We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Sayang Beach Bungalows
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Lanta Resort(Ko Lanta)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Funky Fish(Ko Lanta)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Holiday Villa(Ko Lanta)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (229)
Filter reviews
229 results
Traveler rating
100
94
22
7
6
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
100
94
22
7
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsluxury villaair conrelaxed vibethe north endthe hotel's restauranta wonderful place to staykoh phi phiprivate transfertuk tukbreakfast is servedfresh seafoodmassage placesmini martthai dishessuperior roomsaladan pierbars and restaurants
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
76 - 81 of 229 reviews
Reviewed December 26, 2013

Located at the better end of the Ao Phra (Long Beach), just 3 km from Saladan town. Even though this is not a luxyry hotel, it was the best place we stayed at during our vacation (we stayed in 4 different places, all the others were more expensive than Sayang).

The most important plus points from our point of view:
- Location at the beautiful and peaceful beach, very good to swim
- Nice and helpful staff
- Very clean and well kept hotel area and bungalows
- Good beds, aircon worked well, silent hotel (no alcohol served) -> good sleeping quality
- Good breakfast and food in the hotel restaurant at the beach.

We have no minus points to report. But if you are looking for luxury or night life, this hotel or the Long Beach is most likely not your place to be.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tiina P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 7, 2013

A nice location where the bungalows were simple but clean. Very close to the beach with loungers, however just be aware that this is a dry hotel - that said there is a bar next door (Thai Cat) that has good food and very friendly staff.
The service that went the extra mile was that one of our group left their phone charger in the room. Unbeknown to us that point but one of the staff travelled from the hotel to the port, searched for us and found us as we were sat on the ferry to give us the charger. Outstanding service.

Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
Thank Neil P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2013

Stayed here for 3 nights in 2 different garden air con bungalows. They are dated but nice enough and clean. The hotel staff will help you with what you need but aren't the smiliest or happiest people. The location on Long beach is great. We only ordered appetizers from the hotel restaurant but they were delicious and the rest of the menu looked great too, breakfast is nothing special but there should be something for everyone to sustain them for the morning. The Country Bar next door is a perfect laid back place to spend the evenings and watch the sunset. There are seats in the sand and in the bar area and they have fire-dancer shows most night which are great.

Room Tip: If you go to bed early I would recommend a bungalow towards the back so you don't hear the bar music. None really have a full on beach view so don't spend more for that, the garden once are nice as it is and steps from the beach.
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NickTessa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 19, 2013

We stayed here for just under a week, in a clean, though somewhat dated room (bamboo thatched walls, smelled a bit stale from the AC), with a nice clean functioning bathroom.
All rooms have a garden view except the beach villa (only 1 of those), and are split into broadly 2 groups: the newly renovated ones, and those which are a bit dated (we stayed in the latter and it was fine, but less so given the price). Booked via their website, with a price per night just around 2,000 THB. Breakfast was included, though it's western fare and sits in a buffet style setup from 7 to 10. Be sure to order fresh food if you come towards the end. The restaurant in the evening is good, though pricy compared with all other alternatives we saw on the beach and in saladan.

The resort is right on long beach, about 7-10min drive from Saladan main town (where boats arrive). Having been around the island on a motorbike we hired from the resort (300 THB per day which is also relatively expensive for Lanta), long beach is definitely one of the best beaches: good swimming depth, clean, scenic, with excellent facilities /food places etc..

All in all, it's a good place, albeit on the pricy side of things (rooms, food, bike rental all at the top end of price ranges). A

fter the first evening with dinner at the resort and breakfast the following day, we chose to eat our meals elsewhere for the remainder of the week. We mainly hung out at "somewhere else", a close by family-run operation on the beach. Looking at their upper end rooms with aircon, we would stay there if coming back to Lanta - as it's much better value.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alex P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 9, 2013

This property is known as the Sayang Beach Bungalows or Sayang Beach Resort.It is situated at the north end of Long beach(Had Phra Ae)and is 7 minutes by car from Saladan pier,where the ferry drops you off.It is owned and run by a family of muslim Thais and has been operational for about 12 years.We stayed there 3 years ago and had a nice time so decided to return.
The chalets/bungalows are difficult to market as the description for all of them(excluding the Beach Front house which is unique on the property) all sound similar plus the fact there are 4 websites which have morphed over the years as renovations have been made and the chalets re classified.ALL the chalets have garden view,although there are only 4 rooms which are actually called 'garden view',and 3 years ago these were called 'superior'.The pictures on the website of the deluxe rooms are correct,as we found them in mid February 2013.
The pictures of the superior rooms show various designs,wallpapered walls,wooden walls,2 styles of bed,but none of the pictures of superior rooms show the bathroom.
We booked a 'superior' through their website,and were re-assured when we received an email from the reservation agent saying"the villa is new renovated so its very nice new room.".We paid up front 3 months in advance.It took 4 tries for the website to accept my credit card and I was not really thrilled to see that 3.7% is added on as a credit card admin fee!!
So we ended up paying 2198TB per room per night despite an early bird reduction.This included breakfast.
We arranged to be met off the ferry from Ao Nang(2.5 hours 450TB one way)and given a free transfer to the SBR.The staff member was there at the exit to the pier clearly visible with a sign (it is a bit hectic as there are hundreds of people disembarking.)
On arrival we were shown to a 'superior' room but not of the standard we were expecting.The room was dark with an overall claustrophobic feel,an impression of wall to wall wood or mdf,a small window and tiny window panels at the side of the door,and a solid wooden door which when closed made the room even darker!The double bed was just about standard and seemed small compared to the king size bed we had left in our last hotel.I could not see us spending 5 nights there and enjoying it.We spoke to reception about this and waited for 2 more hours for us to see a 'delux' room;this had the same facilities,but the walls were lined with bamboo matting(nice) the bed looked bigger(a sorta 4-poster job with mosquito netting wound round the top,and most important were the glass panels in the door as well as at the side of the door,plus 2 windows, making the room lighter.We were happy to accept this change.
The ceiling was high,there was a small 2 seater settee and table in the room,as well as a wardrobe,coffee:tea making facilities,fridge,airconditioning on the wall above the bed,and an attached bathroom which is at a lower level that the room(careful at night if you want to use the loo!!)The shower had warm water but not much water pressure but the water drained into a separate level from the toilet and basin.Toiletries were supplied.
There is no safe in the room.Valuables can be left in the main safe of the property.There is no hairdryer or iron.There is also a TV and we found 2 English language stations.There is electricity 24 hours a day,except our day off arrival when it was off till 6p.m. for some reason.
Attached to all of the chalets are verandas, on which there is garden furniture.Plastic chairs for the superior rooms,(10?, of these)wicker chairs for the deluxe rooms(7 rooms),wooden chaises- longues for the luxury villas.The 4 garden view rooms,(known as Rim Lai 1,2,3,and4,which were the original rooms when the resort opened have a double terrace with day bed+ 2 chairs and a table.3 years ago they used to also have hammocks which were fun.This year I noticed there were only hammocks in the terrace in front of the beach front House.
We were not disturbed by insects in the room.There is a tap by the front steps to wash your feet of sand when entering,and the rooms were cleaned daily and there were voile and cream satin type curtains for privacy.All rooms are within easy reach of the beach which adjoins the property.
The gardens are well maintained and there are beds and deck chairs available to use on the beach or in the garden;there is quite a lot of shade from established trees if you need it.
The reception and breakfast room are open sided.

The restaurant which is open all day and evening and is situated by, and on, the actual beach. A super setting to watch the sun go down,and reasonably priced food.We tried a couple of other places but quite frankly we preferred our restaurant.
The menu itself could be improved by having pictures of the dishes.
The majority of the waiting staff did not speak English,obviously had had no formal training and didn't know what the dishes were.One evening we worked through 4 different waiters just to get a description of 2 different salads which sounded the same.Some in house training would be useful I feel.They were smiling and pleasant...but ineffective if there was any question.

This year, the owners have decided not to serve alcohol,and the bar on their property was being run by some other people.So you had 2 biils;one for food and non-alcoholic drinks,and another for the alcoholic drinks.It was not a major problem and there seemed to be all sorts of cocktails being served as well as axe pillows and rugs being put on the beach in front of the bar if you wanted to relax there during the evening.There was some music but this didn't last late,and there was also a fire show which added atmosphere.

The beach was clean,the see safe for swimming in,and a noticeable lack of beach vendors or locals on the beach.
Since 3 years ago, there are now more beach front businesses,restaurants,coffee places and these are lit up at night which makes a very pretty scene if you walk along the beach at night;it seemed safe to do so,and a torch might be handy.
The resort is suitable for families,and seems to have quite a repeat business of various nationalities.We were surprised how many families travelled with babes in arms and pushchairs.
There are towels for use on the beach which can be collected by reception(free)there is now a dive shop in the grounds doing dive and snorkling trips and hiring out masks,flippers etc.It seemed to be doing good business and certainly saved searching elsewhere;the speed boats for the trips came to the seashore and people clambered aboard.
There was free wifi in reception;it didn't reach room B3!!In the evening there were some mosquitoes.
Breakfast included fruit juice,cereals,bread,pastries,fruit and some hot dishes.
The coffee invariably was very strong and over brewed and needed watering down by hot water.
A 5 minute walk up the lane brings you to the main road to Saladan.It cost us 60TB for a tuk tuk for the 7-10 minute ride.There are plenty of tuk tuks available for the return trip.

All in all,we enjoyed our stay;it is ideal for a relaxing holiday and the atmosphere was very pleasant.
Pictures in the menu and glass panels in the doors of the superior rooms would be an advantage.
On departure we were picked up by the ferry agency in an open-sided truck and taken to Saladan pier again for the ferry back to Ao nang.

Room Tip: All rooms have garden view and similar facilities. Delux rooms are lighter and brighter than superior ones.
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank blingpacker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews