We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A wonderful, unique experience!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Mango Guesthouse + Villas
Ranked #119 of 146 Ko Lanta B&B and Inns
australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A wonderful, unique experience!”
Reviewed December 20, 2009

Only the highest of praise for Duane and Yu at Mango House, they were friendly and helpful in every respect! We have spent the last two Christmas seasons at Mango House and enjoyed the tranquil, warm and inviting atmosphere of Lanta Old Town . This year we will have Christmas at home in Melbourne but will be back this year during the low season.
I travelled with my 22 year old daughter who was equally captured by the breathtaking sea view from our large personal deck A hearty hot breakfast was served to our room each morning, delicious bacon and eggs and mango pancakes cooked up by Yu's mum. As we sat on the deck and planned our day we observed the visual acuity of the sea hawks hunting for their breakfast and discussed the rhythms of the tides and changing positions of the colourful fisherman's boats moored nearby. In front of us is a vast expanse of calm blue water and neighbouring islands in the distance. Our sea villa was very spacious, clean and elegantly restored.
I appreciated the good hot shower. We did not give up any comforts from home, everything we needed was provided.. Extra treats were brewed coffee at hand and being able to select DVD's from Duane's vast collection when we wanted a night in. Internet access was available in the front bar and dining area along with some good company from the local residents , daily tourists and other guests.
Yu organised a rental Jeep at a reasonable price so we were able to explore the Island, we went to Klong Nin for a swim and Kan tiang Bay and admired the views. Even though it was High Season the roads were quiet and we felt comfortable driving around. Instead of looking out for traffic we watched out for chickens, goats and elephants by the road side. It was approximately a 20 minutes drive to Saladan where we managed a little shopping at the local market..Yu organised a day at sea, a visit to the Emerald Caves and nearby islands, it was great to go out with an expert local fisherman. We enjoyed Mango House as It has its own unique charm,and because it is away from the main tourist areas. It provides an ambience that is relaxing,peaceful and friendly even the bird at the store next to the jetty that likes to say hello or greet you wolf whistle. There are some lovely Thai restaurants within walking distance, you get a good feel for the local way of life. We stayed for 5 nights on our last trip and hope to stay longer on our next visit so we can relax to the sounds and motions of rolling waves beneath us once again!
Judi and Meg

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank aussiejAustralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

73 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    44
    13
    1
    7
    8
See reviews for
11
40
8
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
El Cerrito,CA
1 review
Reviewed November 3, 2009

I love this place, it gave me back the old memory when my parents lived here 40+yrs ago. The house is on the water and we were really enjoy the gathering at the deck. The best was to sleep on the deck and listening to the sound of the tide. We enjoyed walking in the old town and eating out with the local.
I have only one big disappointed that room number 2 did not have the aircon as advertising on the web.
Siri.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Soipradap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
south england
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 5, 2009

Visited the Island as part of a trip around Thailand in Jan 09. Stayed for two nights at 'Mango House', in the old town.
The appartment was quite expensive by Thailand standards, but well worth paying the extra pennies for the location and amazing views and serenity. The appartents are converted old fishing houses built on stilts in the sea, which meant the balconies have a sea view all of their own.
The owners of the properties Duane and Ewe(who also run the cafe/bar at the front of the appartments), were very helpful and recommended places to visit as well as helping us futher our travel plans, which made it all so much simplier.
We ate at both the local restaraunts recommended a few mins walk from our lodgings, both located in the sea, which were excellent and great value for money.

Ko Lanta is a beautiful and as yet unspoilt island. It is quiet and tranquil and well worth a few days visit if you want to relax from the tourist traps of some of the larger, more comercial islands.

I am planning to go back next year and will be booking again to stay at the Mango House Appartments.

Helpful?
2 Thank filipot100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
2 reviews
Reviewed March 2, 2009

We loved the Mango House and it's location in the Old Town. Our room was stunning, but the view from our private balcony was even more so: it looked out over the water to the neighboring islands. The staff were very helpful and lovely, they felt like old friends and we had a great time all round.

  • Stayed January 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank harper07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
montreal
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 13, 2009

Charming, elegant, memorable.
Villas are built on stilts so that at high tide the ocean literally comes in under the floor boards. The rhymthic ebb and flow is like a lullaby.
Tastefully appointed with modern bathroom.
Huge deck with hammock. Meals can be served in overlooking the Andaman Sea.
Host/ hostess Duane and Yu are congenial and helpful for boating, snorkelling, and access to the 11 beaches on the western side of the island.
Mango House restaurant serves the best burgers I've ever had in Thailand.
Check this place out and tell your friends.

  • Stayed December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank odysseus003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed February 4, 2009

If you're not into the big resort thing, Mango House is the way to go. Beautiful rooms with rushing water underneath. We stayed there for 4 nights and felt right at home. The owners are friendly and helpful and have a great restaurant/bar up front. It was fun to stay in Old Lanta town away from the crowds and then drive our motorbike to the beach whenever we wanted more action. If you're looking to be right in all the madness, this place might not be for you, but it was definitely right for us. Would go back in a heartbeat!

  • Stayed December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VLNeit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new yourk
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed February 2, 2009

my wife and i stayed at 'mango house' from christmas eve - december 28th. if you are going to ko lanta, this is the place to stay. they have only 3-4 rooms (i forget) but they are not just rooms. they are apartments on the sea with views of beautiful islands in the distance. the prices are totally reasonable and the rooms have a hammock on the sea. the water (at high tide) is literally going under your room! they have amazing food, great drink and the owners truly make you feel like you are at a home, it's not a hotel. it's in 'old lanta' which is great becuase it has an authentic thai feel and is not on the beach side that has hotel after hotel. but, of course, the beach is awesome and is only a 10 minute moped ride away ( they can organize a moped for you when you get there). we traveled for two months in india and southeast asia and mango house was clearly one of the top 3 places we stayed along the way. book and go there....now!!

  • Liked — the easy going owners and the unbeievable room.
  • Disliked — honestly nothing to say.
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank worldthetravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ko Lanta hotels
9.9 mi away
LaLaanta Hideaway Resort
LaLaanta Hideaway Resort
#20 of 84 in Ko Lanta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 667 reviews
3.2 mi away
Long Beach Chalet
Long Beach Chalet
#7 of 84 in Ko Lanta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 534 reviews
9.8 mi away
Bamboo Bay Resort
Bamboo Bay Resort
#47 of 84 in Ko Lanta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 100 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Lanta Marina Resort
Lanta Marina Resort
#32 of 210 in Ko Lanta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 126 reviews
7.3 mi away
Narima Bungalow Resort
Narima Bungalow Resort
#18 of 84 in Ko Lanta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 319 reviews
6.4 mi away
Sriraya Guesthouse
Sriraya Guesthouse
#77 of 146 in Ko Lanta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 23 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mango Guesthouse + Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mango Guesthouse + Villas

Property: Mango Guesthouse + Villas
Address: 45 Sriraya Road, Moo 2 | Lanta Old Town, Ko Lanta 81150, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Krabi Province > Ko Lanta
Amenities:
Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #119 of 146 B&Bs / Inns in Ko Lanta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Mango Houses – a collection of authentic, Chinese-style wooden pole houses that have been converted into stylish, over-the-sea villas and suites. Each of these vacation home rentals is located directly on the ocean in an old Chinese fishing village named Lanta Old Town on Ko Lanta Island in Krabi, Thailand.Lanta Old Town is located on the nature-rich, southeast coast of Koh Lanta, only 15 minutes away from the beaches and tourist areas on the west coast — yet far enough to allow the village to retain its traditional culture and charm. Mango House is also famous for its quality, western-style food, coffees and wines. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Mango Guesthouse + Villas Hotel Ko Lanta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing