We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This is the best place to stay in Thailand, not just Ko Lanta”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ko Lanta
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Fisherman's Cottage
Ranked #11 of 215 Specialty Lodging in Ko Lanta
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“This is the best place to stay in Thailand, not just Ko Lanta”
Reviewed March 10, 2009

It's hard to list every single reason why Fisherman's Cottage is such a great place to stay. (I've stayed at Fisherman's every year for 7-8years and just got back from a 2wk visit. Needless to say I love staying there, it is without doubt my favourite place in Thailand.) But if you stay there, the first one you will notice is the staff. Kun, the owner, O and Lap the barstaff, and A and Lam the two chefs are the most welcoming and friendly people I have ever come across. They really care about making everyone that stays there feel at home and seeing their guests happy makes them happy.

The sunset is absolutely amazing and probably the best I've seen in the word. The bungalows are all really charismatic and there are only 11 so it never feels overcrowded. The food is excellent (I recommend: masman curry, chicken no name, baked glass noodles with prawns, and the whole bbq fish which you have to order in advance). There's a small intimate bar so it's really easy to be social if you feel like it. You can get any advice you need and book tours there (I recommend going to Ko Rok).

The only drawback is that you can't swim at low tide. But as in previous review you can easily hire a motorbike and drive in either direction for a swim anytime during the day or you can walk about 10-15min up the beach. Low tide changes each day by about an hour, so depending on when you stay there you will be able to swim at different times. On the positive side though, the water caught in the rocks at low tide make for a pretty amazing sunset.

If you care about any of the following: all bungalows have fans but not aircon, they all have good mosquito nets (i.e. no holes) and western toilets, they only have cold showers (but who wants a hot shower after being in the sun all day + the water isn't ever that cold), and, unlike many other places in Thailand, they wash and change the sheets after each guest. They also have a computer there with free internet, or if you have your own notebook they have free WiFi.

If you're in the area I definitely recommending staying at Fisherman's. In the time that I've stayed there I have never seen a disappointed guest and most people that go there for a couple of nights end up staying for longer because they love it so much.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank benj_07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

184 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    149
    20
    10
    5
    0
See reviews for
22
94
9
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
chicago
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 1, 2009

One of the best bungalows I stayed in.... excellent food (the best I had in Thailand..pre-order the whole fish three hours in advance...it's worth it), staff (thank you..I can't say enough about how great they were..Kun can arrange everything and gives specific directions), amazing sunsets (see pics)...near elephant trekking, cave, ferry and shopping.
Not a lot of nightlife. I was there in the middle of my trip, so relaxing for a few days was just what I needed (a little too much partying in Tonsai Bay). I stayed in the Snapper #3 bungalow (which was clean,cute... and an adventure). It was my first bungalow with no air-con and hot water. I loved it!
Some more details...
The beach in front of the bungalows is a bit rocky...you need to walk down the beach for a better place to swim (this did not bother me at all). If you plan on going to (or from) Koh Phang Nga from Koh Lanta expect almost an 11 hour trip...1 van, 2 buses, 2 ferrys, a speed boat. Exhausting but worth it.

  • Stayed January 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sherry B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thailand
2 reviews
Reviewed February 26, 2009

Fishermans Cottages welcomed us in like a new member of their family. Khun, Lap, Oh and the rest of the team were warm, friendly and also entertaining as they worked really hard to ensure that we had everything we needed. We were 4 friends from London - two already travelling and two taking a winter break. We all felt at home.

The bungalows are stylish and charming, set spaciously amongst a grassy lawn, coconut trees and a great garden. The food was excellent and the free wifi a bonus in Thailand these days - meant we spent much time in the bar/restaurant area on the beach catching up on emails and chatting to the Fisherman guys.

As the sun sets, the music is turned up and the scene set for a great evening ahead. A fantastic place to chill with the odd party thrown in, if you fancy it. Or if you are fed up with the beach - you can relax watching a DVD - a real treat when you've been travelling for a while.

Locationwise - Fisherman's is definitely set on the best part of the beach - slightly private on a small bend away from the madding crowd.

We spent 16 days there and can't wait to return!!

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nandinoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
E Sussex
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed February 22, 2009

You can bargain a price for a similar bungalow up the road with air con etc.. with this in mind I'd still have to stay at Fishermans.

The reviews are right, the sea is rocky with the tide out; so you rent a scooter for 200bht per day over a few days; then head out. Come back relax and swim when it's back up!..

You don't realise how precious this spot is until you leave and your'e back to reality again. The bungalows are basic and that's the experience that is offered here - that's what makes it mean something. The spot is tranquil (although there were a few kids in the accomodation/resort next door for a few days).. Taxi should be less than 200bht from the saladan pier in koh lanta. Shark 1 is nice for the beachfront; while the one at the back higher up on stilts might offer more privacy. If on occasion you get mosquitoes or something similar and this bothers you; you have mozzie nets; and a shop up the road will sell tiger balm/golden cup balm (much better than our western cream) and a small spray repellent - cheaply..

The spot is simply lovely - head onto the beach and turn right for some more bars - try ting tongs if you want a little bit of life there. .

The food at fisherman's was awesome and so so reasonably priced, why eat anywhere else!?

If you want more info, photos etc then try punching 'fishermanscottages.biz' into google.
I don't usually write reviews but the spot, the experience and the staff meant I had to.

Good luck and enjoy

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mrp_eames
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed February 14, 2009

This place was so relaxing and friendly that we returned after only two weeks having left for another island! The accommodation comprises basic bungalows with cold water shower, and the food and ambience was superb. The team (Kun, Lap, Oh and the two chefs) work tirelessly to ensure that guests are happy and no request is too much trouble (laundry, organising trips, motorbike/car hire etc).
Also, their collective love for their birds means that each day starts with the wonderful sound of chirruping birds all around the resort (these birds are kept for singing competitions).
The food is great, with an extensive and reasonably-priced menu and the bar stays open as long as the guests are up, with a fabulous choice of chill and world music.
The resort is directly on the beach front with a 'sunset' show every night.

  • Liked — Great restaurant and bar area overlooking the beach - plus the staff - and free wifi
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed February 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank TheRealSnowQueen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level 4 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 14, 2009

We ended up at Fishermans Cottages by luck really and we so happy we did. When we saw the beach was tidal we thought about moving place but the atmosphere, hospitality, food and music made up for it!!
Eventhough the beach is tidal at high tide its perfect to swim in and not rocky and/or scary. A not tidal beach isnt a far walk away either.
The boys make you feel at home, are genuinly interested in what you've been upto and what you want to do.
There's tons of beachbars around the corner but because they aren't on the main strip it's nice and relaxing and not busy (evn in high season).
The place could easily have more bungalows but they prefer a relaxed, spacious and personal atmosphere over making money.
The food is amazing, the service with a smile. They become your friends!

  • Liked — the friendlyness, close to nightlife but not right in the middle
  • Disliked — only hot showers at the end of the day!
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank melliemel25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed January 18, 2009

We found Fisherman's Cottage on tripadvisor and after reading such great reviews we did some googling and found their website and emailed them direct to book 3 nights, 16-19 January. We had already been to Phuket and Phi Phi and were looking for something unique and charming in Ko Lanta. We found it, and within our budget.

Kun and Oh, the managers, manage 11 bungalows and we stayed in both the Sea Horse (#10) and Shark 1 (#1) and the rooms prices ranged from 700-1000 baht per night during this season.

The staff are great at this place - a bunch of guys eager to help, offer suggestions for day trips, or just to make an awesome cocktail. The sunsets are amazing here and we watched them each night from our hammock hanging in front of our bungalow.

This place is not flash - but so what I was hoping to find in Thailand. Mosquito nets over the bed, bamboo/concrete huts, and a fan were perfect for our stay. The food is great - they seem to get lots of people here who aren't guests to eat or have a drink and watch the sunset and have a chat to the managers. Join them in a game of soccer at 4pm or have a swim.

The beach here isn't that of Phi Phi - its a bit more shelly and the ocean is a bit more rocky for swimming, but the character of the place was awesome.

Free wi-fi too. All meals can be bought, and motorbikes rented on site. The guys will help you with boat transfers and pick you up FOC on arrival.

Def recommend the place!

  • Liked — staff and great views
  • Disliked — beach on low tide swimming
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank GWorldTour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ko Lanta hotels
2.9 mi away
Layana Resort and Spa
Layana Resort and Spa
#1 of 84 in Ko Lanta
1,455 reviews
1.4 mi away
Lazy Days Bungalows
Lazy Days Bungalows
#8 of 84 in Ko Lanta
186 reviews
2.7 mi away
Long Beach Chalet
Long Beach Chalet
#6 of 84 in Ko Lanta
556 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.0 mi away
Twin Lotus Resort & Spa by Burasari
0.6 mi away
Coco Lanta Resort
Coco Lanta Resort
#3 of 215 in Ko Lanta
371 reviews
1.3 mi away
MOONLIGHT Exotic Bay Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fisherman's Cottage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fisherman's Cottage

Property: Fisherman's Cottage
Address: 190 Moo 2 | Klong Khong Beach, Saladan, Ko Lanta 81500, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Krabi Province > Ko Lanta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 215 Specialty Lodging in Ko Lanta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set on an idyllic palm fringed beach, 'fisherman's cottage' is a contemporary spin on a traditional theme. The spacious land is home to 11 beautifully unique bungalows. Each has an en-suite bathroom, with shower and toilet, 24hr electric supply and fan as well as a gorgeous sea view and has been designed with your comfort in mind. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Fisherman`s Cottage Hotel Ko Lanta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing