We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Back again”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Time For Lime Bungalows
Ranked #16 of 145 Ko Lanta B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Berlin
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Back again”
Reviewed December 1, 2012

We first visited Koh Lanta in November 2005 and this year we came back for the sixth time. Every time we have stayed at Time for Lime, because we love this place and it feels like coming home!

The bungalows are tastefully decorated, cozy and very clean. They are basically equipped but you have everything that you need: A bed, a shelf where you can hang your clothes, a desk and a refrigerator. The bathroom has a real toilet (with Thai flush) and hot water. You can choose between fan and A/C room. The small porch in front of the bungalow is equipped with a hammock where you can chill out while looking at the beautiful garden or surf the internet which is no problem, thanks to the free Wifi. If you like it you can enjoy the company of one of the rescue cats that live on the grounds.

There are also several rescue dogs that live at Time for Lime but are not let loose on the ground. You see and sometimes hear them when they are taken for a walk and are free to join if you like to. We made it a habit of inviting two of the dogs, Sugar and Red, to our bungalow at night and very much enjoyed having them around.

We very much liked the self-service breakfast. You get up in the morning, stumble over to the bar and help yourself to whatever you like. There is coffee, juice, bread, fresh fruit, yoghurt, boiled eggs, cereals, marmalade and honey. You take whatever you like and enjoy it while looking at the sea.

Mai, the receptionist and cooking class teacher is a great person and very helpful when it comes to booking trips, getting a motorbike or making travel arrangements. Her English is very good and it is fun talking to her.

Time for Lime is located at the very end of Klong Dao beach. This means that you are very close to Saladan town where you can do a lot of shopping.

The beach directly in front of Time for Lime is nice but you can find other beautiful beaches on the island if you rent a motorbike. Just make sure to be back for the sunset because the view from Time for Lime is breathtaking and enjoying one of their yummy cocktails makes it unforgettable!

Time for Lime also has a restaurant where they serve delicious food. And if you want to eat somewhere else just take a walk down the beach where you will find several restaurants.
A lot has been written about the paved road that runs directly behind the bungalows. It is true that you can hear the motorbikes passing by. But even during the first days when we were still pretty jetlagged it did not disturb our night’s sleep.

Having visited Time for Lime six times we have been able to watch the improvements Junie, the owner, has made over the years. It is truly amazing and adorable how much work and effort she has put into the bungalows, the organization of the cooking classes and the restaurant.

When we first visited all the rescue dogs and cats were living on the ground. Now there is the Lanta animal welfare center where all the animals are taken good care of. Make sure you visit it!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank revolvermoni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
foodiefreak, Owner at Time For Lime Bungalows, responded to this review, December 4, 2012
Dear repeating guests. It is always a pleasure to see you again, just like family ;o)
Though your stay always goes so fast!

All of us 2 legged at Time For Lime are thankful for your review and can't wait to see you again.
Sugar & Red says: PLEASE come soon!

PS the Song Kran float was made & launched, and I put a cigarette in it as well, in hope for better non-smoking days for all of us ;o)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

141 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    78
    42
    15
    4
    2
See reviews for
8
76
26
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
38 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed November 19, 2012

An excellent spot. Basic but spotless bungalows, fab bar and a delicious onsite restaurant. Lots of cats to sleep on your doorsteps in the sun, adding to the chilled out feel. Very sustainable and doing their best for the environment and for Lanta, it is a responsible and friendly choice to stay here!

Visit Lanta animal welfare too, of course.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank OfficeFZL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
foodiefreak, Owner at Time For Lime Bungalows, responded to this review, November 22, 2012
Thanks so much for your kind review.
Made all of us at Time For Lime HAPPY ;o)

We hope to see you again.
kind regards,
Junie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 4, 2012

We have stayed almost two weeks at time for lime. We liked it here so we stayed longer than planned. It might not be the cheapest option, considering that the bungalows are basic, but a visit to lanta animal welfare will explain why. All the dogs and cats taken care of at time for lime and the shelter.

You can afford the few extra bath, and the kitties stevie and Leo, which will keep you company when you drink your morning coffee in the hammock, will make it worth it. The dogs at time for lime is also super cozy and friendly :-) The cooking class is really good,and so is the drinks.

If you're there for watersports, lanta paddlesports@slowdown is next door. We where there to catch some waves, and rented SUP boards from there. Also has windsurf and kayaking. Beware that there will be a lot of plastic and garbage on the beach in surf season (tourist low season)

Bungalows are clean, and the moped sound from the road, and manual flush toilet reminds you where you are: Thailand.

Petter

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank petecomplete
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ko Lanta, Thailand
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed October 3, 2012

Depends what you want, but if you want to share your space with friendly cats (and dogs) this is the place for you. Chilled out. Breakfast is kinda all day, basically you get your own. Wifi that works. Food from the menu is to die for and if you like really good food this is the place to get it. Hammocks are comfy - no one cares if the cats want to sleep on your bed all day... cute. I've been here 4 days and hardly left my porch.

Only downside is the road behind the hotel which is busy, but Thai Island busy not Bangkok busy. Maybe the beach isn't the best. But just outside the hotel on the road is a fabulous Thai Massage lady, completely authentic massage, everything gets clicked into place... for 260 baht an hour.

Don't come if you don't like animals. But if you want to chill completely and have loads of cuddles book now.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Queenofwands_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
86 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed August 7, 2012

We absolutely loved it here, came to stay for a couple of nights in June after our (fantastic) cooking class and stayed for 10 days. The rooms are everything you need, with a fan, a fridge, a moz net (and now moz coils!) a desk, shelves and private bathroom. Even get your own hammock on the balcony! One of the best bits was that you got to help yourself to a great choice of breakfast in the morning. They also refill your water bottles for free so do their bit for the environment! It was great having animals around, gave it a really homely feel - would highly recommend!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vicky M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 13, 2012

This was the first place we stayed at, transfers from the airport were taken care of by juni, an amazingly comfortable air-conditioned people carrier at a reasonable price. The rooms were spotless but basic, bed very comfortable and it is right on the beach. The animals share the place with you and they are lovely. The cooking course is definatley worth doing and the food and cocktails are first class. If your on a budget you will do well to find much better. If you want 5* luxury look elsewhere. Highly recommended and the profit goes to helping the neglected animals on koh lanta so it's for a good cause as well. All the staff are fantastic.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Steve2303
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
foodiefreak, Owner at Time For Lime Bungalows, responded to this review, April 17, 2012
Dear valued guest,
So glad that you enjoyed your stay. Welcome back again, with even more lowered prices ;o)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cloncurry, Australia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 27, 2012

Booked for 3 nights, tried to get out after first night.
Beach access right behind rooms gets a pounding from mopeds from 5am till the wee hours after mid night... Paper thin walls it sounds like their coming through your room.

Take mosquito coils/spray cause there everywhere! There was an out break of Dengi fever where 5 volunteers at the animal refuge couldn't help due to contracting it.

You'll need your own beach towel, but I don't recommend the beach out front, there is drain outlets from somewhere real smelly going out to the sea and it runs along the beach..my tip is hire a moped or take a tuk tuk to Koh lanta nice beach resort, the beach is fantastic there.
Moving water, safe to swim and first class in terms of cleanliness and heaps of space... Not like other touristy spots.

The rooms are very basic and in need of some elbow grease, the bench collapsed when we placed our bag on top of it, just be prepared.
Slightly over priced compared to neighbouring nice spots which we moved to after our 3 night stay.

The cooking class was great thou, and I do recommend that experience... The mojito's and margherita's are delicious!

We hope that the owner of the business gets to take sometime off as she appears exhausted and as the face of the business can translate to excited and happy holiday makers as bad customer care.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Katrease M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
foodiefreak, Owner at Time For Lime Bungalows, responded to this review, April 2, 2012
Dear valued guest,
Thank you so much for your time to write this review.
- We are sorry for the road next to the bungalows that the local sea gypsies use to go to work. We cannot do anything about it, they where here first, that's why on our web site we inform about this.
- Sorry that the owner (me) seems exhausted, as I am teaching all the cooking classes as well at the moment. I am training a new teacher, so better times in view in the future ;o)
- We have now provided mosquito coils in every room. There are mosquitos every where on the Island. The animal refuge is 3 km away from our bungalows, and this is where the volunteers stay. Even so, you can catch this anywhere. If you catch Dengi fever, it only takes one regular mosquito to bite and give the virus to another person. Thats why often several people that are staying in the same place will get the fever.
- We provide a beach towel if the customers ask (we are not a 5 star resort, and the prices are there after.
- We are going to lower our prices even more for next season ;o) As we cannot compete with resorts that own the land themselves. Unfortunately we rent, and our contract goes out in 2 years.
-
- We have fixed the bench that collapsed, all other benches where fine.
- So glad to hear that you enjoyed the cooking class ;o) A review on that would be greatly appreciated.
- If you want the recipe of our Mojito and Margarita's, let me know and I'll send them to you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ko Lanta hotels
1.1 mi away
Twin Lotus Resort & Spa
Twin Lotus Resort & Spa
#6 of 84 in Ko Lanta
726 reviews
0.9 mi away
Royal Lanta Resort and Spa
Royal Lanta Resort and Spa
#33 of 84 in Ko Lanta
347 reviews
1.0 mi away
Layana Resort and Spa
Layana Resort and Spa
#1 of 84 in Ko Lanta
1,432 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Long Beach Chalet
Long Beach Chalet
#7 of 84 in Ko Lanta
544 reviews
0.5 mi away
Lanta Sand Resort and Spa
Lanta Sand Resort and Spa
#21 of 84 in Ko Lanta
398 reviews
0.7 mi away
Lanta Pearl Beach Resort
Lanta Pearl Beach Resort
#17 of 84 in Ko Lanta
424 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Time For Lime Bungalows? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Time For Lime Bungalows

Property: Time For Lime Bungalows
Address: 72/2 Moo 3 | Saladan, Ko Lanta 81150, Thailand
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Krabi Province > Ko Lanta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 145 B&Bs / Inns in Ko Lanta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
9 cozy Budget bungalows set in a nice garden, 2 minutes from the beach. Those who enjoy staying here are people who appreciate a small, creative, funky atmosphere, great food & drinks, groovy music and have a heart for animals If you rather prefer top-notch western flush toilets and TV, go elsewhere. By staying here you help support the charity Lanta Animal Welfare. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda so you can book your Time For Lime Bungalows reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Time For Lime Bungalows Hotel Ko Lanta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing