We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Ya gotta try this place!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mango Guesthouse + Villas

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Mango Guesthouse + Villas
Ranked #112 of 141 Ko Lanta B&B and Inns
Phuket
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Ya gotta try this place!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 21, 2011

This is a wonderful place to stay, as it embodies what a trip to Thailand should be about: great Thai people (friendly, great service, no hassles), fantastic ocean (views + sleeping on top of the water!), and a lovely cultural Thai town -- best Thai food around located within walking distance. it also has just the right amount of western influence: Aussie Burgers and western breakfasts.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RBCPhuket
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

72 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    44
    13
    1
    7
    7
See reviews for
10
40
8
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 21, 2011

Not much to say really . 100%
The staff the setting , the people the food everything was so perfect

Only One Bad thing !! Depression when you leave !!

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Funkycolin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 12, 2011

My husband and I stayed at the Mango House for 2+ weeks and had an absolutely amazing time! I loved how the water came under the house during high tide. The place was beautifully decorated and very comfortable. The highlight of the house is the porch over the water with views of the outer islands. If you get up early you can catch a beautiful sunrise. We had a shared balcony, which turned out to be great because met some wonderful people during our stay. We stayed in a unit without aircon, but even thought the temp was in the 80's & 90's (F) we were never uncomfortable because of the constant sea breeze and many provided fans.

This is a great place to stay if you want to be away from the crowds on the other side of the island. This is definitely not the place to stay if you want to party into the night on the beach. Old town closes up pretty early and is very quiet at night. We rented a motorbike and could easily go to any of the beaches around the island in 20 min. The old town has some of the best and cheapest food that we had on the island. The Mango house staff is very nice and accommodating. Anything we needed they were able to provide. One of our first nights there, a thai staff members took us to the local Buddhist temple to see a ceremony. Also, the food at the Mango House restaurant is very good.

The owner, Duane, is great and very friendly. He even took us out one night where we met many local thais and expats. The Mango House is the perfect if you want a unique Thai island experience. The place is great, but it was the people that really made the experience special.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mengna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 22, 2011

I have to say after reading the previous review i cannot believe that person is talking about the same place i stayed at. We stayed there mid December last year and i have nothing but treasured memories. The accommodation was clean and in the most romantic and peaceful setting, We ate our evening meal each night overlooking the sea in complete peace. The food was high quality and gorgeous. My son ate enormous banana pancakes each morning that he still makes reference to. The main thing about Mango House though was how friendly all the staff were and how out of there way everyone went to make us feel welcome. On one occasion we had a small emergency and the staff took me and my son on bikes to help. Not to mention the extra mile they went with everything for us and all without asking. I cannot recommend this place highly enough.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RachelR35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 2, 2010

As others have stated, the advertised A/C is not available in some of the accomodation.

Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank billllz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Albans, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2010

As a writer for Frommer's guidebooks I have travelled all over the world and stayed in hotels of every rating and quality. My alarm bells should have rung when Duane - the owner demanded half our payment upfront, unlike any other hotelier in Thailand. Upon arrival at The Mango House, the first words we were greeted with by the staff were: "Can you settle the balance right away?" Mango House is situated in a part of Ko Lanta which has no beach, and the property juts out over the sea. The property is not airconditioned - we were renting 2 rooms, and we were not told this in advance - it was 35 degrees. The first thing you notice as you enter the cafe/bar - to call it a restaurant would be kind - was the sign which asks you to remove your shoes. As a British family residing in the MIddle East, and having stayed in numerous hotels/guesthouses in Thailand, we are famliar with the customs of other cultures, but honestly, there are very few beach bars which demand that you remove your shoes before entering. Especially when the floor is already dirty and there are cats everywhere. We asked to be shown our rooms, before parting with all our money as requested - we were meant to be staying for 6 days - at which point Duane finally made an appearance. Whilst the rooms were adequate if you were a backpacker and the weather was in the twenties, for a family with kids of all ages, air conditioning is a must. Duane explained immediately that the water pressure in 2 of the bathrooms wasn't working but he was on it (can't think what else he actually had to do as the place was deserted). He left us and said he'd advise us on places to eat when we were ready. When we came back to the bar he asked us to settle the rest of our bill immediately - as he'd advised us by email. We asked him why he was the only hotelier in Thailand, that we'd come across, who demanded this and he explained that he'd had problems before with people not staying their full stay. I wonder why? We said that we'd stay for the days we'd paid for at which point he told us "in that case check out now," and walked away. So we did and travelled on to our next destination where we enjoyed the usual high quality Thai service. Duane kept our money but made it very clear that we weren't welcome to stay for the nights we'd actually paid for in advance. Avoid at all costs.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
10 Thank NeoDog_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
duanelennie, Owner at Mango Guesthouse + Villas, responded to this review, September 13, 2010
This review have several misleading facts: First, in Thailand/Asia it is very common to be asked to pay 50 or 100% deposit for room bookings made online. Almost every resort on Koh Lanta requires that you make full payment before you check into your room to assure the dates are confirmed. This is simply to assure the guest stays the nights they've reserved so if they decide to check out early the resort doesn't lose room nights. Secondly, this reviewer never spent more than 5 minutes in our suites so how can their reviews be taken serious? TripAdvisor needs a special forum where property owners can warn other owners about guest like this review/travel writer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 25, 2010

We booked the Seafront Suite Two.
Genericnic's review is correct - There is no air conditioning in this unit. Unless it's a new kind of system, based on alien technology that requires no form of mechanical propulsion.
Duane has since refunded our payment, albeit with some polite persuasion. He has now assured me however that the elusive hi-tech, alien reverse engineered A/C has been repaired. So you can all now be GUARANTEED of it's presence in the Seafront Suite Two. If you have any questions about how to operate and regulate the temperature, please don't hesitate to contact Duane himself on +--
Also be advised that suite two and one are connected and share the deck. It is a nice deck though.
WIFI is confined to the bar / restaurant only. Do not expect access from your room direct.
- oh, yeah - and the bathroom facilities also dump directly into the sea. It's a beautiful thing to see.
Look, Overall, we loved the joint. The service from friendly Tarn is second to none - top notch, no less. Extremely helpful and accommodating. I don't think these things should detract from Mango House. It is what it is - I just don't like being mislead. The location is fantastic. The locals are friendly, unless it's Ramadan.
Hope this helps future travelers.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Lindsgiffster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
duanelennie, Owner at Mango Guesthouse + Villas, responded to this review, September 13, 2010
Mango House apologises to this customer as our air conditioning unit wasn’t functioning when he came to Mango House. We did discount his one night stay and fully refund his deposit. The aircon is now functioning in Suite Two although this time of year it’s really not needed.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ko Lanta hotels
10.1 mi away
LaLaanta Hideaway Resort
LaLaanta Hideaway Resort
#20 of 84 in Ko Lanta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 658 reviews
9.7 mi away
Bamboo Bay Resort
Bamboo Bay Resort
#51 of 84 in Ko Lanta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 98 reviews
5.2 mi away
Lanta Wild Beach Resort
Lanta Wild Beach Resort
#13 of 141 in Ko Lanta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 75 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Costa Lanta
Costa Lanta
#24 of 84 in Ko Lanta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 258 reviews
4.1 mi away
The Andaman Sunflower Resort & Spa
7.3 mi away
Narima Bungalow Resort
Narima Bungalow Resort
#16 of 84 in Ko Lanta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 312 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mango Guesthouse + Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mango Guesthouse + Villas

Property: Mango Guesthouse + Villas
Address: 45 Sriraya Road, Moo 2 | Lanta Old Town, Ko Lanta 81150, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Krabi Province > Ko Lanta
Amenities:
Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #112 of 141 B&Bs / Inns in Ko Lanta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Mango Houses – a collection of authentic, Chinese-style wooden pole houses that have been converted into stylish, over-the-sea villas and suites. Each of these vacation home rentals is located directly on the ocean in an old Chinese fishing village named Lanta Old Town on Ko Lanta Island in Krabi, Thailand.Lanta Old Town is located on the nature-rich, southeast coast of Koh Lanta, only 15 minutes away from the beaches and tourist areas on the west coast — yet far enough to allow the village to retain its traditional culture and charm. Mango House is also famous for its quality, western-style food, coffees and wines. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Mango Guesthouse + Villas Hotel Ko Lanta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing