We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, comfortable and right on the beach”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Sayang Beach Bungalows
Ranked #21 of 215 Specialty Lodging in Ko Lanta
Certificate of Excellence
Copenahgen
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Clean, comfortable and right on the beach”
Reviewed April 19, 2013

We stayed here for just under a week, in a clean, though somewhat dated room (bamboo thatched walls, smelled a bit stale from the AC), with a nice clean functioning bathroom.
All rooms have a garden view except the beach villa (only 1 of those), and are split into broadly 2 groups: the newly renovated ones, and those which are a bit dated (we stayed in the latter and it was fine, but less so given the price). Booked via their website, with a price per night just around 2,000 THB. Breakfast was included, though it's western fare and sits in a buffet style setup from 7 to 10. Be sure to order fresh food if you come towards the end. The restaurant in the evening is good, though pricy compared with all other alternatives we saw on the beach and in saladan.

The resort is right on long beach, about 7-10min drive from Saladan main town (where boats arrive). Having been around the island on a motorbike we hired from the resort (300 THB per day which is also relatively expensive for Lanta), long beach is definitely one of the best beaches: good swimming depth, clean, scenic, with excellent facilities /food places etc..

All in all, it's a good place, albeit on the pricy side of things (rooms, food, bike rental all at the top end of price ranges). A

fter the first evening with dinner at the resort and breakfast the following day, we chose to eat our meals elsewhere for the remainder of the week. We mainly hung out at "somewhere else", a close by family-run operation on the beach. Looking at their upper end rooms with aircon, we would stay there if coming back to Lanta - as it's much better value.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alex P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

210 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    90
    88
    21
    6
    5
See reviews for
24
131
8
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sousse
Level 5 Contributor
26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed April 9, 2013

This property is known as the Sayang Beach Bungalows or Sayang Beach Resort.It is situated at the north end of Long beach(Had Phra Ae)and is 7 minutes by car from Saladan pier,where the ferry drops you off.It is owned and run by a family of muslim Thais and has been operational for about 12 years.We stayed there 3 years ago and had a nice time so decided to return.
The chalets/bungalows are difficult to market as the description for all of them(excluding the Beach Front house which is unique on the property) all sound similar plus the fact there are 4 websites which have morphed over the years as renovations have been made and the chalets re classified.ALL the chalets have garden view,although there are only 4 rooms which are actually called 'garden view',and 3 years ago these were called 'superior'.The pictures on the website of the deluxe rooms are correct,as we found them in mid February 2013.
The pictures of the superior rooms show various designs,wallpapered walls,wooden walls,2 styles of bed,but none of the pictures of superior rooms show the bathroom.
We booked a 'superior' through their website,and were re-assured when we received an email from the reservation agent saying"the villa is new renovated so its very nice new room.".We paid up front 3 months in advance.It took 4 tries for the website to accept my credit card and I was not really thrilled to see that 3.7% is added on as a credit card admin fee!!
So we ended up paying 2198TB per room per night despite an early bird reduction.This included breakfast.
We arranged to be met off the ferry from Ao Nang(2.5 hours 450TB one way)and given a free transfer to the SBR.The staff member was there at the exit to the pier clearly visible with a sign (it is a bit hectic as there are hundreds of people disembarking.)
On arrival we were shown to a 'superior' room but not of the standard we were expecting.The room was dark with an overall claustrophobic feel,an impression of wall to wall wood or mdf,a small window and tiny window panels at the side of the door,and a solid wooden door which when closed made the room even darker!The double bed was just about standard and seemed small compared to the king size bed we had left in our last hotel.I could not see us spending 5 nights there and enjoying it.We spoke to reception about this and waited for 2 more hours for us to see a 'delux' room;this had the same facilities,but the walls were lined with bamboo matting(nice) the bed looked bigger(a sorta 4-poster job with mosquito netting wound round the top,and most important were the glass panels in the door as well as at the side of the door,plus 2 windows, making the room lighter.We were happy to accept this change.
The ceiling was high,there was a small 2 seater settee and table in the room,as well as a wardrobe,coffee:tea making facilities,fridge,airconditioning on the wall above the bed,and an attached bathroom which is at a lower level that the room(careful at night if you want to use the loo!!)The shower had warm water but not much water pressure but the water drained into a separate level from the toilet and basin.Toiletries were supplied.
There is no safe in the room.Valuables can be left in the main safe of the property.There is no hairdryer or iron.There is also a TV and we found 2 English language stations.There is electricity 24 hours a day,except our day off arrival when it was off till 6p.m. for some reason.
Attached to all of the chalets are verandas, on which there is garden furniture.Plastic chairs for the superior rooms,(10?, of these)wicker chairs for the deluxe rooms(7 rooms),wooden chaises- longues for the luxury villas.The 4 garden view rooms,(known as Rim Lai 1,2,3,and4,which were the original rooms when the resort opened have a double terrace with day bed+ 2 chairs and a table.3 years ago they used to also have hammocks which were fun.This year I noticed there were only hammocks in the terrace in front of the beach front House.
We were not disturbed by insects in the room.There is a tap by the front steps to wash your feet of sand when entering,and the rooms were cleaned daily and there were voile and cream satin type curtains for privacy.All rooms are within easy reach of the beach which adjoins the property.
The gardens are well maintained and there are beds and deck chairs available to use on the beach or in the garden;there is quite a lot of shade from established trees if you need it.
The reception and breakfast room are open sided.

The restaurant which is open all day and evening and is situated by, and on, the actual beach. A super setting to watch the sun go down,and reasonably priced food.We tried a couple of other places but quite frankly we preferred our restaurant.
The menu itself could be improved by having pictures of the dishes.
The majority of the waiting staff did not speak English,obviously had had no formal training and didn't know what the dishes were.One evening we worked through 4 different waiters just to get a description of 2 different salads which sounded the same.Some in house training would be useful I feel.They were smiling and pleasant...but ineffective if there was any question.

This year, the owners have decided not to serve alcohol,and the bar on their property was being run by some other people.So you had 2 biils;one for food and non-alcoholic drinks,and another for the alcoholic drinks.It was not a major problem and there seemed to be all sorts of cocktails being served as well as axe pillows and rugs being put on the beach in front of the bar if you wanted to relax there during the evening.There was some music but this didn't last late,and there was also a fire show which added atmosphere.

The beach was clean,the see safe for swimming in,and a noticeable lack of beach vendors or locals on the beach.
Since 3 years ago, there are now more beach front businesses,restaurants,coffee places and these are lit up at night which makes a very pretty scene if you walk along the beach at night;it seemed safe to do so,and a torch might be handy.
The resort is suitable for families,and seems to have quite a repeat business of various nationalities.We were surprised how many families travelled with babes in arms and pushchairs.
There are towels for use on the beach which can be collected by reception(free)there is now a dive shop in the grounds doing dive and snorkling trips and hiring out masks,flippers etc.It seemed to be doing good business and certainly saved searching elsewhere;the speed boats for the trips came to the seashore and people clambered aboard.
There was free wifi in reception;it didn't reach room B3!!In the evening there were some mosquitoes.
Breakfast included fruit juice,cereals,bread,pastries,fruit and some hot dishes.
The coffee invariably was very strong and over brewed and needed watering down by hot water.
A 5 minute walk up the lane brings you to the main road to Saladan.It cost us 60TB for a tuk tuk for the 7-10 minute ride.There are plenty of tuk tuks available for the return trip.

All in all,we enjoyed our stay;it is ideal for a relaxing holiday and the atmosphere was very pleasant.
Pictures in the menu and glass panels in the doors of the superior rooms would be an advantage.
On departure we were picked up by the ferry agency in an open-sided truck and taken to Saladan pier again for the ferry back to Ao nang.

Room Tip: All rooms have garden view and similar facilities. Delux rooms are lighter and brighter than superi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank blingpacker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 30, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for three nights, the room was clean and cleaned every day. A really chilled atmosphere and very helpful owner Boon. We didn't eat at the restaurant but heard good things. We hired a bike from here which was a great thing to do.

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Nickii G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed March 9, 2013

This resort is absolutely charming, the bungalows are in the middle of the palmtree, flowers and other kind of tree who make you feel in the jungle. You just hear the birds, otherwise very quite. The food is excellent, but the boys who are serving are unexperimented and cross the plates sometimes. The most part of them don't speak english, so they can misunderstand. The bar is very nice, with oriental carpets on the beach, the guys are very funny and offer you both drinks and fireshow. Probably the best entertaining bar on the whole island. The diving club is serious and good organised. You can order some tour by the reception, but avoid the tour to Phi Phi Island with the Petpailin company, they tell you that you will visit both island and a snorkling stop on Bambou island, but it never happend, insteed they let you wait 2 hours for the big boat back to Koh Lanta and tips you to walk to the top of a hill for a nice view ( nobody is that stupid to walk there in this heat! ). We heard many tourist that experienced the same.

Room Tip: Its no big difference between the bungalows, no one is bad situated.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LEM-FMM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 6 Contributor
108 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2013

We stayed in a superior room and throughly enjoyed it. The bungalow is nice with good air con a short walk from the beach. Breakfast had lots of choice. A good location with lots of other restaurants and massage options on the beach next door. Staff were friendly although some didn't speak english.

The restaurant was good and food was nice. Massaman curry was nice however they use big slabs of chicken rather than smaller pieces so it doesn't marinate as well. Mango sticky rice was delicious. Being muslim they don't serve alcohol and you have to get it from the bar next door. A nice bar with a good fire show every night.

Cons: The shower is thai style and wets the whole bathroom floor and was the weakest I have ever had, barely more than a dribble. Wifi is free which is good but too weak to use in the rooms or the restaurant on the beach.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank roger_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed February 18, 2013

Thank you Sayang beach resort for your hospitality and your kindness.
What i liked : the nice big luxury villa very clean, good king size bed (better than Anantara riverside in Bangkok), nice bathroom, good aircon not directly on the bed, fridge, Satellite TV with Dvd player, floor in wood, very nice balcony with 2 big sofa to lie down. The resort is very well decorated, best position on Long beach with shade provided by many trees. Enough space between the bungalows and the villas for the quietness and beautiful gardens arounds.
The food is delicious and not expensive, we ate here every nights. The cocktails are fabulous that you can take on the little bar near the restaurant and then you can take it to your table for dinner. There is a great fireshow every night that is amazing. The people at the bar are very kind and funny, the people from the restaurant are very kind also and very professionals. At the lobby, you can have free wifi, and the people at the reception are very friendly and helpful especially "Asmat" a muslim woman so kind and very professional. She organized us the 4 islands trip + 1 day rent a car + 1 day elephant trekking, caves and walk into the wild jungle to the waterfall + Koh Phi Phi one day trip with private longtail boat.
She organized also very well our dinner for our anniversary wedding with a nice table on the beach. We had a fabulous dinner with prawns, king prawns, lobsters in a good presentation on lovely plates. They even offered me a beautiful bouquet of white Roses. The massages on the beach under a nice sala Thai were brilliants ! My friend had a little problem with his leg and the woman at the reception was very helpful, she called a Tuk Tuk and indicated me a very good doctor nearby.
We can pay the bill in Visa Card, no problem. + good laudry service, cheap.
The beach is very clean and the water is clear with no rocks. I have no bad comments because everything was nice with friendly, helpful and professional staff.
For sure, we will come back next year !

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sam S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed February 17, 2013

We stayed in the luxury villa and were very pleased with it. Clean and close to the reception and breakfast. The staff was helpfull and friendly.
The breakfast is good, but there are alot of flies. The restaurant had avarage tasting food but very good service. There are at least 5 other restaurants within 150 meters. We tried both Thai Cat and Suza hut, which weren't great either. We stayed next to Suza Hut for 3 years ago, and I think the quality of the food has dropped.
The beach is perfect, and there are some good places to snorkel just 100 meters away. I can recommend Dive and Relax, a diving / snorkeling firm which has a office at the hotell.
100 baht to get to Saladan, just 5 minutes away with "tuk-tuk", where there are alot restaurants to choose between.

Room Tip: The luxury villas are build on pillars, which is probably why there aren't so many bugs, ants an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fredrik k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ko Lanta hotels
2.0 mi away
Lazy Days Bungalows
Lazy Days Bungalows
#8 of 84 in Ko Lanta
186 reviews
0.4 mi away
Lanta Pearl Beach Resort
Lanta Pearl Beach Resort
#17 of 84 in Ko Lanta
425 reviews
0.1 mi away
Lanta Sand Resort and Spa
Lanta Sand Resort and Spa
#20 of 84 in Ko Lanta
415 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Long Beach Chalet
Long Beach Chalet
#6 of 84 in Ko Lanta
556 reviews
2.9 mi away
Coco Lanta Resort
Coco Lanta Resort
#3 of 215 in Ko Lanta
371 reviews
0.7 mi away
Eco Lanta Hideaway Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sayang Beach Bungalows? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sayang Beach Bungalows

Property: Sayang Beach Bungalows
Address: 72 Moo 3 Long Beach | Saladan, Ko Lanta 81150, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Krabi Province > Ko Lanta
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 215 Specialty Lodging in Ko Lanta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Sayang Beach Bungalows 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Escape from your busy life back home: Our 26 carefully designed, cosy bungalows sit within lush tropical gardens, just a few steps from the beautiful powder-white sands of Long Beach, providing a sanctuary of peace and calm. Our Thai-Indian restaurant sits directly on the beach with fantastic views of Phi Phi island and some of the most spectacular sunsets on the Andaman Sea. A perfect setting for those wishing to relax, we also offer beach massage and spa, scuba diving, snorkeling trips, elephant trekking, Thai cooking lessons, mangrove kayaking, game fishing and many other activities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sayang Beach Bungalows reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sayang Beach Bungalows Hotel Ko Lanta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing