the time, there are some noises that can't be ignored. The Ancient Realm is near 2 Muslim churches who do a very loud call to prayer 2 or 3 times a day. It only lasts 30 seconds at most, but it is noticeable. The first day it seemed a bit annoying, but after that we got use to it. Really, nothing to complain about.

The rooms are really clean with all the amenities. The beds were pretty hard, but that is typical of SEA. Again, nothing to complain about.

The swimming pool is kept cold which is lovely since the ocean is so warm! Yes the pool could be bigger but... come on people jump in the ocean if your looking for a big swim! The beach is just a hop skip and jump away. Very nice.

We will be coming back to Ancient Realm whenever we visit Koh Lanta, which I hope is sooner rather than later!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 25YearsYoung
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
194 reviews
94 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 135 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 21, 2012

I really want to say great things about this place and for the most part, I can. Nowhere is perfect and Ancient Realm certainly isn't, but I always like to think of the 'price/value for money' trade off and if you look at it that way, you can't go wrong staying here.

The place is small, but well kept and well located (it's not right on the beach, but I think it's so close thats irrelevant). The rooms are large (I had a studio) and the beds are comfy. The towels are a bit small and tired, but apart from that everything is pretty good.

The staff and owners are truly delightful and make you feel very welcome. I find most Thai people lovely, but this is above average and the Australian owners are very helpful.

There are plenty of places to eat within spitting distance and you won't spend more than a few hundred baht on dinner and drinks. It's cheap.

Do have a massage in house, they are good and do hire a scooter and visit the island. South of Kantiang Bay is even lovelier.

Word of warning, the place is next to a mosque which means there is a loudspeaker going to go off several times a day inc 5am. But I think you'll hear it at any resort in Kantiang Bay, so you'll just have to deal with it and respect that you're in another culture.

This isn't 5 star, but it's great value and friendly with a good vibe and if you can get past the few things they get wrong (like the breakfast) you'll really enjoy Ancient Realm and Kantiang Bay. I certainly would stay again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BSBtraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
australia
Level Contributor
47 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 21, 2012

We stayed for 2 nights and November and really enjoyed our time here. As mentioned Ancient Realm is now at Kantiang Bay which was a lovely swimming beach a mere couple of minutes walk away.

Definitely in the quieter section of Lanta but beware you will get woken up by the call to prayer for the village every morning at 5am.

Took a kayak out for the morning and visit the next bays to the south. The first was totally deserted and we were the only ones on the whole beach!!

Enjoyed the bars on the beach and a choice of restaurants. Had dinner at Ancient Realm one night and was very good although the orders sometimes get mixed up as the wait staff sometimes struggle with their English.

One the cleanest places I have ever stayed at in Thailand and the room was excellent value for the price we paid and appreciated the pool to take a quick dip when didn't want to walk to the beach.

The boys who run the resort were very helpful with their recommendations and finding our kayak.

Will happily return when next I need that break from reality!!

Room Tip: Only a small resort of a few rooms so they are all good
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank kbuckle3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oulu, Finland
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 17, 2012

Me, my wife and 2 of our friends stayed here 7 nights this November. We had a suite for 4 persons. Although it's not located at the beach the location is still very good. 7-11 is just 20 meters away and it takes about 1 minute to walk to the beach. There are also a lot of nice little restaurants just around the corner. Unfortunately we didn't use the resorts restaurant, thought it looked good too.

The staff was great! They welcomed us with complimentary drinks and introduced the resort personally. They made us feel very welcome. The suite was excellent value for money. There were 2 bedrooms, living room, beautiful bathroom and some kitchen facilities. Every little detail was been handled. There was also a welcome basket that contained a lot of useful (and not so useful) stuff like mosquito wristlets and bottle opener. You don't even need an alarm clock, because there was a cock somewhere around.

Some thoughts about the location. Kantiang Bay seemed to be quite far away from everything. Afterwards I have to say that this is a very good thing. We visited other places in the island like Saladan and Long beach, but they weren't as nice as Kantiang. The overall athmosphere was very relaxing and cozy and there are all the services you need.

Room Tip: If travelling with friends, take a big suite! Great value for money.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank maailmanmestari
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ko Lanta hotels
10.6 mi away
Twin Bay Resort
Twin Bay Resort
#19 of 84 in Ko Lanta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 500 reviews
7.2 mi away
Mook Lanta Resort
Mook Lanta Resort
#16 of 84 in Ko Lanta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 433 reviews
4.2 mi away
MOONLIGHT Exotic Bay Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Narima Bungalow Resort
Narima Bungalow Resort
#18 of 84 in Ko Lanta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 317 reviews
1.1 mi away
Anda Lanta Resort
Anda Lanta Resort
#13 of 84 in Ko Lanta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 424 reviews
2.7 mi away
SriLanta Resort
SriLanta Resort
#23 of 84 in Ko Lanta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 984 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kantiang Oasis Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kantiang Oasis Resort & Spa

Property: Kantiang Oasis Resort & Spa
Address: 174/5 Moo 5, Kantiang Bay, Ko Lanta 81150, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Krabi Province > Ko Lanta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#9 Family Hotel in Ko Lanta
#10 Spa Hotel in Ko Lanta
#13 Romantic Hotel in Ko Lanta
#22 On the Beach Hotel in Ko Lanta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Kantiang Oasis Resort & Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kantiang Oasis Resort & Spa is an exclusive boutique resort for the discerning traveler or holiday maker. The resort is situated on the famous Kantiang Bay at the southern part of Koh Lanta Island. Kantiang Bay is a scenic and serene tropical Thai beach, with many things to see and do from waterfall walks, elephant trekking, snorkeling and kayaking, to market and stall shopping, relaxing on the beach, or visiting a lively beach bar, sipping sundowners. Kantiang Oasis is located directly in the centre of the village, in an ambient and quiet, yet convenient location close to all modern amenities and facilities to ensure you make the most of your holiday. Kantiang Oasis is a true boutique resort. We take pride in our resort and room design, with all of our many natural handmade decorative features, lush tropical gardens, and finely tuned accommodation, while also paying close attention to every single detail, whether big or small. With only a small number of exclusive rooms, we have the opportunity and experience to service every guests needs on a personal level. We provide a very secure and private dwelling for all guests to enjoy utmost privacy, and our staff is always on hand to help with anything our guests may need at anytime, day or night. A total of 6 Fusion Thai-Bali style studios and 1 Chinese-Thai influenced Suite combine minimalism with a touch of class, giving the guest an open and ambient surrounding, yet a private, cool and natural place to escape from the hustle and bustle of every day life. With very close proximity to the beautiful white sandy beach, convenient day trips to the picture-postcard surrounding islands, a backdrop of lush mountain rain forest, and a clear blue sky overhead, it is hard not to choose Kantiang Oasis Resort & Spa as your next holiday destination. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda, Ctrip TA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Kantiang Oasis Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ancient Realm Hotel Ko Lanta
Ancient Realm Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing