We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful room, amazing view, quiet location.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Mango Guesthouse + Villas
Ranked #122 of 159 Ko Lanta B&B and Inns
Reviewed March 2, 2009

We loved the Mango House and it's location in the Old Town. Our room was stunning, but the view from our private balcony was even more so: it looked out over the water to the neighboring islands. The staff were very helpful and lovely, they felt like old friends and we had a great time all round.

  • Stayed: January 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank harper07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (74)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

63 - 69 of 74 reviews

Reviewed February 13, 2009

Charming, elegant, memorable.
Villas are built on stilts so that at high tide the ocean literally comes in under the floor boards. The rhymthic ebb and flow is like a lullaby.
Tastefully appointed with modern bathroom.
Huge deck with hammock. Meals can be served in overlooking the Andaman Sea.
Host/ hostess Duane and Yu are congenial and helpful for boating, snorkelling, and access to the 11 beaches on the western side of the island.
Mango House restaurant serves the best burgers I've ever had in Thailand.
Check this place out and tell your friends.

  • Stayed: December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank odysseus003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 4, 2009

If you're not into the big resort thing, Mango House is the way to go. Beautiful rooms with rushing water underneath. We stayed there for 4 nights and felt right at home. The owners are friendly and helpful and have a great restaurant/bar up front. It was fun to stay in Old Lanta town away from the crowds and then drive our motorbike to the beach whenever we wanted more action. If you're looking to be right in all the madness, this place might not be for you, but it was definitely right for us. Would go back in a heartbeat!

  • Stayed: December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank VLNeit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 2, 2009

my wife and i stayed at 'mango house' from christmas eve - december 28th. if you are going to ko lanta, this is the place to stay. they have only 3-4 rooms (i forget) but they are not just rooms. they are apartments on the sea with views of beautiful islands in the distance. the prices are totally reasonable and the rooms have a hammock on the sea. the water (at high tide) is literally going under your room! they have amazing food, great drink and the owners truly make you feel like you are at a home, it's not a hotel. it's in 'old lanta' which is great becuase it has an authentic thai feel and is not on the beach side that has hotel after hotel. but, of course, the beach is awesome and is only a 10 minute moped ride away ( they can organize a moped for you when you get there). we traveled for two months in india and southeast asia and mango house was clearly one of the top 3 places we stayed along the way. book and go there....now!!

  • Stayed: December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank worldthetravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2009

We have just stayed a week in Mango House in old town Lanta. Our first impression of the little town was not our best, we thought how can the place we saw on the fotos be in this little town. Lanta Old Town is mainly described in the travellers guides as a sightseeing trip, we think that all these guides do Old Town short. If you want a nice relaxing holiday on Lanta away from the crowds, this is the place you should go to.
With Mango House it has a brilliant place to stay, the people are friendly and really helpfull. The rooms are really romantic and big, and the sea goes straight under your accomodation at high tide. Of course this is not a budget destination but it is worth every baht you pay for it. We paid around 2000 baht a night in high season, we did pay this before at other places we stayed in Thailand and Malaysia but nothing came even close to this place.
We had a double bed and two single beds, a little kitchen with a big fridge (mini bar) , prices were the same as in the bar.
They do not have a real restaurant, but a nice little bar/bistro, where you can have some barbeque dishes, in the beginning the prices may seem a bit high for Lanta but try to finish your cheese burger plate entirely and you will find out that also the food at this place is great.
There is one little thing about this place and that is the menu, there is a huge mistake on it, and I challenge everybody to find it, because you will get a free drink if you do, I let Duane decide what kind of drink. If you still want to enjoy the beach on Lanta just rent a motorbike and within 10 minutes you are at Klong Nin Beach, a nice and relax beach where there are still plenty of place to eat and drink. So if you like a luxurious and relaxed stay on Koh Lanta and away from the crowds this is the place to be.

  • Stayed: December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank IwanCarp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2017
Google Translation

Room Tip: Tutte bellissime palafitte sull acqua
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Figone M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 31, 2016
Google Translation

  • Stayed: December 2015, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AlessandroA75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ko Lanta hotels
0 mi away
Long Beach Chalet
Long Beach Chalet
#6 of 85 in Ko Lanta
585 reviews
0 mi away
Layana Resort and Spa
Layana Resort and Spa
#1 of 85 in Ko Lanta
1,522 reviews
0 mi away
Crown Lanta Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
SriLanta Resort
SriLanta Resort
#22 of 85 in Ko Lanta
1,112 reviews
0 mi away
MOONLIGHT Exotic Bay Resort
0 mi away
Anda Lanta Resort
Anda Lanta Resort
#12 of 85 in Ko Lanta
458 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mango Guesthouse + Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mango Guesthouse + Villas

Address: 45 Sriraya Road, Moo 2 | Lanta Old Town, Ko Lanta 81150, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Krabi Province > Ko Lanta
Amenities:
Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #122 of 159 B&Bs / Inns in Ko Lanta
Price Range: $75 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Mango Houses – a collection of authentic, Chinese-style wooden pole houses that have been converted into stylish, over-the-sea villas and suites. Each of these vacation home rentals is located directly on the ocean in an old Chinese fishing village named Lanta Old Town on Ko Lanta Island in Krabi, Thailand.Lanta Old Town is located on the nature-rich, southeast coast of Koh Lanta, only 15 minutes away from the beaches and tourist areas on the west coast — yet far enough to allow the village to retain its traditional culture and charm. Mango House is also famous for its quality, western-style food, coffees and wines. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Mango Guesthouse + Villas Hotel Ko Lanta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing