We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good Green season value”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Time For Lime Bungalows
Ranked #15 of 144 Ko Lanta B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Whangarei, New Zealand
Level Contributor
69 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Good Green season value”
Reviewed July 2, 2014

We booked the room ahead and had to secure it with a credit card even it was green season (it was the only place we had to do this). When we arrived we were told our room was given to somebody who just turned up! Not the best start.

The welcome drink was lovely and the people very friendly. The highlight for us were definitely the cats (the reason we came here!). The room was quite basic but otherwise ok. The place itself needs some refreshing but I'm sure the owner is aware of that. A lot of water could be saved with a proper flushing. The whole place has kind of a backpackers feeling (incl. rates) which we enjoyed. The garden was neat and pleasant. And of course the dedication for LAW (animal shelter) is adorable.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pipiwharauroa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
foodiefreak, Owner at Time For Lime Bungalows, responded to this review, July 3, 2014
Dear T & G,
Thank you so much for staying in our bungalows and for your review.

We are very, very sorry for the mix-up of your room, I totally agree not the best start ;o(
Even though we tried to make it up with a slight upgrade after 2 days.

So happy that you enjoyed your free welcome drinks - the best Mojito on the Island as many say.
Not many comments about this in their reviews, so thanks so much for this.

We are budget bungalows (and only 9) and since June we have been doing some renovating both in the cooking school, restaurant and bungalows. We will still keep are friendly rates after wards.
There is one thing that we will not change, and that is our eco Thai toilets, which saves 3-4 more water than western "proper" flush toilets. Which is important on a Island with limited water resources.

Hope you enjoyed the company from some of our rescue cats on the location (as of today 24!)
Welcome back!

Kind regards and a big thank you,
From Junie the owner, the rest of the Time For Lime team, and the animals you help to support by visiting us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

140 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    77
    42
    15
    4
    2
See reviews for
8
75
26
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed May 27, 2014 via mobile

What a find!
Clean bungalows, private bathrooms. Wonderful restaurant area to enjoy the six dish sample menu which is offered daily.

Best thing is that Time for lime is right on the beach and the staff are so friendly. We really felt at home. It also has some very sweet cats to play with. We liked naughty Sophie and the tiny cat that was always near our room.

We thoroughly enjoyed the cooking class with the comedy Thai chef! I only wish she would have given me the massaman curry recipe. If anyone has it please email me it! Asheleydoyle@gmail.com

Also I recommend popping down to the animal welfare home and walk a dog or ten! We walked three to the nearest beach. They were all so affectionate and well trained. Better behaved than my dog in England ha ha.

A well earned 10/10

Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
foodiefreak, Owner at Time For Lime Bungalows, responded to this review, June 25, 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for staying in our bungalows at Time for Lime and for your great review. Thanks for your kinds words regarding the staff, I will pass on your kind words. I have already emailed you the Massaman recipe, I hope you have had chance to re-create it at home. I also really appreciate the time you spent walking the dogs at Lanta Animal Welfare.
Thank you also for appreciating that our rescue dogs are so well behaved ;o)
Kind regards and a big thank you,
From Junie the owner, the rest of the Time For Lime team, and the animals you help to support by visiting us.

PS. To future guests: If you would like to stay with us, you will have to book directly through our web-site, as we do NOT want pay an extra fee to other online booking hotel web-sites to book for us. You can find easily our prices and book via our web site so max money goes to the charity Lanta Animal Welfare.
• Our Bungalows with Air-Con, will be closed for renovation from July to mid September 2014. We will have some Fan rooms available in this time
• Green Season Discounts still applies from May 1 - October 1: Stay 3 nights get 4th night free.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
20 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed May 27, 2014

we visit time for lime in april and stayed there for one week. the atmosphere is fantastic and the concept is brilliant as all money goes to support the local animal center which is really genuine and very well kept. they have a lot a nice projects and initiative there such as lovely cooking classes, nice dinners and very good cocktails bar on the beach, all is run by volunteers( you wont tell as hey are really kind and helpful) Is also very clean and high quality - on the beach -

paradise :)

Room Tip: any room is good - good fan or ac - all have fridge plus breakfast buffet is inclusive
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stefano N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
foodiefreak, Owner at Time For Lime Bungalows, responded to this review, June 25, 2014
Dear Stef,
Thank you for staying in our bungalows at Time for Lime and for your great review. As you know all of our profits from Time for Lime go to Lanta Animal Welfare. Thanks for the kind words on our volunteers, they work very hard and are really appreciated here.
Kind regards and a big thank you,
From Junie the owner, the rest of the Time For Lime team, and the animals you help to support by visiting us.

PS. To future guests: If you would like to stay with us, you will have to book directly through our web-site, as we do NOT want pay an extra fee to other online booking hotel web-sites to book for us. You can find easily our prices and book via our web site so max money goes to the charity Lanta Animal Welfare.
• Our Bungalows with Air-Con, will be closed for renovation from July to mid September 2014. We will have some Fan rooms available in this time
• Green Season Discounts still applies from May 1 - October 1: Stay 3 nights get 4th night free.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
21 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed May 26, 2014 via mobile

Stayed here based on tripadvisor reviews. It was definitely a bargain - for better or for worse. The toilets did not flush but the rooms are generally clean and well prepared. The Mojitos are certainly the best on the island and the cooking class was phenomenal (even though it was not taught by the famed Junie). You better actually love animals if staying there, cats eagerly climbed into our bungalow whenever we opened the door. While it has beach access, the beach was not clean and motorbikes were necessary for getting to cleaner, busier beaches during low season.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cms20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
foodiefreak, Owner at Time For Lime Bungalows, responded to this review, June 25, 2014
Dear guest,
Thank you for staying in our bungalows at Time for Lime!
Our bungalows have a “Thai style” bucket flush, which saves 80% water by doing so. This is very important on an Island that depends on ground water. We have a fun illustration how to use these toilets on our web site, under the menu “bungalows” and in the bungalow bathroom, as it IS a bit different from the western world, but is does flush perfectly, if you follow the intstructions ;o) Several magazines have copied and printed our “Thai Toilet lesson” illustration that we are proud of.
We do our upmost to be eco friendly. We also give free drinking water bottle filling for our guests, to save the environment. Who else does that?
I am pleased that you enjoyed our famous mojitos!
I would imagine most people that come to Time for Lime are animal lovers as all of our profits to Lanta Animal Welfare. We do state if you don’t share the same compassion, maybe better to book somewhere else.
We are very sorry about the beach conditions in low season when you were here. The currents change, and unfortunately rubbish that is dumped from Phi Phi island in the ocean, washes up on most of our beaches here in Koh Lanta in low season.
We do are best to clean the beach daily in front of our location. But unfortunately we don’t have capacity to clean other places on the beach. Some days the beach is great and some days the beach is not ;o( Maybe you could help as a tourist (who brings money in to the government) to advise that this is a very important issue to investigate on? Many locals on the Island including us are very concerned about this matter.
Kind regards and a big thank you,
From Junie the owner, the rest of the Time For Lime team, and the animals you help to support by visiting us.

PS. To future guests: If you would like to stay with us, you will have to book directly through our web-site, as we do NOT want pay an extra fee to other online booking hotel web-sites to book for us. You can find easily our prices and book via our web site so max money goes to the charity Lanta Animal Welfare.
• Our Bungalows with Air-Con, will be closed for renovation from July to mid September 2014. We will have some Fan rooms available in this time
• Green Season Discounts still applies from May 1 - October 1: Stay 3 nights get 4th night free.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nagoya, Japan
2 reviews
Reviewed May 15, 2014

A couple friends and I arrived in Ko Lanta on a whim with no place in mind to stay. We ended up staying at Time for Lime and I think we made the best choice possible! Even our tuk-tuk driver said it was the top place to stay. We we greeted by super friendly and accommodating staff, plenty of super cute pups and cat and even a welcome mojito! It was great. The bungalows are all you need for a great stay on the island and were a great price. There's an amazing bar and restaurant with some of the best drinks I had in Thailand and an amazing view of the ocean. My friend and I walked the dogs one beautiful evening and went for a dip in the warm water. We had a great stay - thanks Time for Lime!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jamie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
foodiefreak, Owner at Time For Lime Bungalows, responded to this review, June 25, 2014
Dear Jamie,
Thanks for staying at our bungalows at Time for Lime and your great review. It’s great to hear the local tuk-tuk drivers are giving us good reviews. I am pleased you enjoyed our mojitos!
Thanks SO much for taking time to walk some of our rescue dogs, they do appreciate some extra loving care.
Kind regards and a big thank you,
From Junie the owner, the rest of the Time For Lime team, and the animals you help to support by visiting us.

PS. To future guests: If you would like to stay with us, you will have to book directly through our web-site, as we do NOT want pay an extra fee to other online booking hotel web-sites to book for us. You can find easily our prices and book via our web site so max money goes to the charity Lanta Animal Welfare.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
Reviewed May 1, 2014

This boutique resort is situated on the longest and most popular beach in Krabi. It is tranquil and relaxing. A fantastic location close to the market place and many restaurants outside. The staffs in the resort are warm, friendly and helpful. The only thing about them is they are not really good at recommending stuff to do outside the resort. When asked recommended places to eat, etc. They usually refer to the resort itself. Tides restaurant in the resort is right in the beach, great for breakfast or romantic dinner. They also have a lovely bar by the beach to watch the sunset.
What I really like about this resort is that it is adults only. Just perfect for a quiet time for those traveling alone!

Helpful?
Thank Valerine13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
foodiefreak, Owner at Time For Lime Bungalows, responded to this review, June 25, 2014
Dear Valerine,
So sorry, but you have not stayed with us! Wish you would have though ;o)
You have stayed at LAYANA RESORT AND SPA.
Layana Resort is great, for adults! The cost is 10 times or more than with us. And no comparison with prices or standard!

We do have a great restaurant here at Time for Lime where many Layana guests come to eat. Because of our high TripAdvisor reviews.

Kind regards,
From Junie the owner, the rest of the Time For Lime team, and the animals you help to support by visiting US.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed April 29, 2014

I have travelled around Thailand for 5 months and Time for Lime was the only place that was too good to leave. We (me and my spouse) ended up staying for two weeks in a fan bungalow instead of one week. In April it gets hot, so for most people I recommend taking an air con bungalow during the hotter months.

We are 35-year old backpackers who prefer bungalows and stay in dorms only in expensive countries. Our bungalow in Time for Lime on April was 500 bahts a night in then end of April (790 b in high season) and that was a cheap price for such a well-kept guest house in such an expensive island. There was a serve-yourself breakfast included (juices, fruits, muesli and cereal and toast, eggs etc). You can help yourself taking instant coffee all day long. Guests can fill up their water bottles for free - reduces plastic garbage!

From little details I could see that Time for Lime is well concepted and designed, which is unusual for guest houses in this price scale. There was space to put our clothes hanging and on a shelf. The table and chair were in front of a window facing the garden. I spent a lot time writing inside the bungalow escaping the heat. Wifi worked well. There was a hammock and a bench in the terrace. A bed is good when you don´t notice it and I didn´t, so it was too soft or too hard. I liked the extra long pillow that I could tuck on my side during sleep.

Most of nights we took a cat or two (even three of them) inside our room. The cats living in Time for Lime walk free during the day, but for their safety they are put in little huts during nights. It is fun for the cats sleep in bungalows for change and most of them love cuddling! We were a bit lazy and didn´t walk much the dogs that stay at Time for Lime. We went a couple for times to the Lanta Animal Welfare´s shelter to cuddle with the dogs and cats and walk the dogs there.

The main reason for me to come to Time for Lime is that all its profits a given to Lanta Animal Welfare´s shelter for stray dogs and cats. This is a wonderful concept which unfortunately all tourists, other entrepeneurs and locals don´t understand. It´s a guest house, cooking school and restaurant that exists for common good. It helps animals, gives jobs to people and a place to stay and work for volunteers. And it´s a possibility for tourists to stay in a place and support a good cause.

It is a pity that the restaurant serves only spring rolls and tasting menu, because I wouldn´t have dined anywhere else. Fortunately there were okay beach restaurants Asylum and Koala Bar near (the vegetarian restaurant Kunda is too far to walk). And you could have nice mojito, amaretto sour and lemon grass margarita at the good-looking bar.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank reissaustajaruokaa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
foodiefreak, Owner at Time For Lime Bungalows, responded to this review, May 6, 2014
Dear Guest,
It was a great pleasure to have you here! Many of the rescue kitties were also so happy to get some extra attention and loving care.
A big thanks and "Meow" from the kitties!

I wish I had spent more time with you.
Was a bit sad to hear about our restaurant. Me and the other staff should have communicated more. For guest who stay here, you can order a main dish from the tasting menu. I'm truly sorry this was not informed.

Hope to see you both again another time.
We really appreciate your time for writing this kind review.


Kind regards and a big thank you,
From Junie the owner, the rest of the Time For Lime team, and the animals you help to support by visiting us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ko Lanta hotels
0.9 mi away
Royal Lanta Resort and Spa
Royal Lanta Resort and Spa
#31 of 84 in Ko Lanta
339 reviews
1.1 mi away
Twin Lotus Resort & Spa
Twin Lotus Resort & Spa
#7 of 84 in Ko Lanta
691 reviews
1.5 mi away
Twin Bay Resort
Twin Bay Resort
#19 of 84 in Ko Lanta
498 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Layana Resort and Spa
Layana Resort and Spa
#1 of 84 in Ko Lanta
1,391 reviews
1.2 mi away
Long Beach Chalet
Long Beach Chalet
#10 of 84 in Ko Lanta
515 reviews
0.3 mi away
Maya Koh Lanta Resort
Maya Koh Lanta Resort
#21 of 144 in Ko Lanta
151 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Time For Lime Bungalows? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Time For Lime Bungalows

Property: Time For Lime Bungalows
Address: 72/2 Moo 3 | Saladan, Ko Lanta 81150, Thailand
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Krabi Province > Ko Lanta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 144 B&Bs / Inns in Ko Lanta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
9 cozy Budget bungalows set in a nice garden, 2 minutes from the beach. Those who enjoy staying here are people who appreciate a small, creative, funky atmosphere, great food & drinks, groovy music and have a heart for animals If you rather prefer top-notch western flush toilets and TV, go elsewhere. By staying here you help support the charity Lanta Animal Welfare. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda so you can book your Time For Lime Bungalows reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Time For Lime Bungalows Hotel Ko Lanta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing