We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful location - just try to ignore the staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Kantiang Bay View Resort
Ranked #161 of 232 Specialty Lodging in Ko Lanta
Reviewed January 2, 2012

Beautiful location, nice restaurant for a quick lunch, sadly spoilt by some of the poorest customer services we've encountered so far. We seemed to have been very lucky with our room - it was in the new buildings upstairs facing the mountians and so we missed out on the noise of the bar and had a very quiet balcony area (even the air conditioning unit was on the wall downstairs so we couldn't hear that). The room was fair enough for the price. The staff are amazingly bad. No smiles, no friendlieness, no helpfullness, utterly disinterested in interacting with the guests at all (not including the massage staff who were loverly). If you can avoid/ignore them as far as possible it is a beautiful beach to stay at and thankfully there are other bars/restaurants/hotels nearby with staff who will acknowledge you even with a smile while they serve you.

Room Tip: if not desperate for the bungalow experience ask for the new building upstairs facing the mountians
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank l w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (125)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

66 - 72 of 125 reviews

Reviewed December 11, 2011

The service and food is really poor. A local rock band spoils the atmosphere by playing the same songs every night.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sarcha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 11, 2011

We went there upon a recommendation in "Lonely Planet", which states that, while the food may be bad and the staff unhelpful, the bungalows are decent. Well, they are not.

Even at a low price, I expect an accommodation to be clean. The bungalow (no. E2) stank of mold and clearly had not had any fresh air for weeks. This was very much visible in the bath room which, apart from poorest installations (almost no water coming from the sink tap, a plastic shower pipe coming out of the wall in the middle of the room without a hook to attach it to), had mold growing amply on the walls. Also, we had pillows that reeked of mold. The curtains also had black mold on them. Apart from that, everything in the bungalow was in very bad repair. Antediluvian electrical appliances, surface wiring, a broken handle on the wardrobe, a window that was jammed.
I would like to mention that we didn't ask for a different bungalow because we were only staying for two nights and couldn't face the hassle.

At night, no quiet reading, let alone sleep, was to be had before midnight, due to the immense volume of the music coming from the cover band playing in the bar next door.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Patricia M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 3, 2011

We stayed in one of these bamboo huts for one night and it was really fun! I'm not sure I'd want to stay there longer-term, but for short-term it's totally fine. It is very basic (but that's what you're paying for) but was clean and what more could you need apart from a bed, a fan, a bathroom, a hammock (on your porch!), and a beach??
We didn't eat in the restaurant, but we sat there and had a drink later in the evening and it was cool - there was a live band on in the bar who were good too!
If you're not up for basic living, don't stay here (moreover, don't stay here and then complain about it!)!

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Victoria L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 2, 2011

The bar was great and the location was nice too. %That's all the good you can say about this place.
We stayed at the new buildings and the room was awful. The bathroom was like the ones you would expect to see in a prison: you could take a shower while seated on the toilet, I guess you can call that clean. Moreover, the door to the bathroom had a window to the room - that is to say, it was broken. The moment we touched the door the upper half fell to the floor. And the best part were the ants: little things running like crazy in the floor AND in the beds. We had a most enjoying night.
Don't bother paying for the WiFi service: it doesn't even work.
Finally, the staff was the worst we encountered in Thailand. The girl in the reception was less than helpful and the rest of the staff were no better. Don't expect a single smile from them.
At least they had a pair of crazy cats that kept jumping and running through the place, I guess that's something.
To sum up, avoid this dirty hotel managed by very rude staff. We stayed just one night and couldn't wait for morning to get the hell out of there. We found much better accomodation for the same price all over Thailand.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank alcomi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2011

We arrived at Kantiang Bay View Resort to stay in a Double Bed Bungalow with a fan for 600 baht per night. They have rooms for as little as 300 apparently, but based on what we saw for 600 i can only image how bad they must be.

The room looked like it had never been cleaned. The bed linen was falling to bits. The curtains were held up by make shift hooks. The bathroom was mouldy. The shower head hung free (why bother attaching it to anything?). By the door there was a steady stream of hundreds of ants crawling around the electrics box. We tried to use the internet to look for somewhere else to stay - their 'high speed internet connection' - is an ethernet lead with a couple of bits missing, so it doesn't work, but they still tried to charge us for using it.

Got back to the room to find large cockroaches on our stuff. Checked out. Had the pleasure of dealing with the rude staff just trying to ignore us. Eventually got our money back...

Avoid if at all possible!

Room Tip: Rooms at another resort are nicer.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Lucy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 7, 2011

Kantiang has a very good kitchen, nice staf and it is good place too stay.
The bar is very special, very laid back with good music from 60 and 70.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jimmymOslo_Norway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ko Lanta hotels
0.1 mi away
Kantiang Oasis Resort & Spa
1.5 mi away
Bamboo Bay Resort
Bamboo Bay Resort
#54 of 85 in Ko Lanta
100 reviews
0.1 mi away
Baan Laanta Resort & Spa
Baan Laanta Resort & Spa
#44 of 85 in Ko Lanta
227 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.4 mi away
Ocean View Resort
Ocean View Resort
#68 of 85 in Ko Lanta
83 reviews
0.3 mi away
Kantiang View Resort
Kantiang View Resort
#75 of 160 in Ko Lanta
72 reviews
0.1 mi away
Lanta Marine Park View Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kantiang Bay View Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kantiang Bay View Resort

Address: 9 Moo 5 | Koh Lanta Yai, Ko Lanta 81150, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Krabi Province > Ko Lanta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach
Hotel Style:
Ranked #161 of 232 Specialty Lodging in Ko Lanta
Price Range: $40 - $71 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Kantiang Bay View Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Local family own and operated. Located right on one of the most beautiful beaches on Koh Lanta. The most famous Why Not Bar is located on the premise. Beach BBQ seafood available during high season. We open all year round. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Ctrip TA and TripOnline SA so you can book your Kantiang Bay View Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kantiang Bay View Hotel Ko Lanta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing