We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nearly great”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Golden Bay Cottages
Ranked #35 of 212 Specialty Lodging in Ko Lanta
Adelaide, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
173 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“Nearly great”
Reviewed December 20, 2013

We returned for the first time since we were here during the 2004 tsunami. It hasnt really changed and ko Lanta is not too developed as we had feared it might be. Lots more Swedish tourists and restaurants/bars but Klong Dao is still fairly peaceful and very clean.

Golden Bay is a friendly, peaceful place with good amenities and a nice spot on the beach. The staff are genuinely attentive and helpful and the food is very good.

It is a no frills place but with a good pool and the villas are nice. The only negatives are:

1. The beds are very hard and uncomfortable, combined with very noisy air con, this prevents a good night's sleep. Update these and I would stay for a month, Dont update and I doubt I would return for more than one or two nights.

2. Breakfast: Very ordinary. Poor choice, limited, cheap and cheerful even for backpacker level. Get some fresh juice and muesli at least! And please change the choice from one week to the next.

Ther above 2 things were a big let down but are easily remedied. If they were I would recommend Golden Bay as the friendliest, nicest and friendliest resort on Koh Lanta and well worth the price. I am considering spending 1-3 months here in off season (July on for Aussies) in the future so will check futire reviews with interest.

Thanks to Kun Chop, Wandee, Zaw and Sabaiprae and everyone else that made us wish we were here longer instead of moving to Southern Lanta, which I will review later.

Room Tip: The pool area is not noisy and they have a sensible curfew...deluxe rooms around here are nice for f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank michael p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

228 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    67
    94
    44
    11
    12
See reviews for
47
116
13
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Hamburg, Germany
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed December 13, 2013

We stayed 9 nights here and we wouldn't like to miss one singe night there. The location is perfect, the rooms clean, the staff friendly. If you like to get a great vacation you should come here. Beautiful cottages with modern interior, nice bathroom.
Good breakfast-menu. The restaurant for dinner is on the upper scale on this beach but the quality is good (if you like real thai food and dislike the cheap taste), So try yourself, you won't regret it.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank M-K_Germany
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level 5 Contributor
84 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
Reviewed December 5, 2013

We stayed here for 3 nights as part of our two and a half week tour of Thailand. We were shocked with Ko Lanta, not as described in the guide books. Dirty beaches, dirty streets with trash everywhere and muddy water, not clear or greenish blue as pictured in the guide books. I would never swim in the water or walk the beach without shoes due to glass! To get to this hotel, you must walk about 5-7 minutes from the main road down a lane filled with garbage, sewer smells, old building materials and miscellaneous junk. So disgusting. All that to be said, the resort was OK but very expensive for Thailand, we paid close to $90/night USD. It was filled with Swedish families who come to Ko Lanta for extended holidays after having babies. We were so surprised to see dozens and dozens of young Swedish families all over the island, hard to believe they are able to look past the trash! Apparently, there's a direct flight now from Stockholm to Krabi for the Swedes, they even have two schools on the island for their older toddlers and young kids so they can continue school during their long holiday/maternity leave! The resort was OK, bathroom was old with floorboards that let in cockroaches. The restaurant breakfast was very good and plentiful and the staff seemed very nice. Just be aware of the island conditions! Ko Lanta is very, very poor and almost totally Muslim. Would never go back to Ko Lanta, would choose an island with beautiful beaches and water. Phi Phi? I don't know...none of the islands are undiscovered. All are filled with tourists during the high season! Not impressed with Thailand overall!

Room Tip: Ask for a deluxe cottage, will cost more but you won't have a view of your neighbor's A/C un...
See more room tips
Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank TravelforfunSeattle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed October 23, 2013 via mobile

Garden a mess because of construction of new rooms. The new rooms don't make the complex better. They should have made a good plan before starting the construction. It all feels a bit depressing despite its in the sea. Maybe it looks all better after they redo the garden.
Rooms ok, very clean, the bed is good as well. Breakfast also ok.
We went next door. Royal lanta. Was not on booking because it was full but they arranged a nice room. Just a very little bit more expensive and 10x nicer!

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank RubenStekelenburg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 20, 2013 via mobile

Went here just for the restaurant, not the hotel. Tried the Salami Pizza. Tasted very very bad! This was not home made. It really tasted like they bought it at the supermarked next door. And the service was really bad too, they where all standing there, 5-6 people, and we had to yell to get the bill. No contact with customer! I have absolutly no good experience from this place, and will never go back, unless i want to make sure that i will use my whole holiday at the toilett.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank stensaren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 20, 2013 via mobile

Went there in a group of 3 people for lunch. The prices Are very high and the food is terrible. We had pizza all 3 and they used one hour to make the first one, then 15 minutes more for number 2, and 15 more for number 3. It was horrible!! Guess they went to 7/11 too buy frozenpizza and heat it and add some salami! It was discusting, horrible and dry. Im still on the toilet shitting cacao 5 days later. NEVER eat at this place!!!!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jhtings
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed August 23, 2013

In this period there was some renovation going on, but with not much disturbance. Good value with very kind staff, great swimming pool and good food. The beach on ko lanta we find not special. You can rent a bike, they are helpfull with your tickets and can give you lots of information. The rooms are nice (standard as well as luxury) with all the essentials you need. The garden is upgrated and gives you a view right to the see.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ingridvdkruit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ko Lanta hotels
0.0 mi away
Royal Lanta Resort and Spa
Royal Lanta Resort and Spa
#33 of 84 in Ko Lanta
347 reviews
0.7 mi away
Twin Bay Resort
Twin Bay Resort
#18 of 84 in Ko Lanta
507 reviews
0.0 mi away
Southern Lanta Resort
Southern Lanta Resort
#57 of 84 in Ko Lanta
191 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Long Beach Chalet
Long Beach Chalet
#7 of 84 in Ko Lanta
550 reviews
0.2 mi away
Noble House Beach Resort
Noble House Beach Resort
#39 of 212 in Ko Lanta
116 reviews
4.1 mi away
Coco Lanta Resort
Coco Lanta Resort
#3 of 212 in Ko Lanta
370 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Golden Bay Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Golden Bay Cottages

Property: Golden Bay Cottages
Address: 22 Moo 3 Saladan, Ko Lanta 81150, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Krabi Province > Ko Lanta
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #35 of 212 Specialty Lodging in Ko Lanta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Golden Bay Cottages 3*
Number of rooms: 31
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Golden Bay Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Golden Bay Cottages Hotel Ko Lanta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing