We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mook Lanta is great!!”
Review of Mook Lanta Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Mook Lanta Resort
Ranked #16 of 84 Hotels in Ko Lanta
Certificate of Excellence
Bangkok
2 reviews
“Mook Lanta is great!!”
Reviewed January 6, 2009

We stayed at Mook Lanta for 4 days over Christmas. The location is good, at the end of long beach. The price was high, but that was normal for highseason. The staff is very very very friendly! The owner even gave us a ride into one of the other towns on one day and to a fish-seller on another day, so kind! The women that work in the restaurant are wonderful and friendly. Their english is a work in process, but they are very eager to help however they can. The room was nice, a clean brick room with an outside bathroom (which was fun!). The brick aircon rooms come in two attached units, which didn't bother us at all bc no one was staying in the adjoining room.The only thing that was bad was the bar on the beach. I don't think it is owned by Mook Lanta but it is very close and we spent two nights unable to sleep because of the loud loud music pumping all night long. It's a shame that this bar is there ruining what would have otherwise been an absolutely perfect stay on Ko Lanta.

  • Stayed December 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ShazBKK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

445 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    236
    127
    44
    24
    14
See reviews for
40
235
52
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Geelong
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed December 11, 2008

My boyfriend emailed Tom at Mook Lanta to organise our 4 night stay in a Bungalow Fan room (for 800 baht p/n incl breakfast). The room was cozy, had a mosquito net and private bathroom. Our room was close to building works but we were made aware of this on arrival and Tom offered to move us if it was too noisy, it was fine. We were so happy with how welcoming and sweet the staff were, they didn't impose at all but made sure we had everything a water bottle, tickets ready for the local Muay Thai boxing and even offered to let us watch the cooks prepare our thai meal, brilliant by the way! We really look forward to returning and to see the pool finished : )

  • Liked — Staff
  • Disliked — Mattress
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank CBB22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nanaimo, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed April 20, 2008

If you are coming to Thailand you should see the islands! Mook Lanta was a very basic, clean, friendly resort. The rooms were not fancy, but very clean and comfortable with much appreciated a/c. Very hard beds, but we found that generally the norm throughout Thailand. Not right on the beach, but a short walk down a path puts you at the end of long beach. Great swimming! Tons of restaurants and bars within walking distance. We also rented a scooter from the resort to tour around the island. They arranged a cooking class for me through Lanta Thai Cooking School which was fantastic!

  • Liked — great value property, loved the outdoor shower!
  • Disliked — hard bed
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank froggnik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
2 reviews
Reviewed April 4, 2008

My boyfriend and I spend 4 days at Mook Lanta resort, we just loved it. We had one of the newly refurbished bungalow, we paid 24 pounds/ night. the bungalow had air con and TV. It was clean and very modern and plaisant. The staff and management were so friendly, helpful and professional. There are no bungalows with sea view, but It takes only 3 minutes walk to go to the beach. We traveled a bit around West Thailand and to us that was the best hotel. We will go back!!!!

  • Liked — the bungalows and the staff
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Fairouz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
england
1 review
Reviewed March 17, 2008

My boyfriend and I stayed at Mook Lanta and loved it. The bungalows are really nice and the outside bathroom is very cool. The whole place was very clean. The bed is extremely hard but we were nicely surprised that we slept soooo well every night. The owner was very friendly and the whole place was really chilled out. We would reccommend this place.

Stayed February 2008
Helpful?
Thank actionfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham
2 reviews
Reviewed March 16, 2008

We choose this hotel because we wanted something original and rustic!
The rooms are unique, fairly basic but have all that you need. We adored the outstide bathroom which was great having a shower under the stars.
There was no buffet for breakfast but they served you a plate of what they called american breakfast which was bacon, omellete and toast which is everything that you need to get you started for the day. If you want luxury and pampering then don't stay here but if you want to feel like you are in natural thailand then this is the place for you.
Its a small 2 min walk to the beach were there is a little bar which serves lovely cocktails. There is also a massage place on the beach were you can have massages whilst watching the sun set.
It close enough to walk to some restaurant and bars that serve lovely food and cocktails.

  • Stayed February 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank katelthompson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 6 Contributor
197 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 143 helpful votes
Reviewed February 23, 2008

Booked via email last minute and had pick of rooms as season seemed to be slow.

Beautiful all wooded stilted bunglaw only finished just before Christmas '07. Awfully hard bed, but all in all it was a very romantic room!
We choose a aircon room but the new fan rooms looked great as well for those with a tighter budget.

As others have said not on the beach, but very very few resorts on Ko Lanta really are. Couple of min walk to beach, but you really need to walk to all the other end to be on the beach where there is a bit going on!

Do take a visit up the road as this is where the best bars and restaurants are. The best was the jamacian bar, you can not miss it it is always packed! They have some fabulous food including BBQ'd chicken and Barracuda, You must also try the garlic Rice.

We hired bikes from Mook Lanta which were fine - this is a real must as there is so much to see and do.

I would recommend Mook as a good, reliable pretty resort to explore the rest of the Island from.

Slightly annoying you had to pay for internet.
I would highly advise not eating in the restaurant, no one in there for the whole of our stay, no view, over priced food.

We also decided to go and pay for breakfast shunning the very simple free breakfast. We choose to pay £2 each for huge freshly made musili pancakes topped with tropical fruit and yogurt plus a couple of freshly squeezed juices or shakes. (Coffee Asylum, plus free WiFi!)

  • Liked — Beautiful bungalows, good service, good location, good value
  • Disliked — resataurant, free breakfast, poor beach location,
  • Stayed January 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Charliet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ko Lanta hotels
0.8 mi away
Long Beach Chalet
Long Beach Chalet
#7 of 84 in Ko Lanta
550 reviews
1.3 mi away
Lanta Pearl Beach Resort
Lanta Pearl Beach Resort
#17 of 84 in Ko Lanta
425 reviews
1.0 mi away
Layana Resort and Spa
Layana Resort and Spa
#1 of 84 in Ko Lanta
1,444 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Twin Bay Resort
Twin Bay Resort
#18 of 84 in Ko Lanta
507 reviews
3.5 mi away
Crown Lanta Resort & Spa
Crown Lanta Resort & Spa
#10 of 84 in Ko Lanta
1,388 reviews
4.5 mi away
SriLanta Resort
SriLanta Resort
#23 of 84 in Ko Lanta
1,016 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mook Lanta Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mook Lanta Resort

Property: Mook Lanta Resort
Address: 343 Moo 2, Pra-Ae (Long Beach) | Saladan, Ko Lanta 81150, Thailand
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Krabi Province > Ko Lanta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Ko Lanta
#13 On the Beach Hotel in Ko Lanta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Mook Lanta Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mook Lanta Eco Resort, offers beautiuful Thai style bungalows in a picturesque secluded gardens. Located on the most popular beach of Phra Ae (Long Beach) we are close to all that Koh Lanta has to offer. Our bungalows range from large family air conditioned bungalows through to inexpensive fan Bungalows. We have Free Wifi throughout the resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mook Lanta Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mook Lanta Boutique Resort And Spa
Mook Lanta Boutique Hotel Ko Lanta
Mook Lanta Boutique Ko

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing