We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome hotel”
Review of Lanta Thip House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Lanta Thip House
Ranked #4 of 145 Ko Lanta B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Bangkok, Thailand
1 review
“Awesome hotel”
Reviewed December 22, 2013

I have been in Lanta every year and i stay at Lanta Thip House everytime too, because it's nice room cleaned service and for restaurant it's so good too. I love this place :) and for the staff, we service very soft and polite, give me some advice and many thing bla bla bla

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chawinthapong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

184 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    138
    33
    10
    2
    1
See reviews for
3
103
24
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 28, 2013 via mobile

This hotel isn't on the beach (most on Koh Lanta are) and it's a 2-3 minute ride or a 15 minute walk to the beach. We could probably have found this out before we arrived, but it wasn't obvious from trip advisor or other websites. But it is an excellent place to stay - lovely clean room, excellent service. The room had a fridge, air con, small balcony, big bed and private bathroom. Motorbike hire and tour arrangements were easy and pleasant with the staff. Best of all, because it wasn't on the beach, we explored every other beach on the island and found some beautiful places, restaurants and bars that we might not have sought out if we'd had a beach on our doorstep.

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Snooziesuzie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gothenburg, Sweden
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed November 8, 2013

I have been in Lantha for many years in november. I find his place 3 years ago and now i stay here everytime i visit Lantha.

Thip house is a family hotel with very kind stuff. They tace care of you like a family member.

Thip House has very clean room and it is very Clean all over the Place.

It is very quiet Place so if you want to sleep good Thip House is the best for you.

The bed is Amazing. Not soft not hard it is perfect for your body. Aircon works without noice.

The area around ThipHouse is not noicy and no chicken screem in the middle of the night.

You can easy walk to the nearest beach with restaurants, swimming and party at night time.

If you don´t want to walk you can rent a motorbike at ThipHouse and drive where ever you want.

In KohLantha many people rent a motorbike b in ecause it is a lot to see so you never feel stucked there you live just jump on your bike and drive.

TipHouse have the perfect distination, in the middle of Lantha not far from anything.

The restaurang offer you helthy smoothies, pure juice and of course coffe and tea.

I give the best recommendation for this place and hope you enjoy your stay there.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sabina J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 17, 2013

I stay in this place once or twice a year, it's nice place that clean, comfortable and friendly staff. I return to this place as much as i can and it cheap when compare with quality. Finally, I just say "try it" if you want to travel in Lanta.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chartaiem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Germany
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 26, 2013

he guesthouse is like a hotel. indeed a value for money! very clean and the veranda view was spectacular! plus, thip was such a nice lady, very accommodating and offered us personalized service.They offer discounted moped rental for guests and an amazing breakfast at low price

Room Tip: room bitwin quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fyguw1239
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada, United States
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed March 25, 2013

First, let me say this is indeed the cleanest place I hace stayed in the 6 weeks I have been traveling Thailand. From Chiang Mai, to Koh Tao, to Koh Phangan and more. The property is very well-kempt and that is a major plus.

As mentioned in the other reviews, the owner is a delightful woman who is very considerate and kind. She is here to help and you get a great, honest feeling from her. She certainly cares about you and your experience. The staff is equally kind. I had a lot of expensive stuff in my room (computer, camera gear and so on) and I felt very comfortable leaving it behind on my day trips.

The room I have is not amazing, but for the price, its perfect. Its clean and fully functional. The location of the property is not bad, not great. Its sort of centered on the island, but is not really right next to anything per se. This means a 5 min scooter ride to get to anything relevant. While this is not bad, it means you are 5 minutes from just about anything. It just is what it is. Its not right on the beach but there is beach access about a 1 minute scooter ride away. Very close.

Wi-fi - the speeds are all over the place. Basically 1-3mbps down / .25-.75 up. Pretty slow by "high-speed" standards. I was able to get better speeds in most restaurants. But, it was good enough to stream a late night movie (barely) if you want to, but not fast enough on the upload to Skype your family back home.

I would recommend this place for sure. I give it 5 stars based on its price to quality ratio. You really can't go wrong. Truly delightful staff. A proper and clean room with very efficient A/C and a refrigerator. In the center of the island so nothing is really too far. For around $30 a night, you just can't beat it. She even rents scooters right here. Just take a tuk tuk or taxi here when you arrive at the pier and rent a bike when you arrive at the hotel. Her bike rentals are easy and scam free. All-in-all, a great stay!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RichardPryde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed March 24, 2013

This has been mentioned numerous times previously but be aware that the location isn't great, particularly if, like us, you don't ride motorbikes. To Long Beach or Klong Nin you're looking at roughly 60 baht each way and to Saladan Pier, 100 baht. So, it's a good idea to factor this in (or bike rental at roughly 200 baht for 24 hours) when you're considering where to stay.

Other than location, I can't really fault the place at all. All the family are very friendly and helpful, the breakfasts are delicious (you have to pay extra) and the rooms are clean and spacious. Also, there was a CD on loop the whole time we were there (a random selection of popular songs done Bossa Nova style) that put me in a happy trance.

If you walk around 15 minutes north along the main road, there is a great little restaurant right beside the 7 Eleven (the best Thai food we had on our whole trip). The family who run it are the nicest people on the planet! Considering that everyone on Lanta is extremely friendly, that's a high accolade!

If you're comfortable on a bike and/or happy to pay for tuk tuks, I'd recommend Thip House as an excellent option. Otherwise, I'd look elsewhere.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Wayne-Dani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ko Lanta hotels
3.0 mi away
Long Beach Chalet
Long Beach Chalet
#7 of 84 in Ko Lanta
544 reviews
3.2 mi away
Layana Resort and Spa
Layana Resort and Spa
#1 of 84 in Ko Lanta
1,432 reviews
1.6 mi away
Chaw Ka Cher Tropicana Lanta Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Coco Lanta Resort
Coco Lanta Resort
#4 of 210 in Ko Lanta
367 reviews
5.7 mi away
Crown Lanta Resort & Spa
Crown Lanta Resort & Spa
#11 of 84 in Ko Lanta
1,368 reviews
5.4 mi away
Pimalai Resort and Spa
Pimalai Resort and Spa
#2 of 84 in Ko Lanta
2,049 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lanta Thip House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lanta Thip House

Property: Lanta Thip House
Address: 361 Moo 2 Klong Khong Beach | Saladan, Ko Lanta 81150, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Krabi Province > Ko Lanta
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 145 B&Bs / Inns in Ko Lanta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Lanta Thip House 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We wish you a warm welcome! Thip House is a boutique guesthouse nicely situated in a quiet area of Klong Khong and only a 5 minutes' walk from Klong Khong Beach, well-known for its relaxed vibe and beautiful sunsets. Read More We are ideally located for those who want to explore the island on a motorbike as it's only a 10 minutes' drive to Koh Lanta's northern or southern beaches. We also offer our guests the possibility to book various tours and activities so as to discover the pristine beauty of Koh Lanta and its surroundings. Thip House has a restaurant, where chef Oum prepares delicious Thai and Western dishes, and where we serve a good breakfast and fresh coffee in a comfortable and homely environment. At Thip House, we make sure our guests feel welcome at all times, offering them a home away from home and a genuine feeling of hospitality, while ensuring them the best of comfort in our modern and well-equipped rooms. See you soon and we hope you will have an enjoyable stay at Lanta Thip House! " Come as a guest, leave as a friend! " ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Agoda, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, HostelWorld, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Lanta Thip House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing