We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A little too "backpacker-esque" for my taste”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Time For Lime Bungalows
Ranked #17 of 159 Ko Lanta B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 28, 2014

I wholeheartedly agree with bexiow's review from January 2014. I was initially attracted to the Time for Lime bungalows because of the great work they do for animals on the island in need, and we were also signed up for Time for Lime's cooking class (which we totally loved). We stayed here 4 nights during our honeymoon, and had we not pre-paid for our bungalow, we would have left after the first night.

The things we liked: cats hanging around the bungalow, air-con worked well, the location was towards the quieter end of the beach away from the more-swim-able parts of the beach, the staff (while a little spacey) were helpful, the landscaping around Time for Lime was very nicely done, the bar (when it was open) had nice cocktails and cheap beer, breakfast offerings were nice, but similar to what you would find if you were in a hostel (instant coffee, fruit, bread and jam, cereal, hard-boiled eggs), and the airport transfers were reasonable.

The things we didn't like: bed and bedding were dreadful--one sheet and two rock-solid pillows on a limp mattress; I understand the island doesn't have the best plumbing, but the shower had poor/no water pressure and no curtain/containment within the bathroom (think showering on a boat); the room didn't have a safe; while we knew about the roadway behind the bungalows, the motorbikes at all hours of the day were louder than expected; you can sit on the bungalow porch, but the red stain on the wood also stained our clothes while we were sitting; the location was on the quieter end of the beach, but it was very rocky so you had to walk a bit down the beach if you wanted to swim.

So, I am conflicted. I wouldn't stay here again, and I couldn't in good faith recommend the sleeping accommodations to many friends of mine, but the animal welfare efforts Time for Lime support are very near and dear to my heart. The TFL website is clear about a lot of the issues we didn't enjoy here, and in retrospect, I should have been more realistic rather than optimistic about those warnings. I'd wholeheartedly recommend taking the cooking class at Time for Lime and sending donations for the work they do.

Room Tip: Request a bungalow with A/C. Rooms closer to the beach are further from the barking dogs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LindseyRShaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
foodiefreak, Owner at Time For Lime Bungalows, responded to this reviewResponded June 27, 2014

Dear Lindsey,
Thank you for your good intentions for staying at our bungalows at Time for Lime.
Our bar is open from 3pm until late every day except Sundays when we are closed, which we do inform both on our web-site and also in the many, many e-mails we had with you in advance of your stay.
It’s a shame you didn’t like the interior of our bungalows, it clearly states on our website (as you mention) what we offer. If you would have let us know your concerns in advance, with the many e-mails, or when you were with us and we would have done our upmost to help.
If you want a higher standard, you do have to pay for it…
By the way, with normal tide the beach in front is great to swim in. If very low tide (depending on the time of year and the moon) yes there are some rocks. A few minutes away there is a rock free zone.
Dogs do bark sometimes. So sorry about that. But on the whole our rescue dogs are VERY well behaved, as 99% of our guests very happy about.
I am very pleased you enjoyed our cooking school, and hope you will be cooking up some great Thai food at home!

Kind regards
From Junie the owner, the rest of the Time For Lime team, and the animals you help to support by visiting us.

PS. To future guests: If you would like to stay with us, you will have to book directly through our web-site, as we do NOT want pay an extra fee to other online booking hotel web-sites to book for us. You can find easily our prices and book via our web site so max money goes to the charity Lanta Animal Welfare.
• Our Bungalows with Air-Con, will be closed for renovation from July to mid September 2014. We will have some Fan rooms available in this time
• Green Season Discounts still applies from May 1 - October 1: Stay 3 nights get 4th night free.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (143)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

55 - 61 of 143 reviews

Reviewed March 24, 2014

Junie Kovacs came here 11 years ago and after seeing the plight of the animals on Ko Lanta, decided to stay. She created and runs Lanta Animal Welfare (LAW) which exists solely through the generous help of volunteer workers, donations and profits from the Time for Lime cooking school and restaurant. Thanks to LAW, 80% of the cats and dogs on Koh Lanta (over 6,000) have been vaccinated and sterilized. We are staying in one of Time for Lime's nine bungalows. There are 15 - 20 cats on the property, and if guests choose to, they can keep one in their bungalow - litter and litter box provided. After checking in we went on a desperate search to find that "special cat" that would be ours for a-week-and-a-half. We weren't halfway through the brood though, when Tipsy found us. She's a small tabby who stares at us almost full-time and never wants to leave our bungalow. All of the cats are plump and friendly. They roam freely during the day and are kept safe and sound at night in large "cat homes". Their homes are cleaned and scrubbed daily. The cats and dogs that need special care are kept at LAW's shelter located at the next beach. The bungalows at Time for Lime are excellent, the food is great and breakfast is included. Time for Lime isn't just a place to stay - it's a wonderful experience that you'll not soon forget. Do book in advance.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jack-Dru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
foodiefreak, Owner at Time For Lime Bungalows, responded to this reviewResponded June 25, 2014

Dear Jack and Elenka,
Thanks so much for staying at Time for Lime in March, it really was lovely to have you both here. Also it was great that you joined on our “Sunday is Fun-day” on Lanta Noi. Where we take 1 group, of our rescue dogs, to have a special Love, care, and run free day! I hope you had an excellent day! Tipsy-cat used to spend a lot of time in the bar, but moved out the back to spend more time with her buddy Wallace, thanks for taking time to play and cuddle with her whilst you were here. I know that all of the cats love staying in guests bungalows to get some extra attention for those who want to give. By the way as you know, Tipsy amongst the other kitties here are all up for adoption. Have a second think ;o)
As you mention our bungalows do get very busy, so during high season it is advisable to make a reservation in advance.
Thanks so much for all your lovely words and please know that you are always welcome back, we do hope to see you both again, as you were very special guests.
Kind regards
From Junie the owner, the rest of the Time For Lime team, and the animals you help to support by visiting us.

PS. To future guests: If you want to stay with us, you will have to book directly through our web-site, as we do NOT want pay an extra fee to other online booking hotel web-sites to book for us. You can find easily our prices and book via our web site so max money goes to the charity Lanta Animal Welfare.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 19, 2014

Stayed in Bungalow A for four nights in November last year on honeymoon. Our stay at Time for Lime was some of the happiest days of our trip. The bungalow was a really good size, really clean and had everything we needed.

The staff are what make this place 5/5 for me. We had a great time drinking mojitos into the early hours with the bar staff.

The location is great on Klong Dao beach with plenty of places to eat and drink nearby. They also have an excellent cooking school which was every baht

Me and hubby can't wait to book again for this year

Room Tip: Only go for bungalow A if you heavy sleeper or wake early. Its the closest to the beach but also clo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gnrchick8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
foodiefreak, Owner at Time For Lime Bungalows, responded to this reviewResponded June 27, 2014

Dear guest,
Thanks for staying at Time for Lime in November and your great review. I am pleased you had such a lovely time with us. Thanks for the kind words regarding the staff, I know they appreciate good feedback, so I will pass that on to them. Hopefully see you again later this year or early next year for more mojitos?

Kind regards
From Junie the owner, the rest of the Time For Lime team, and the animals you help to support by visiting us.

PS. If you want to stay with us, you will have to book directly through our web-site, as we do NOT want pay an extra fee to other online booking hotel web-sites to book for us. You can find easily our prices and book via our web site so max money goes to the charity Lanta Animal Welfare.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 9, 2014

We booked in to the cookery school and decided that we would also try out the bungalows for a couple of nights.

The staff are super friendly and welcoming. We loved staying here so much that we kept extending our stay. Before we knew it 2 days had turned into 8!

Its nice to know that every time you're ordering another (amazing) cocktail you're helping the animal welfare centre. What more could you want?! The animal centre is well worth a visit as well, although I wouldn't recommend walking there in the mid day sun.

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dcs10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
foodiefreak, Owner at Time For Lime Bungalows, responded to this reviewResponded March 27, 2014

Thanks for your kind recommendation. We find that a lot of
people book for a night or two and then just end up not leaving :)
And, yes, walking to the shelter in the middle of the day is most
definitely NOT recommended! A Tuk-Tuk is only about 80 baht and well
worth it.

kind regards from,
Junie the owner, staff, volunteers and all the animals you help to support by visiting us.
Welcome back!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 26, 2014

If you love cats you will especially love your stay here. Ginger Fat, Pong and the beautiful Angel adopted us during our stay and it was very hard to leave. The bungalows are comfortable,ours with a fan and outdoor fridge was perfect. Help yourself breakfast was a bonus as we are always up quite early.
Beach was good with nice friendly restaurants.
Hired a motorbike within minutes of a quick phone call from reception.
Of course we attended the Time for Lime cookery course and thoroughly enjoyed it. Knowing the proceeds of this establishment go to support the Lanta Animal sanctuary (a must visit about 10 minutes drive away) makes it all the more worthwhile.
Only downside was the loud music from a nearby bar of a night which went on to the early hours of a morning - take earplugs!
Ps: The cat facilities, bedding/ food/ toilets are kept spotlessly clean at all times

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Catacus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
foodiefreak, Owner at Time For Lime Bungalows, responded to this reviewResponded March 27, 2014

We're happy to hear that you had some kitty cuddles during
your stay. And did you know it's actually very easy to take one home
with you if there's a particular one you fell in love with?

kind regards from,
Junie the owner, staff, volunteers and all the animals you help to support by visiting us.
Welcome back!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 21, 2014

After 4 months and over 40 stays, Time for Lime is right up there at the top of our favourite places. We stayed here because we had read rave reviews about the cooking course (which was fantastic, but I'll review that in the separate section), but the accommodation far surpassed expectations too. Considering how cheap it was the bungalows were great value for money; the room was very clean and spacious (which we found to be rare in many budget bungalows), the bed was comfy and the air con kept the room cool, the fridge was very handy and the shower good. The balcony has to be the highlight though, many a happy hour was spent lying in that hammock! And having the cats around was wonderful - we looked after Tipsy and we still miss her and Wallis and all the others. The bungalows are a stones throw from the beach, and the Time for Lime restaurant and bar right on the beachfront - and yes the mojitos really are the best we've tasted. The staff are super friendly and the self-serve breakfast really nice. I could go on but in sum: just stay here, its great!

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hannah261
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
foodiefreak, Owner at Time For Lime Bungalows, responded to this reviewResponded February 26, 2014

Thanks so much for your very positive review. It was a pleasure to have you stay with us! You've done a fabulous job of describing what it's like staying at Time for Lime...perhaps we could quote you on our website? I think that your description is better than ours.

kind regards from,
Junie the owner, staff, volunteers and all the animals in distress you help to support by visiting us.
Welcome back!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 13, 2014

I decided to stay here after looking into doing the cooking course and wanted to stay here due from the outset due to discovering that funding goes to their animal sanctuary just short drive away (both separate reviews). It was more than basic I'd say especially compared to some accommodation in Thailand I stayed in, and the air con worked a treat! The bungalows were spacious and the added hammock was a bonus, there were also a couple of friendly cats roaming around. The breakfast was a help yourself affair and suited me and eating it whilst looking over the ocean was a nice wake up call. Overall it's a relaxing sort of places to stay and I had no issues with noise or anything else. There was a power cut during my stay but that was due to a big storm, something that couldn't be helped!

Stayed: March 2013, traveled solo
Thank JPJ1988
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ko Lanta hotels
0.7 mi away
Lanta Pearl Beach Resort
Lanta Pearl Beach Resort
#18 of 85 in Ko Lanta
437 reviews
1.8 mi away
Thai House Beach Resort
Thai House Beach Resort
#20 of 85 in Ko Lanta
198 reviews
4 mi away
Lanta A&J Klong Khong Beach
Lanta A&J Klong Khong Beach
#3 of 159 in Ko Lanta
44 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.1 mi away
MOONLIGHT Exotic Bay Resort
0.5 mi away
Lanta Mermaid Boutique House
0.7 mi away
Lanta Smile Resort @Long Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Time For Lime Bungalows? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Time For Lime Bungalows

Address: 72/2 Moo 3 | Saladan, Ko Lanta 81150, Thailand
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Krabi Province > Ko Lanta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 159 B&Bs / Inns in Ko Lanta
Price Range: $22 - $119 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
9 cozy Budget bungalows set in a nice garden, 2 minutes from the beach. Those who enjoy staying here are people who appreciate a small, creative, funky atmosphere, great food & drinks, groovy music and have a heart for animals If you rather prefer top-notch western flush toilets and TV, go elsewhere. By staying here you help support the charity Lanta Animal Welfare. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda so you can book your Time For Lime Bungalows reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Time For Lime Bungalows Hotel Ko Lanta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing