We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Families Rule at Relax Bay”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Relax Bay Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Relax Bay Resort
Ranked #11 of 84 Hotels in Ko Lanta
Certificate of Excellence
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
211 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
“Families Rule at Relax Bay”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 13, 2013

We stayed at Relax Bay this past week for three nights along with our good friends. They had one of the tent cabins and we were in a more traditional bungalow. All of us had our opinions about the resort but a common theme that we all shared was the number of people who came with kids. It was not a place that lived up to the name of the resort---that is relaxing. The location of Relax Bay was fine and the beach was above average. A couple of other observations we made were centered around how shabby and rundown the place was. In my opinion, the ownership should invest some time and resources to maintenance and repair. For example, our bungalow smelled like a sewer; water did not drain in the shower properly; and the floor rocked and rolled. We also noted that finding a clean plate, cup, or saucer in the mess hall was unlikely. Let me close and say that we did get a good feel from the staff. They were courteous and helpful. However, after three days we needed to move along and find another place to stay for our remaining days on Ko Lanta.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jeffrey49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

685 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    325
    224
    85
    29
    22
See reviews for
142
350
35
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
89 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 9, 2013

Very nice location on secluded 1 km stretch of beach. The bungalows requires an upgrade and the cleanliness in the restaurant needs improvement. Cultry dirty and the food is average.

The negatives are countered with excellent service and hospitality from the hotel staff. Looking for a simple and secluded beach stay on Ko Lanta - go to Relax Bay!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Leifarneb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delhi
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 3, 2013

The outdoor spaces in Relax Bay are just fabulous- stunning beach, great beach bar with loungers, day beds and chilled out music- really nice vibe. The rooms are nice, although the bathrooms could have been better. The food is not great...but that forces you to leave the resort!

Room Tip: The VIP beach bungalows and the tents are both great
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Diya K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
25 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 3, 2013

We stayed in Relax Bay for 12 nights and we felt that we didn't get value for our money. The bungalows were very small and uncomfortable. Dirty uncomfortable old beds and dark small balcony. And no fridge!!! The restaurant and the breakfast were not good and especially the staff in the restaurant were unfriendly. Food was not so special and drinks were 50 % more expensive than in other places on Ko Lanta. That really affected us, because we needed the restaurant because of our small children.
Although the environment was beautiful, the beach was nice and the garden was stunning with it's wildlife and birds. Some of the stuff were also super nice and helpful (thanks to the receptionists and the drivers!).
With the same money you can get a luxurious accommodation on Lanta, next time we will choose an other place!

Room Tip: If you choose Relax bay, take a bungalow with a fan! The ones with AC are far away from the beach in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nadyadya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2013

I stayed here with two friends. We had read a good review of it and decided to give it a try as we hadn't been to Koh Lanta. On arrival, we were delighted with the beautiful, private beach at Relax bay and relaxed atmosphere. The beach bar with the wooden huts was really chilled. The main restaurant provided a good selection of breakfast items (fruit, bread, & hot food), although it would have been nice had there been a few more Thai breakfast options. The food itself at the restaurant was tasty and although obviously not street prices, good value.

My friends and I shared a fan room and found it to be clean and cool. We had been warned about thefts so used the resorts safe. We found the approach of having all food & drink put on a tab really relaxed, it was better than having to carry around cash constantly and added to the nice atmosphere. We stayed for 6 days, ate at least a meal or two at the restaurant a day, drank at the beach bar, did laundry and partook in some sunset yoga and were very pleasantly surprised when we received the bill at the end of the trip. It was very, very reasonable.

For us, we unanimously agreed that the highlight of the resort were the staff who we found to be extremely helpful, delightful and attentive. A particular shout out to Pep who was incredibly sweet and funny. The staff were always more than happy to have a chat, order your a car or give recommendations to explore different parts of the island.

My only piece of advice to those looking to go here would be to emphasise that it's definitely a family friendly resort. We were a group of three girls in our 20s however nearly all the other guests were couples or young families. There were often children running around everywhere during meal times which we didn't mind but if you're looking for a party and other young backpackers, this probably isn't the place for you - you might be better off at a livelier part of the island or somewhere like Phi Phi.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FionaB628
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania, USA
Level Contributor
30 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 31, 2012

Overall, this was a servicable and pleasant vacation. Nothing stands out at Relax Bay, but it met our needs on our trip to Ko Lanta.

Room: We stayed in a VIP bungalow for 5 nights in late April. The room was basic, but clean and cool. We had a balcony and an ocean view. Simple, but exactly what you need at the beach when you're not planning to hang out in your room much. One downside was that the shower was a trickle and we had issues with it running cold for days at a time - hotel was responsive and fixed it each time, but it was a recurring issue.

Beach: The beach was beautiful although major issues with trash washing ashore at high tide. Water was very rough when we were there so we didn't get to take advantage of boat trips / snorkeling etc... Also a nice pool with some shady spots for a change of pace.

Yoga: There are great yoga classes offered every day on a peaceful balcony - this was a plus!

Food: Restaurant was basic but pretty good. Don't come here for the food, but you won't starve either. I found the Western dishes to be pretty solid as well as the Thai food. We had a few good meals off the resort as well - we did get bored of the food.

Bar: We really enjoyed the beach bar and especially the friendly bartender. We were there after high season and thus the resort was pretty empty - would have enjoyed a bit more of a crowd since the drinks were tasty and the beach bar was in a great spot. Try the mango mojito.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank turbolaa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 27, 2012

Stayed with my family for 5 nights. I expressly booked VIP superior bungalow #1 ( which is right on the beach and next to the restaurant) a full 6 months earlier and kept all the email correspondence. I had specifically requested this bungalow as is the only one with 3 beds to accomodate my two boys and would be close to the restaurant if my boys were sleeping at night.

On check in we were instead allocated bungalow #32 which is on the second row (no beach view) and only has 2 beds. I complained repeatedly to the reception that I had been promised #1 and instead been given #32. They promised to speak the manager and come back to me. Despite raising it 3 times and making it very clear that I was not happy. The manager failed to do anything at all - not even bothering to come and speak to me and explain why they had suddenly allocated us to another room. Nothing!

PROS:
- Rooms are clean and spacious.
- The sunset bar is very nice.
- Thai food is not bad.

CONS
- Rude unhelpful staff
- Useless manager
- Beach is rocky
- Breakfast buffet is well below par

Room Tip: Room #32 is not on the beach!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank OliverPower
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
alainrelax, Owner at Relax Bay Resort, responded to this review, January 25, 2013
Hello sir,

Sorry to hear this bad review about us. But actually you are quite right.You were promised the Nr 1, and our manager did manage to give satisfactory answers. Unfortunately, as we were full, no other solution could be given. For your information, the manager is currently not working with us anymore. His attitude and work ethic changed overnight and became quite unsatisfactory. Currently we are doing our utmost to set straight, that who went wrong.
Please accept my kindest apologies.
alain
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ko Lanta hotels
1.1 mi away
Long Beach Chalet
Long Beach Chalet
#8 of 84 in Ko Lanta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 521 reviews
3.6 mi away
Twin Bay Resort
Twin Bay Resort
#19 of 84 in Ko Lanta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 500 reviews
0.2 mi away
Lazy Days Bungalows
Lazy Days Bungalows
#9 of 84 in Ko Lanta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 179 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Mook Lanta Resort
Mook Lanta Resort
#16 of 84 in Ko Lanta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 434 reviews
2.9 mi away
MOONLIGHT Exotic Bay Resort
4.4 mi away
SriLanta Resort
SriLanta Resort
#23 of 84 in Ko Lanta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 984 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Relax Bay Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Relax Bay Resort

Property: Relax Bay Resort
Address: 111 Moo 2 | AO Phrae Ae - Koh Lanta, Ko Lanta 81150, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Krabi Province > Ko Lanta
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Ko Lanta
#8 Family Hotel in Ko Lanta
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Ko Lanta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Relax Bay Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Relax bay is not your average hotel. If you look for a traditional hotel with AC, concrete walls and all amenities you can find in any deluxe hotel anywhere in the world. Well, we are not the place to be. Our rooms are Huts, spaced between 5 and 10 m from each other and set in a as Jungle-ish possible setting. There is almost no concrete and we constructed our bungalows under the trees. This means they are in the shade. Furthermore the grass-type roofs are overhanging and give protection against the sun and around the bungalows we planted flowers and plants to block out the sun. Shade means coolness but also darkness. Bamboo, a living natural product also soaks up the moisture in the air. We air the rooms, but they always smell a bit Bamboo-ish. They do not smell damp and not well kept, they smell natural.Our roofs are made from grass, so they disintegrate after a time. They are not as waterproof as concrete, or tar roofs. However they are much cooler. and they look much better. Prices on the net should be the same everywhere , but you are best served by making a direct reservation at the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Orbitz, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Relax Bay Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Relax Bay Hotel Ko Lanta
Relax Bay Ko Lanta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing