We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice beach at Sayang”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Sayang Beach Bungalows
Ranked #24 of 217 Specialty Lodging in Ko Lanta
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 26, 2008

After much intensive searching, we decided on Sayang Beach Bungalows based on website photos and traveler reviews. I must admit that when we first arrived, we were not wholly satisfied with the bungalow. We were given an old superior aircon bungalow ( "old" being the staff's description) and it was, indeed, old and rickety, with the light of day visible through wall and floorboard cracks, an ancient, clogged showerhead, and a building that shook with every step we took. Let me say that I have stayed in many such places during my various travels, and I have no problems with it except that I've never had to pay so much for what is really a very simple bamboo hut. There are other, newer bungalows on the property that are more solid, I m sure, but this was the only one available to us as a family of 4 in need of the bunkbed it contained. (side note: I understand that construction of many new bungalows is in Sayang's master plan.) ANYWAY, we did do some scouting of other establishments on the same beach, but decided to stay at Sayang because of its strengths, and here they are:
1. The beach scene is wonderful. Big, tall, shady trees to lounge under, a volleyball net where we enjoyed watching pick-up games involving staff and guests every afternoon, a massage hut for those so inclined, and a smooth, sandy beach, not rocky even at low tide.
2. Good food at the restaurant. Both the Thai and Indian dishes were excellent. Our children were great fans of all the fruit lassis on the menu and we were spoiled for choice. The restaurant staff were unfailingly friendly and polite, as were the bar staff. The restaurant is a popular one on this beach, serving guests from many different establishments in addition to the bungalows own customers. DOWNSIDE -- service was excruciatingly slow. The first night we seated ourselves a bit late -- 7 p.m. -- and waited almost 2 hours to receive our food. We are ok with beach time , but our hungry kids had a hard time waiting so long for dinner. We worked around that by seating ourselves earlier and sometimes leaving one parent to order dinner and sip a drink while the other parent showered the kids and cleaned up, coming to the table just as the food was served. We also tried other good restaurants on the beach.
3. Breakfast buffet good. I have read other reviews that complained about the buffet, but we always turned up right as the food was being served and were always satisfied. I don t know what it s like for later risers, but there was a lot of good fresh fruit, yogurt, muesli, different styles of eggs, toast, muffins, pancakes, french toast, and several Thai dishes such as fried rice and noodles. Fruit juices, tea, coffee, and milk were also included. No complaints about that.
4. Great place for families -- we met many other families staying here, with children of all sorts of ages, ranging from babies up to early teens. Our children really enjoyed the atmosphere here and made many new friends from all over the world.
5. Clean bungalows: despite its shortcomings, our bungalow was kept very clean, with clean sheets and towels every day, by the very friendly and hardworking housekeeping staff. They promptly installed mosquito nets on the bunkbed when asked to do so, and just generally did a very good, efficient job.
One last point -- like most establishments, Sayang Beach Bungalows will book whatever services or excursions you wish to take part in right from their reception desk, but after some shopping around, we found their prices a bit expensive. For example, they were charging 1500 baht per person for a day trip to Koh Rok, but we found an agent in town who sold it to us for 1250 baht per person. For a family of 4 it meant a significant savings and was worth the trip to town. Another example was that their charge for laundry was 90 baht per kilo whereas on the road into town there were places advertising laundry service for 30 baht per kilo. Of course there is the CONVENIENCE factor, so we went ahead and paid the 90 baht, but if you are going into town anyway, it is something you might consider. Overall, despite some negative aspects, we were very satisfied with our stay at Sayang bungalows and recommend it as a good place to stay on Phra Ae beach, especially for families.

  • Stayed: March 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank expat_in_Japan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (210)
There are newer reviews for Sayang Beach Bungalows
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

114 - 120 of 210 reviews

Reviewed April 29, 2008

After a very long 3 weeks in a very noisy Vietnam, we had booked a few days in Ko Lanta to relax on the beach. We definitely made the right decision. We took a 2 hour boat from Railay Beach in the early morning and upon arriving at the dock took a 5 min motorbike-taxi down the coast to Sayang Beach Bungalows. You could barely spot the sign on the road and I got scared thinking it would be some run-down dump. But the place is remote for a reason. It's lovingly cared for and the staff are intent on making you feel welcome at all times. The beach was practically deserted most days other than the few other people staying in the bungalows. The staff told us it was low season. The water and sand were warm and clean and the hotel raked the sand each day.

We had a triple room with air-con. It was clean and lovely. They put mothballs in the washroom to kill any bugs that sneak in. We found a cockroach in the washroom one morning but it was already half dead. Yay! The shower was strong and hot.

We ate every meal at the hotel's restaurant because the food was so good. They have an indian and thai menu and everything we ordered was delicious. We especially loved the Roti Rad Na with Chicken. So good! And the fruit shakes were delicious. As mentioned in other reviews, they don't serve alcohol on the menu but there's a little bar attached to the hotel that does and you can just bring your drink back to your table. The breakfast buffet (included) was delicious with eggs, pancakes, bacon, fruit, granola/cereal, yogurt and lots more.

It was mostly couples staying there (a great honeymoon spot). There was a family staying as well. Definitely not a party place but we did get a couple flyers about bar parties going on further south on the island.

We booked a $30 day trip to Ko Phi Phi thru one of the tourist shops on the beach. The hotel offers tours too.

I could have spent another few days on the beach for sure. Highly recommended. Enjoy! And let me know if you have any questions about the place.

  • Stayed: April 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank StepShin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 11, 2008

myself and my partner have just had a fantastic stay at this resort on long beach, friendly, cheap, clean, very good food..i could keep going. Long beach is one of the nicest beaches on lanta.
the fire twirlers at night from the bar are fantastic and even the little fan rooms for 900bht including breakfast are lovely. we were there for 10 days and could have stud 3 weeks no problem!!
We booked through hostel bookers.com and also got all our lifts sorted through lantainfo.com and you can fly pretty cheaply with airasia.com

  • Stayed: March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Paula_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 3, 2008

Stayed here for two nights in fan room (THB 850 a night), the bungalow was a little bit back from the beach but still very close.

The resturant had great food, and the buffet breakfast was decent also.

As the owners are Muslim there is a separate bar, hence the two bills at dinner.

There are volleyball and beach recliners to borrow which are great and you can get a massage on the beach. Fantastic!

Bungalows are nice but a little rundown, note we had no hot water in our shower! The security of the rooms is questionable but we had no problems. The beds are comfy and also include a mosquito net.

This was a nice, simple place to stay and perfect for the price.

Stayed: March 2008
Thank jamesf123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 15, 2008

We stayed at Sayang bungalows for 10 nights in the middle of February 2008. We had a really great time.

The air-con bungalows are nice, fairly spacious, comfortable and very clean. The bathroom - an attached "outdoor" style room at the back is intentionally rustic, but also very clean and absolutely bug free! I think this is achieved by the mothballs that are wedged in the spaces of the clever rock walls that make up part of the bathroom. (the mothballs are a good idea - we live in a very hot/humid climate and I was not aware of how successful this approach is!)

The bungalows also have a lovely front veranda with seating and space to hang up your swimmers and towels etc.

The food at the resort's restaurant is good, the attached "country bar" has a fantastic fire twirler in the evenings and the drinks are long and cold!

You can easily walk up and down the beach to eat and visit the other resorts and restaurants. There is a great espresso bar just a few minutes down the beach, and Mr Wee's pizza is a chill place to grab a simple, quick meal for about $5 for two people including beer.

For the price I believe Sayang is one of the best places to stay - it is also one of the most "tropical" looking - many of the other resorts further down the beach have very few trees or vegetation - and in the hot Thai sun this could make for uncomfortable days and nights especially.

  • Stayed: February 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank blytheswideshut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 1, 2008

My husband and I stayed for 3 nights in a deluxe air con bungalow last month. I cannot recommend Sayang Beach highly enough. From the pickup at the pier through to our sad departure back to the ferry at the end of our stay, it was brilliant. The staff were very very friendly; the bungalow was divine (I saw something on another review about bugs in the bathroom - we didn't see any and the bathroom was probably the best one we used during our 2.5 weeks in Thailand) with a great view down to the beach and the food was great (if the waiter asks you if you want to have your food 'lip tingling' spicy and you say yes, be warned!). The bar next to the beach restaurant is very chilled and a really talented fire dancer performs in the evening. We booked a snorkelling trip to Koh Rok through the bungalows (highly recommended) and hired a motorbike to explore the island - the instructions could have been more detailed as we had never ridden a motorbike before but we managed!

Long Beach itself is great, very relaxed and very spacious considering it was high season. We had tons of space. Lots of daybeds, beach-side massages and manicurists, and a row of beach bars that do great food and drinks and are lit up with fairy lights in the evening. These are mostly tucked into the trees that back the beach but some people might find it a little too commercial and prefer Khlong Khong further south which is more traveller-oriented.

I would love to go back here.

  • Stayed: January 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CloughieLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 16, 2008

We stayed at Sayang Beach Resort bungalows for 3 nights in Dec 2007 and had a really relaxing stay. The staff are extremely obliging and friendly: there are some really nice little touches like being brought a complimentary cold glass of pineapple juice on arrival as you check in, and they were very efficient when it came to organising things like a transfer to our sleeper train departure in Surat Thani. The bungalows are a cut above the usual with nice little traditional Thai touches in the decor and teak flooring: 3 of us stayed in an air-con bungalow and found it clean, quiet and very comfortable. The location towards one end of Long Beach is great - it's fairly quiet but it's just a short stroll along some of the beach's busier bars and restaurants. There's a good breakfast served and the beachfront restaurant is reliable for all the usual Thai standards, although I'd recommend trying some of the nearby restaurants for dinner. Long Beach itself is gorgeous and great for swimming - as the beach drops off quite sharply you can swim easily at low tide as well as high tide - and we spent most of the time lying around in Sayang's beachfront deck chairs and loungers. I'd definitely recommend Sayang Beach if your budget will stretch a little further than backpacker basic.

  • Stayed: November 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Luo_Qing81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ko Lanta hotels
0.4 mi away
Lanta Pearl Beach Resort
Lanta Pearl Beach Resort
#18 of 84 in Ko Lanta
426 reviews
0.1 mi away
Lanta Sand Resort and Spa
Lanta Sand Resort and Spa
#19 of 84 in Ko Lanta
421 reviews
0.9 mi away
Long Beach Chalet
Long Beach Chalet
#6 of 84 in Ko Lanta
563 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Lazy Days Bungalows
Lazy Days Bungalows
#9 of 84 in Ko Lanta
187 reviews
0.7 mi away
Eco Lanta Hideaway Beach Resort
2.9 mi away
Coco Lanta Resort
Coco Lanta Resort
#2 of 217 in Ko Lanta
373 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sayang Beach Bungalows? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sayang Beach Bungalows

Address: 72 Moo 3 Long Beach | Saladan, Ko Lanta 81150, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Krabi Province > Ko Lanta
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 217 Specialty Lodging in Ko Lanta
Price Range: $40 - $86 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Sayang Beach Bungalows 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Escape from your busy life back home: Our 26 carefully designed, cosy bungalows sit within lush tropical gardens, just a few steps from the beautiful powder-white sands of Long Beach, providing a sanctuary of peace and calm. Our Thai-Indian restaurant sits directly on the beach with fantastic views of Phi Phi island and some of the most spectacular sunsets on the Andaman Sea. A perfect setting for those wishing to relax, we also offer beach massage and spa, scuba diving, snorkeling trips, elephant trekking, Thai cooking lessons, mangrove kayaking, game fishing and many other activities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sayang Beach Bungalows reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sayang Beach Bungalows Hotel Ko Lanta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing