We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of a kind”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ko Lanta
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Fisherman's Cottage
Ranked #11 of 210 Specialty Lodging in Ko Lanta
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“One of a kind”
Reviewed December 15, 2011

My girlfriend and i were told about Fisherman's Cottage by a friend who had stayed there. As we didn't have any other accommodation sorted we decided to give it a go, called them and booked a room. It was the best call i've EVER made as this little gem is paradise!
Like many others, we were only supposed to be staying in Ko Lanta for a few days, but ended up staying a week, most of that time spent chilling at Fisherman's Cottage with the awesome staff.
I really can't stress how great this place is. For one, the thought that has gone into everything is faultless. From the stunning use of concrete (sounds strange but trust me) to the cotton menus. It's one of a kind, and i'm now in that predicament where i want to tell everyone about Fisherman's Cottage but at the same time I want to keep it our little secret!
We miss it deeply and we will definitely be back.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kempos27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

184 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    149
    20
    10
    5
    0
See reviews for
22
94
9
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed November 17, 2011

we stumbled across this hidden place at the end of klong khong beach, and fell in love..so we moved out of our old bungalow and stayed here longer than we expected... the atmosphere is so calm nd relaxed, the people that work there are amazing! kind, helpful jokers, and you can play games with them all night.. they welcomed us into the place, shared food with us and we spent most of our time there munching their delicious food.. the rooms are simple and beautiful... you wouldnt expect concrete to be beautiful.. but it created a good feel with the outdoor open ceiling bathroom... the mosquito net kept the bugs out, but the room is still cool without the fan..
highly recommend place to stay if u choo this stretch of beach on koh lanta.. a good escape from the busy bars that are only a walk away.. so perfect for families and people who want some quiet time out of their party time on the beach..
miss it already.. dont think will find another place in the south like it. thank you fishermans! we will be back.

Room Tip: rooms are names after fish.. only 2 types.. big and small.. but small is big enough.. so whichever...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank laura p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bremen, Germany
1 review
Reviewed May 4, 2011

We arrived in Koh Lanta after 3 weeks travelling and were looking forward to a place where we can relax, enjoy the sun and the sea...When we arrived in Fisherman's Cottage we felt like we arrived home - a very beautiful home! The Bungalows are very clean and comfortable. The bathroom is half open and it feels like taking a shower in the jungle - very very nice!! The people working in Fisherman's cottage became friends during the week we stayed there. They read your mind and serve you nice drinks and perfect food (!) whenever you feel like it! The best is having a cocktail in the hammock during sunset! We where planning to do some island hopping but the place was so nice that we couldn't leave it for the first 4 days! We will definately come back!! THANK YOU, Porn, Kun & everyone!! You are the best!!

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank christinest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed April 26, 2011

We stayed here for 5 days and couldn't have asked for better service.
The staff were so helpful, always on hand, very friendly and made our stay very enjoyable.
Without doubt the highlight of Fishermans is the food - simply fantastic! Definitely the best food we found in SEA and that's saying something.
Would definitely recommend, and would definitely go back. Thanks Kun etc for a great holiday.

  • Stayed December 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HHT_78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed March 25, 2011

We stayed at Fishermans cottages in January at the start of our travels around Thailand and we LOVED it here. After reading the reviews on tripadvisor, we made a booking before we got to Ko Lanta, and were totally thrilled right from the start.

We were immediately greeted by such friendly welcoming staff who showed us to our bungalow. Whilst they are simple and basic, they are also stylish with great mozzie net over bed, lovely outdoor bathroom and hammock at the front facing out to the sea (all of them have a seaview I think?!). We just spent our days on the beach, relaxing in the hammock and enjoying the food and cocktails at the restaurant / bar (try the no name chicken - lovely!).

We have stayed in loads of similar style accommodation through South East Asia and this place is definitely our favourite and we keep telling everyone we meet who are heading to Thailand to check it out. We will be back!

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vrenier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Schiedam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed March 13, 2011

Fisherman's Cottage Resort had to move to a different area which was only about 500 meters further than the old place but they still had to start all over again and had to build everything like the cottages, the garden, the restaurant, the watersystem, you name it, so we did not know what to expect exactly because we arrived only a month after the reopening but i'm happy to say we were pleasantly suprised how they managed to build everything up in such a short time and still kept that same comfortable atmosphere which we liked so much about the old place before.

The garden is a bit smaller but we didn't miss it because all the activities like football and frisbeeing now take place in front of the chillplatform at the beach. There are no small bamboo huts anymore, all cottages are spacious now and have they're own open air garden shower which gives a real feeling of freedom when you use it. The kitchen staff is the same so the food is still fingerlicking good and we liked the new restaurant more than the old one because its now connected to the bar.

We booked a week in front but decided to stay another week which for us is unique because we never stayed as long as that at one place before in the past 25 years so we can only compliment them for that and we will go back for sure!

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Miek37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Germany
1 review
Reviewed March 7, 2011

Today is our last night (from 9 nights in total) and we are very sad, that we have to leave tomorrow. We feel like Fisherman Cottage is our second home.

The Staff is very cool and they really take care about you. You are not only a “roomnumber” as you are in other resort or hotels. Here you are a part of a big family. The whole atmosphere in this resort is very special. I cannot really describe it, but it makes you feel like you are at home.

The new-built bungalows look very nice and the bathroom is amazing. Although it’s not a hot water shower, the water is always hot, so that even my girlfriend is very happy with it :-)
The temperature inside the bungalows is very cool (compared to the temperature outside) and in the night you can sleep very well. So you don’t have to worry about a AirCon – you will not need it.

You should definitely try out the different meals in the restaurant, because the food is excellent !!!

It’s now been the second time, that we stay at Fisherman's and I am quite sure, it will NOT be the last time :-) We will soon come back !!

Thanks for a pleasant stay to Kun, Big Daddy, Pon, Eddy, Laem & Ja Ea.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ChrisC00k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ko Lanta hotels
2.7 mi away
Long Beach Chalet
Long Beach Chalet
#7 of 84 in Ko Lanta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 532 reviews
1.4 mi away
Lazy Days Bungalows
Lazy Days Bungalows
#9 of 84 in Ko Lanta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 181 reviews
2.9 mi away
Layana Resort and Spa
Layana Resort and Spa
#1 of 84 in Ko Lanta
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,417 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Relax Bay Resort
Relax Bay Resort
#11 of 84 in Ko Lanta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 687 reviews
0.6 mi away
Coco Lanta Resort
Coco Lanta Resort
#4 of 210 in Ko Lanta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 364 reviews
1.3 mi away
MOONLIGHT Exotic Bay Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fisherman's Cottage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fisherman's Cottage

Property: Fisherman's Cottage
Address: 190 Moo 2 | Klong Khong Beach, Saladan, Ko Lanta 81500, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Krabi Province > Ko Lanta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 210 Specialty Lodging in Ko Lanta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set on an idyllic palm fringed beach, 'fisherman's cottage' is a contemporary spin on a traditional theme. The spacious land is home to 11 beautifully unique bungalows. Each has an en-suite bathroom, with shower and toilet, 24hr electric supply and fan as well as a gorgeous sea view and has been designed with your comfort in mind. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Fisherman`s Cottage Hotel Ko Lanta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing