We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We've recommended to all our friends!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Time For Lime Bungalows
Ranked #19 of 159 Ko Lanta B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 9, 2014

We booked in to the cookery school and decided that we would also try out the bungalows for a couple of nights.

The staff are super friendly and welcoming. We loved staying here so much that we kept extending our stay. Before we knew it 2 days had turned into 8!

Its nice to know that every time you're ordering another (amazing) cocktail you're helping the animal welfare centre. What more could you want?! The animal centre is well worth a visit as well, although I wouldn't recommend walking there in the mid day sun.

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dcs10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
foodiefreak, Owner at Time For Lime Bungalows, responded to this reviewResponded March 27, 2014

Thanks for your kind recommendation. We find that a lot of
people book for a night or two and then just end up not leaving :)
And, yes, walking to the shelter in the middle of the day is most
definitely NOT recommended! A Tuk-Tuk is only about 80 baht and well
worth it.

kind regards from,
Junie the owner, staff, volunteers and all the animals you help to support by visiting us.
Welcome back!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (143)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

58 - 64 of 143 reviews

Reviewed February 26, 2014

If you love cats you will especially love your stay here. Ginger Fat, Pong and the beautiful Angel adopted us during our stay and it was very hard to leave. The bungalows are comfortable,ours with a fan and outdoor fridge was perfect. Help yourself breakfast was a bonus as we are always up quite early.
Beach was good with nice friendly restaurants.
Hired a motorbike within minutes of a quick phone call from reception.
Of course we attended the Time for Lime cookery course and thoroughly enjoyed it. Knowing the proceeds of this establishment go to support the Lanta Animal sanctuary (a must visit about 10 minutes drive away) makes it all the more worthwhile.
Only downside was the loud music from a nearby bar of a night which went on to the early hours of a morning - take earplugs!
Ps: The cat facilities, bedding/ food/ toilets are kept spotlessly clean at all times

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Catacus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
foodiefreak, Owner at Time For Lime Bungalows, responded to this reviewResponded March 27, 2014

We're happy to hear that you had some kitty cuddles during
your stay. And did you know it's actually very easy to take one home
with you if there's a particular one you fell in love with?

kind regards from,
Junie the owner, staff, volunteers and all the animals you help to support by visiting us.
Welcome back!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 21, 2014

After 4 months and over 40 stays, Time for Lime is right up there at the top of our favourite places. We stayed here because we had read rave reviews about the cooking course (which was fantastic, but I'll review that in the separate section), but the accommodation far surpassed expectations too. Considering how cheap it was the bungalows were great value for money; the room was very clean and spacious (which we found to be rare in many budget bungalows), the bed was comfy and the air con kept the room cool, the fridge was very handy and the shower good. The balcony has to be the highlight though, many a happy hour was spent lying in that hammock! And having the cats around was wonderful - we looked after Tipsy and we still miss her and Wallis and all the others. The bungalows are a stones throw from the beach, and the Time for Lime restaurant and bar right on the beachfront - and yes the mojitos really are the best we've tasted. The staff are super friendly and the self-serve breakfast really nice. I could go on but in sum: just stay here, its great!

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hannah261
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
foodiefreak, Owner at Time For Lime Bungalows, responded to this reviewResponded February 26, 2014

Thanks so much for your very positive review. It was a pleasure to have you stay with us! You've done a fabulous job of describing what it's like staying at Time for Lime...perhaps we could quote you on our website? I think that your description is better than ours.

kind regards from,
Junie the owner, staff, volunteers and all the animals in distress you help to support by visiting us.
Welcome back!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 13, 2014

I decided to stay here after looking into doing the cooking course and wanted to stay here due from the outset due to discovering that funding goes to their animal sanctuary just short drive away (both separate reviews). It was more than basic I'd say especially compared to some accommodation in Thailand I stayed in, and the air con worked a treat! The bungalows were spacious and the added hammock was a bonus, there were also a couple of friendly cats roaming around. The breakfast was a help yourself affair and suited me and eating it whilst looking over the ocean was a nice wake up call. Overall it's a relaxing sort of places to stay and I had no issues with noise or anything else. There was a power cut during my stay but that was due to a big storm, something that couldn't be helped!

Stayed: March 2013, traveled solo
Thank JPJ1988
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 8, 2014

Time for Lime is a non-profit organisation that supports Lanta Animal Welfare and does great work helping mistreated animals as well as neutering as many as possible I want to be fair so here are the pro's and cons...

Pros
The cookery school is amazing, well organised and always busy,
The food we had there was some of the best we had in Thailand
The ethos is wonderful and many people work there as volunteers
The beach it sits on is gorgeous

Cons
The Bungalows were not in any way comfortable or very clean.
Our mosquito net was covered in bits of Elastoplast to cover the holes.
The only bedding was a sheet and 2 pillows, which for 2 of us was not adequate
There is nowhere to chill out, no gardens etc. They supply a hammock on the tiny balcony of the hut, but that's pretty useless when there's 2 of you!
Directly behind the bungalows is a concrete road that the local fisherman drive up and down to the beach, starting at around 5am. Very loudly

We had booked to stay 2 weeks, but stayed 2 nights. In fairness I believe the website does not accurately portray the reality of the resort.

My conflict is that I think they do a wonderful job for animal welfare on Koh Lanta, But not so good for guests staying there accommodation wise. They want people to adopt animals and bring them home, but that is costly and I'm left wondering if the kind of people who could afford to adopt an animal and take one home, would be able to cope with living in what can only be described as hostel accommodation.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bexiow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
foodiefreak, Owner at Time For Lime Bungalows, responded to this reviewResponded February 16, 2014

Thanks for pointing out the work we do at Lanta Animal Welfare. Sterilizing animals is our #1 priority and we actually do mobile clinics around Thailand to improve the situation for animals all over Thailand. The profits from Time for Lime is the reason that the animal center exists. And actually, adopting an animal is not as expensive as you seem to think and we make absolutely no profit on it, just charging you the actual costs.
We are so happy that you enjoyed both the cooking school and our restaurant food ;o)

We are sorry about your bad experience in the bungalows. We state they are budget bungalows the price and standard is there after.
- Thanks for pointing out about the mosquito net, this will be replaced immediately.
- The bedding has under and over sheet, with 2 pillows, not sure what more is needed, in a tropical country?
- I don't understand your comment: no garden etc. The garden space is 3 times the area as bungalow space. In the garden we have a chill out hut with 4 hammocks that all guests can use besides the one on each bungalow balcony. Picture of the garden on our website, and picture of the bungalow veranda.
We are actually very clear on our website about what staying here is like. Some direct quotes from our site:

"We are near the local fisherman boats and the small road they use to go to work (very early in the morning), which is behind the bungalows. Some guests have no problems with this whatsoever, while other light sleepers do. Please take this into consideration if you would like to book with us, we want you to have a pleasant stay."

"If you prefer top-notch western flush toilets and TV, then this is not the place to be."

kind regards from,
Junie the owner, staff, volunteers and all the animals in distress you help to support by visiting us.
Welcome back!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 6, 2014

It was time for a "getaway" from the big city. I wanted to do a cooking school in Thailand but didn't want it to be a "big production", with a 250 room hotel, with 100 pool lounges perfectly lined up around the pool, lots of planned activities and the associated high prices. Also, I didn't want a surfer's beach. I just wanted to "chill". Well, thanks to "that search engine we all use", I found my little parcel of vacation Heaven. After 14 days at Time For Lime, and getting to know the owner, Junie, and her staff, I find that I have this new family, half way around the world. We laughed a lot, learned a lot, and thanks to Junie & Mai, we cooked up some really great food !!! At night, I had either the A/C or the rotating fan to keep me cool - - and as many as three "TFL" kitties in my bungalow for company.
Magic is at work at TFL. Even guests from other resorts that came for the TFL cooking classes, would stick around till the wee small hours - sampling Varsai's wonderful cocktails, chatting and (if only for that evening) enjoy being part of the family. That's why - "Bungalows and so much more"
When I got home, first order of business, was donating to Lanta Animal Welfare.
There are angels on earth - and usually, they don't even know that they are angels!! They're just too busy taking care of the business at hand, to think about themselves !!! :-)
With love and respect always,
Hank Garfield, Burbank, CA, USA

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HankGarfield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 29, 2014

Staying at Timeforlime made our Thailand stay special. Being greeted in the morning by a cat sitting outside the door waiting and enjoying breakfast with view on the sea - beautiful memories.

Our bungalow was spacious - only minus is the bathroom in Thaistyle which means a wet toilet after each shower. The big plus on the other side is that you support mistreated animals over Koh Lanta.

The stuff is more than friendly and helps out as best as the can - they helped us organizing trips and the transport to the airport!

We also LOVED the food - it is really good. A bit different from the street food but together with the atmosphere in the evening siting at the beach it is a memory that will stick for a long time....

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank StudentenkussHD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
foodiefreak, Owner at Time For Lime Bungalows, responded to this reviewResponded February 16, 2014

We're happy that you enjoyed your stay and thank you for your very positive review. The friendly cats on the balcony are perfect for those who are missing their furry friends from home!

kind regards from,
Junie the owner, staff, volunteers and all the animals in distress you help to support by visiting us.
Welcome back!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ko Lanta hotels
0.7 mi away
Lanta Pearl Beach Resort
Lanta Pearl Beach Resort
#18 of 85 in Ko Lanta
438 reviews
1.8 mi away
Thai House Beach Resort
Thai House Beach Resort
#20 of 85 in Ko Lanta
198 reviews
4 mi away
Lanta A&J Klong Khong Beach
Lanta A&J Klong Khong Beach
#3 of 159 in Ko Lanta
44 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.1 mi away
MOONLIGHT Exotic Bay Resort
0.5 mi away
Lanta Mermaid Boutique House
0.7 mi away
Lanta Smile Resort @Long Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Time For Lime Bungalows? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Time For Lime Bungalows

Address: 72/2 Moo 3 | Saladan, Ko Lanta 81150, Thailand
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Krabi Province > Ko Lanta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 159 B&Bs / Inns in Ko Lanta
Price Range: $25 - $119 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
9 cozy Budget bungalows set in a nice garden, 2 minutes from the beach. Those who enjoy staying here are people who appreciate a small, creative, funky atmosphere, great food & drinks, groovy music and have a heart for animals If you rather prefer top-notch western flush toilets and TV, go elsewhere. By staying here you help support the charity Lanta Animal Welfare. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda so you can book your Time For Lime Bungalows reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Time For Lime Bungalows Hotel Ko Lanta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing