We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Baan Lanta”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Baan Laanta Resort & Spa
Ranked #55 of 84 Hotels in Ko Lanta
Southport, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Baan Lanta”
Reviewed July 28, 2012

I would describe this resort as "rustic" Good value for money, nice owners, however staff are somewhat slow on the service side. It's a great spot to just chill. Maintenance of the rooms need to be improved as we had an issue with the A/C which you really need. We weren't the only ones with this problem either. All in all 5/10

Room Tip: Try and get the ocean view villa
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank petnar55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

214 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    53
    73
    34
    29
    25
See reviews for
34
122
8
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed July 17, 2012

We arrived at Baan Lanta for the last leg of our honeymoon and were planning to spend about 5 days/4 nights there. We were asked to pay the full cost of the duration of our stay upfront - which we didn't mind. We had no intention of leaving. We were also asked to pay a 2500 Baht airport transfer fee - which had initially been agreed to have been 400 Baht/person with the hotel arranging for a public transfer to Saladan and hotel transfer to Baan Lanta from Saladan. It wasn't arranged in this way - they must have overlooked their communication. We also paid this without saying anything.

In the end, we spent one night and opted to leave. The kind reception desk gentleman tried to get our payment back for us from "management" - ie. the lady who owns the property, Naan - but "management" did not feel it would be possible. A shame. But even with the loss of the money, we couldn't imagine trying to spend another night. We had the sense that this is the reason payment is demanded upfront - premature departures must happen a lot.

My overall assessment of Baan Lanta is that with a little more care and maintenance, it would be a far lovelier place to stay. Of all services and amenities, everything is just lacking that little extra that would make it a greatly improved experience for guests.

For us, we loved the setting and were trying to be optimistic and roll with the quirks of the property - but in the end, we couldn't deal with the surge of ants in our room. When we had checked in, we had seen a few ants and thought - a few ants never hurt anyone. No big deal.

No big deal later became a sleepless night of having dozens of them constantly crawling through hair, face and body - my husband must have killed at least 30 through the night that were in his hair alone. We had left our laptop charging in the wall on the platform next to the bed, and by morning, the laptop was swarming with ants, crawling in and out of it. That's the point at which we decided we had to go. There was no where to sit or rest or to put anything down for apprehension of sitting on, squishing, and being crawled on by ants. Completely defeated the point of the R&R portion of our honeymoon - batting, flicking, and swatting ants.

Arguably, it could be said that this is was part of being in a jungle. This was our initial rationale. Besides, at least we could hang out by the beach and go for swims. We normally don't spend a lot of time in the room anyway. Only, a breathtaking evening view of the Kantiang Bay at sunset from the restaurant (which, by the way, is very good) was revealed to be garbage strewn in the light of the morning. The water itself wasn't all that clean - including a stream of run-off from a suspicious location.

Perhaps we could spend time by the pool? Lovely in the photos - also at first glance - with wonderful small elephant statues blowing water into the pool. Upon closer inspection, the water was a murky black colour, with a film of green algae coating the periphery walls and some kind of film on the surface - I couldn't see to the bottom to confirm if algae also lived there.

So back to our lovely room with a sea view of the Bay. Perhaps we could sit on the terrace. Sadly, the view from the terrace and within the room was mostly obstructed by very tall, overgrown vegetation. If the view from the restaurant is any indication, I'm sure the view is breathtaking when the vegetation is cut back enough for you to see the Bay. Ironically, there were less ants outside on the terrace than in the room... if only it hadn't started to rain. They don't call it green season for nothing!

Other incidentals, other guests/reviews have pointed out already. The nearly non-existent, spotty wifi - even when you're standing next to the router. (We got a stronger, more consistent signal from the neighbouring Pimalai Resort than Baan Lanta's - too bad we couldn't access it.) Very dark closet/bathroom area - makes it difficult, if not impossible, to check items for ants. Service is very friendly and "island", and as such also means it's a touch on the slow side, but the big smiles and kind staff make up for speed.

Perhaps the experience that best personifies what is holding Baan Lanta back from being more than a 2-star for us was at the restaurant for breakfast. There was a cluster of food left on the table that meant the ants (which we were already all too familiar with) were swarming the food drippings the table. We asked the server if he might have something to wipe we could wipe it off with. His immediate response was for us to move to sit at another table. We liked the location of our table, so scraped off the food and ants with our menu instead - problem solved. It occurred to me that this must be the way everything is dealt with - not the root issue, but periphery solutions that require the least amount of effort.

Too bad, because Baan Lanta has all the potential to be a great spot. Clean up the garbage, rooms, and pool - it could be a great place with great value.

Room Tip: I would suggest asking for a sea view - it sounds like we were unlucky to have had our view overgrow...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank artichokefish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Ko Lanta hotels

Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed June 15, 2012

Unfortunately we couldnt rate this higher, mostly due to the unfortunate timing of our stay. We arrived at the end of a week of brutal storms and we got a day of rain as well. We were two of 4 to 6 people staying here, but there was probably less than a dozen people staying in kantiang bay the two days we stayed here. We walked through Pimalai and only saw about 8 guests in the middle of the morning.

Now, the resort is beautifully set amongst the hillside and beach on the north end of the bay. There are 15 separate bungalows amidst the jungle type terrain. The bathrooms have fresh air exposure and the rooms are very minimal, however have a great traditional thai ambiance. The balcony overlooking the sea made for some great relaxing time.
This isnt a 4 or 5 star room, so dont expect much. There is a safe in the room, wifi is limited to their reception area. None in the rooms.

The restaurant had great food, no complaints. We did not have any breakfast.
The best part were the staff. Since there werent manyof us, it was easy to get to know them. Wood was great at the bar, lala and booboo (yes, this is what they introduced themselves as) were fun and good to talk to. They all took care of us including naan, the owner. When we wanted to leave 2 days early, she set us up with a rideto ao nang and was up at 7am to make sure we got our ride even when she had a doctors appointment to get to. Overall, i can imagine what the place and location would be like in high(er) season - fun and easy gong.

Room Tip: #15 or #4 give you a sea view and easy pool access. They have the best views without any noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Danny S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 13, 2012

We spent 3 nights at Baan Laanta and had a really enjoyable stay here. Our room was overlooking the sweeping bay and the balcony was surrounded by lush greenery. The room was of a traditional Thai style lots of dark wood with nice extras (the triangular style cushions for the floor, a window seat etc). A nice feature of the room was the bed which was elevated on a wooden plinth with nice views of the sea.

The breakfast were great and freshly cooked for you rather than buffet style. Fresh juice, fruit and a varierty of different eggs, bread and jam. We also ate in the hotels restaurant which again overlooks the bay and had several very tasty/excellent meals (we'd recommend the Massamun Curry).

This is a family run hotel and there is definitely a sense of warmth and friendliness here - we'd like to thank our friends Op, La La and Woody in the bar next door for entertaining us and for being such good fun!!!

Pool area was very tranquil and beautiful! Owners obviously take a lot of care cleaning and maintaining the area for guests.

Thanks for a great stay on Ko Lanta!!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank paul_millward
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 22, 2012

This resort is tired and needs a facelift, if not at least some maintenance. Doors wont close, curtains wont work, a/c has mind of it's own.Wi fi is non existent even standing next to the server in their internet room, so forget it in your room. Breakfast included is worst I've had and coffee is a jar of instant - ok for a hostel but for a 3 star?? Staff are very nice and try hard but this place is a joke for the star rating and price. Just 100 metres along the beach and literally right on it is the Kantiang Bay View. Rooms half the price, clean no pretensions, that's where I'm moving to.

Room Tip: Go next door
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ærøskøbing
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 25, 2012

Rooms were dark and needed a make-over. Very old-fashioned and the bathroom was a laugh!
I can not recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: I can't help you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lette50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aarhus, Denmark
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed April 16, 2012

We spent 2 weeks at the resort and ended the stay with our beach-wedding with 31 guests from Denmark - all staying at the resort AND LOVING IT.

First about the resort:
Great spacious rooms, superb cleaing, great balcony, great spa and fabulous food in the restaurant. The beach bar is located right on the beach and has a great staff;-) All the staff in Baan Laanta is very cool and smiling and offers the best service.

I can recommend Baan Laanta for all type of vacation - wheather you travel with children, as a couple or just if your young people.

The weddingservice:
I can describe our Baan Laanta wedding with 3 words - IT WAS AMAZING!
Ceremony on the beach - perfect in the suncet. Set up was just the way we wanted it. And we even had an elefant joining;-)
The wedding planner (Nok) will make all your dreams come true;-)
The wedding celebrant was an american man - very good!
The wedding party/dining was ON the beach right in front of the resort - and it was excacly as we wanted it and we they set up a private beach bar on the beach for the wedding. We ended the dinner with great fireworks. After dinner we had a DJ on the beach and dancing.

So if you want a beach wedding - and want it to be kind of private - choose this resort on Kantiang Bay - then can only be perfect!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Marie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ko Lanta hotels
0.1 mi away
Kantiang Oasis Resort & Spa
1.7 mi away
LaLaanta Hideaway Resort
LaLaanta Hideaway Resort
#20 of 84 in Ko Lanta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 665 reviews
0.1 mi away
Lanta Marine Park View Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Phra Nang Lanta
Phra Nang Lanta
#39 of 84 in Ko Lanta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 243 reviews
1.1 mi away
Anda Lanta Resort
Anda Lanta Resort
#13 of 84 in Ko Lanta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 427 reviews
1.9 mi away
Narima Bungalow Resort
Narima Bungalow Resort
#18 of 84 in Ko Lanta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 319 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Baan Laanta Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Baan Laanta Resort & Spa

Property: Baan Laanta Resort & Spa
Address: 134 Moo 5 | Kantiang Bay, Ko Lanta 81150, Thailand
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Krabi Province > Ko Lanta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#15 Spa Hotel in Ko Lanta
#37 On the Beach Hotel in Ko Lanta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Baan Laanta Resort & Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Baan Laanta Resort & Spa is a beach-chic, boutique resort offering 15 stylish and elegant, traditional Thai-style villa bungalows, located on the beach in Kan Tiang Bay. Set within an unspoiled natural bay on the western coast of Ko Lanta, Baan Laanta Resort offers the perfect haven for a relaxing holiday or long weekend. Each beautifully designed villa is only a few steps away from the ocean and offers simple luxury with an elegant touch. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, Agoda, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Baan Laanta Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Baan Laanta Resort And Spa
Baan Laanta Hotel Ko Lanta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing