We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Like our second home !!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ko Lanta
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Fisherman's Cottage
Ranked #11 of 210 Specialty Lodging in Ko Lanta
Certificate of Excellence
Germany
1 review
“Like our second home !!”
Reviewed March 7, 2011

Today is our last night (from 9 nights in total) and we are very sad, that we have to leave tomorrow. We feel like Fisherman Cottage is our second home.

The Staff is very cool and they really take care about you. You are not only a “roomnumber” as you are in other resort or hotels. Here you are a part of a big family. The whole atmosphere in this resort is very special. I cannot really describe it, but it makes you feel like you are at home.

The new-built bungalows look very nice and the bathroom is amazing. Although it’s not a hot water shower, the water is always hot, so that even my girlfriend is very happy with it :-)
The temperature inside the bungalows is very cool (compared to the temperature outside) and in the night you can sleep very well. So you don’t have to worry about a AirCon – you will not need it.

You should definitely try out the different meals in the restaurant, because the food is excellent !!!

It’s now been the second time, that we stay at Fisherman's and I am quite sure, it will NOT be the last time :-) We will soon come back !!

Thanks for a pleasant stay to Kun, Big Daddy, Pon, Eddy, Laem & Ja Ea.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ChrisC00k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

184 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    149
    20
    10
    5
    0
See reviews for
22
94
9
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed March 5, 2011

We stayed for 6 nights in fishermans cottages on Klong Kong beach and overall would rate it as a 4/5 resort. It is a super chilled out set of 9 bungalows and we stayed in the 1,200 a night deluxe room.

Positives:
Great vibe - Relaxed friendly atmosphere
Food was fantastic!! We thought it was the best restaurant around. Highly recommend the homemade cheeseburger
Intimate resort with only 9 bungalows and in a quiet location on the beach for some relaxing
Wi fi in the room
The hammock and the 2 showers in the bathroom. Great touches.
Beatiful sunset loaction, romantic.

Negatives:
Our room was never cleaned in 6 days. We were disappointed with this, given that there were 4 or 5 staff on at all times, an ample amount for room cleaning.
No air con unfortunately, it was quite sticky in the rooms at night with the fan
Klong kong is not an idyllic white sand beach and when the tide is out it is not really a swimming beach
A swimming pool would also be an excellent addition


Overall an very good place to stay and would recommend staying here when visiting koh lanta.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank timmonr2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Germany
Level Contributor
26 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed March 2, 2011

We spent 4 nights in fishermans cottage in February 2011. The cottages are nice if you like concrete. There is nothing else inside than a bed, a fan and an outdoorbathroom, but no possibility to store your luggage, only on the floor. The ants were happy. The price was 1200 TBT for the room number 2. In an other recommendations I read, that the price for a beachfrontbungalow was 900 TBT in January 2010. The bungalow is definitively overpriced. The view from our bungalow was right to the kitchen, to the toilet and to the family-TV, which ran the whole day. Breakfast was not included but they promised us, that there is a roomservice every day. In fact there was no service, as we asked for a new towel, we got some but reluctantly. Same with the toiletpaper. As my wife began to clean up the room, the 4 guys (there is obviously no woman in the resort) watched her, but there was no reaction to help her. They continued to look TV. There were a lot of bugs and spiders in the room, as I asked for an insectspray, the can was empty and I had to buy a new one in the seven11. I cannot agree to the other recommendations the fishermans cottage ist realy poor. Mr. Kun there is a lot to do!

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Klaus B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed January 18, 2011

Staying at Fisherman's Cottages is like staying with friends. VERY nice friends. The guys there are friendly, helpful, polite and genuine. If you want a drink and a chat - they are great company. If you want to spend time on your own - they won't disturb. I'm a veggie and my hubby - a meat eater. They catered for us both with excellence - even making sure I didn't have a drop of fish sauce (staple in most Thai cuisine) in my meals. The bungalows are basic (but less basic than many in the area) and as the sign says - "with style". There is a unique quirkiness about Fisherman's Cottages that is really very special and I would have no hesitation in recommending it. Looking forward to returning.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mimiandgui
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zwolle, The Netherlands
1 review
Reviewed January 13, 2011

The staff would do anything for you, there such nice people! When it was really hot during the day the room was pretty cool in the evening, and that without an aircon! The location have got only 9 bungalows and i think that's why it gives it that personal touch. The beach was so much relaxing because it's so peaceful, specially when you walk for a few minutes to the end of the beach. We could stay here for a whole morning or afternoon with only the two us, really nice! When you want to unload and eat great food this is the place to be! Tip: You have got to try the fisherman's shake!

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank goldieloxcs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 13, 2011

I've just spent another two weeks at Fisherman's Cottage, having stayed there a few times before (see previous review: "This is the best place to stay in Thailand, not just Ko Lanta") and I am happy to report that a move 50m down the beach to a slightly smaller property has not changed anything about Fishermans' at all.

True to his style, Kun has reduced the number of bungalows from 11 to 9 on this new site to make sure everyone has there own space, which is increasingly rare as some of Thailand's beaches become more and more crammed with bungalows. One of the nicest additions to the new bungalows is that each now has a small garden in the bathroom, so you can have a 'garden shower', which is a truly unique experience.

The food is still amazing (and still lovingly prepared by the always smiling chefs A and Lam). The sunsets are just as beautiful. And, most importantly, the the staff are just as welcoming and friendly .

I highly recommend staying at Fisherman's.

PS - At least a couple of times on the way to Fisherman's I have been told that it has closed by other tour agencies hoping to trick me into staying with them instead of at Fisherman's ...luckily I had just emailed Kun and knew that they were open the first time this happened to me and did not fall prey to this scam, but I hate to think of how many other people have...so, watch out for this and if you're in doubt, call ahead.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank benj_07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brasov, Romania
Level Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed January 8, 2011

We had a wonderful stay at Fisherman's! The bungalows were great, the beach and the views were perfect (especially at sunset, when little fishing boats are returning home and you can see them on the horizon) and we have to give special credits to the staff and the food they prepared. It was great!!! They made something different every evening and so we got an inside on thai specialties. The best thing was that we could look into the kitchen (it had a big window on the restaurant) or even go in... so there was no need to do the cooking classes :))
They also provided motto-bikes for rent, a day trip for snorkeling and were really great helping us planning the rest of our trip (hotel recommendation in Surat Thani and even a great restaurant there). Their price for this services were fair. Great value for money!

If we would return to Ko Lanta we would definitely stay at Fisherman's cottage!

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nicoleta_J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ko Lanta hotels
1.4 mi away
Lazy Days Bungalows
Lazy Days Bungalows
#9 of 84 in Ko Lanta
183 reviews
2.9 mi away
Layana Resort and Spa
Layana Resort and Spa
#1 of 84 in Ko Lanta
1,432 reviews
0.6 mi away
Coco Lanta Resort
Coco Lanta Resort
#4 of 210 in Ko Lanta
367 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Lanta New Coconut Bungalow
Lanta New Coconut Bungalow
#8 of 145 in Ko Lanta
127 reviews
5.3 mi away
Crown Lanta Resort & Spa
Crown Lanta Resort & Spa
#11 of 84 in Ko Lanta
1,368 reviews
1.7 mi away
Relax Bay Resort
Relax Bay Resort
#12 of 84 in Ko Lanta
688 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fisherman's Cottage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fisherman's Cottage

Property: Fisherman's Cottage
Address: 190 Moo 2 | Klong Khong Beach, Saladan, Ko Lanta 81500, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Krabi Province > Ko Lanta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 210 Specialty Lodging in Ko Lanta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set on an idyllic palm fringed beach, 'fisherman's cottage' is a contemporary spin on a traditional theme. The spacious land is home to 11 beautifully unique bungalows. Each has an en-suite bathroom, with shower and toilet, 24hr electric supply and fan as well as a gorgeous sea view and has been designed with your comfort in mind. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Fisherman`s Cottage Hotel Ko Lanta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing