We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Basic hotel, basic food”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Lanta Palace Resort & Beach Club
Ranked #59 of 84 Hotels in Ko Lanta
Muurame, Finland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Basic hotel, basic food”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013

We stayed 11 nights in this hotel. We choose this one because it had a competitive price and the location was in the quieter area on the island.

Accommodation was simple but Ok. Second floor, no insects, view to the parking lot, but no problem - we did not spent much time in the room anyway.

Beach in the front of the hotel had some big stones and was not very enjoyable to swim in but just 3 minutes walk away (to the left) we found a great beach where we swam every day.

We enjoyed the quiet area, massages at the beach and good and economically priced dinners at night. The food was really good. Breakfasts very basic but sufficient. We wished more fruits at the breakfast though.

Bar and happy hour coctails at the beach were also enjoyable. Most of the staff were friendly and helpful.

It was the money's worth anyway. We knew what to expect and were satiesfied with our choice of the hotel. With the right attitude and tight budget we had a great holiday.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TallFinnishBlonds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

163 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    25
    50
    29
    25
    34
See reviews for
28
81
7
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
midlands
Level Contributor
49 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 29, 2013

The pictures of this place must have been taken when it was first built, we where very dissapointed with the hotel in general, our room looked nothing like what we had seen, not only on Asia rooms website where we made our booking but in a brochure we picked up whilst on Phi Phi, we thought we was going to be in for a treat, how shocked where we ......the room was in desperate need of renovation it was dirty and dismal, the bathroom was a disgrace certainly no palace. We arrived mid afternoon and decided to eat at the resturant the food and service was equally poor, breakfast was included but that was not worth getting up for.
The only good thing I can say about this hotel is that it has a great location, beach front but again they have no idea how to make the best of this, the pool area is crowded with sun beds whilst on the beach there are very few there are lots of boulders scattered randomly on the beach if they cleared those away and set sunbeds and parasols out it would be a amazing section of beach.
The drive way down to the hotel is not a attractive walk, to the right is a smelly recycling plant and to the left some scruffy buildings. They do have the internet available for public use but it is a rip off the whole system is closed down you insert your 10 bht coin before you are up and running your money has run out, go accross the road and use the internet there

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sunburn15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Ko Lanta hotels

Wales
Level Contributor
40 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 24, 2013

We booked this through Agoda based on their website entry and the views of the beach and pool ,we were very pleased with the bungalow and it's location,helped by the fact we were in the end bungalow directly overlooking the beach,although all the beachfront bungalows had a similar location and outlook.
The beach bar is also nice and we had a reasonable meal in the restaurant sitting down by the beachfront,encouraged by this we extended our original 2 night stay to 3 nights.
However when we went for breakfast the next morning we were very disappointed by the standard and presentation of the food as well as the not inconsiderable smell of drains which was not noticeable from the beachfront.
We also found the restaurant staff to be completely disinterested and avoided eating there again if we could help it-there are some nice restaurants up on the main road.
We would agree with the most recent review from "WildLou" that it appears little has been done since the opening of this "Palace" this is a shame as the hotel has a good location in a quieter part of the island but it would now need considerable upgrading works to be classed as a Palace in our opinion.However if these works were done and an improvement in the restaurant and staff then this could again be very nice.

Room Tip: The beachfront bungalows are very nice ,just avoid the restaurant-or alternatively stay somewhere el...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TaffyapplesWales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Quebec
Level Contributor
73 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 130 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 9, 2013

First I have to note that this was the first time I booked an accomodation without looking at the Trip Advisor comments first. And I regretted it. One poster nailed it on the head by saying that the photos' were a mis representation... They are completely false. The "palace" was build 16 years ago, I don't think they've done anything to it since. Let's be clear, if I book a "backpacker" accomodation, then I would expect the cockroaches crawling out of the sewer pipe and into my shower, BUT I booked something that Agoda claimed to be a great deal, and I paid for something that was supposedly deluxe beach front. When on vacation you spend about 8 to 12 hours in your room, so I don't need it to be fit for a king... But the mold on most of the shower tiles, the paint peeling from the ceiling, the lamps being on the blink, the "twin" comforter for a king sized bed... And of course having to fight the cockroaches by putting an ash tray over the shower drain... all of it was too much. Had I paid 300 baht per night, I'd be up for the challenges, but this was 4 nights in an attempt to relax.

Oh and the breakfasts were complete crap.

IN BEING fair, i have to write about the good things, which include a sweet location, amongst the 70+ hotels currently on Lanta, in the middle of the island. A good beach, a shuttle to and from the ferry boat to pick you up and drop you off. And they have two monkeys in the front yard! Watch your glasses and cameras!

Room Tip: Just don't pay much for any room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank WildLou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
merseyside
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 5, 2013

just spent 4 weeks at palace.Very good staff nothing to much trouble food fantastic .Bungalows very comfortable with air con fridge and tv also kettle for making tea and coffee.towels are changed every day in bathroom and for beach and pool.
we are 2 pensioners but also good for young familys.we have stayed there many times and never been disappointed.
.

Room Tip: all bungalows good front row has sea virw and fantastic dun set
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank brenda g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland
Level Contributor
21 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 24, 2013 via mobile

My fiancé and I stayed here for nights and really enjoyed it.
Our room was spacious and clean with a big bed and air con that worked.
The pool and beach are great, although you do have to be up pretty early to get a sun bed! I highly encourage the purchase of extra loungers!!
The bar and restaurant are good in terms of the food/ drinks and value, but really let down by the staff. One night for dinner we waited ages to get menus, then for our order to be taken, then to get food, and the bill, not to mention chasing down the drinks we ordered that never came. We waved at a waiter to get his attention and he just waved back!!!
This place is walking distance to loads of beach front restaurants.
Nice, chilled out place to stay, the beach is fantastic

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ClarisTexas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 22, 2013

We have just spent the most incredible last few days on this beautiful resort! It really is a slice of paradise on a beautiful beach, with a great swimming pool, delicious food (especially the bbq). The bungalows are gorgeous and we could not be happier staying here- we really do not want to leave! We have became great friends with the owner, Aod. The staff are amazingly attentive and always look so happy. The cocktails are delicious and the bar plays great music. We really enjoyed the friday night party and watching the thai boxing, thai dancing and the fire show. We met quite a few fellow travellers there, who we have kept in touch with. We spent most of our time making the most of being able to swim in the sea. Bliss.

This is our first trip to Thailand and we really felt that the staff made us feel so welcome and at ease, it was a perfect home away from home.

Thank you for such a fantastic stay,

Carmen and Blue :)

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank carmenandblue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ko Lanta hotels
0.4 mi away
Lanta Seafront Resort
Lanta Seafront Resort
#75 of 84 in Ko Lanta
3.0 of 5 bubbles 58 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Wings Boutique Hotels
The Wings Boutique Hotels
#42 of 84 in Ko Lanta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 47 reviews
1.3 mi away
Amantra Resort & Spa
Amantra Resort & Spa
#32 of 84 in Ko Lanta
3.5 of 5 bubbles 377 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Lanta Nature Beach Resort
Lanta Nature Beach Resort
#40 of 84 in Ko Lanta
3.5 of 5 bubbles 193 reviews
2.4 mi away
Blue Andaman Lanta Resort
Blue Andaman Lanta Resort
#45 of 84 in Ko Lanta
3.0 of 5 bubbles 280 reviews
0.4 mi away
Clean Beach Resort
Clean Beach Resort
#41 of 84 in Ko Lanta
3.5 of 5 bubbles 135 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lanta Palace Resort & Beach Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lanta Palace Resort & Beach Club

Property: Lanta Palace Resort & Beach Club
Address: 29 Moo 8 | Ko Lanta Yai District, Ko Lanta 81150, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Krabi Province > Ko Lanta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#28 Top resorts Hotel in Ko Lanta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Lanta Palace Resort & Beach Club 3*
Number of rooms: 55
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Agoda, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Lanta Palace Resort & Beach Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lanta Palace Resort & Beach Club Hotel Ko Lanta
Lanta Palace Resort And Beach Club
Lanta Palace Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing