We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just unique spot in lanta”
Review of Relax Bay Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Relax Bay Resort
Ranked #12 of 84 Hotels in Ko Lanta
Certificate of Excellence
bangkok
2 reviews
“Just unique spot in lanta”
Reviewed July 22, 2012

Third times for us to have been there and as usual it's the best place in Kho Lanta, even if we think that the prices are a bit high it's just the best value for the price you pay and almost full of the time which is the prove that is location still the best on the island.

Don't miss it

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chez pape c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

693 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    328
    226
    87
    30
    22
See reviews for
145
353
35
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Aarhus, Denmark
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 18, 2012

My boyfriend and I, stayed on Relax for 5 nights. We paid for one of the Beach cottages, they are small and the bathroom is not the Best, but its intimate. Remember to ask the staff to put up a moskito net in your room! The restaurant isnt that good, they Can make thai dishes, but everything Else isnt that good, but its only a 15min trip with the hotels own taxi that goes 4 times a Day into lanta town. The hotel have a Nice Beach, a bit stony but nice.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pernille V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sherwood Park, Alberta
Level 6 Contributor
157 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed May 21, 2012

Our first impression of this accommodation was tainted by not being picked up at the ferry when we arrived, contrary to what was promised upon reservation, while all other resorts had their vehicles and drivers waiting. A waiting tuk tuk delivered us after a short, 15 minute ride, at our expense. We were then informed of being “upgraded”, for an additional 500 baht per day. After a call to the manager, it was straightened out. Overall, an unsettling first impression, especially after reading other’s experience on this forum.

The front desk is located at the bottom of a set of treacherous stairs on the side of the hillside, so if you have heavy luggage or any mobility issues, you will find these difficult. If being dropped by shuttle, as we were not, they are able to navigate the road to the bottom of the hill.

Cabins are spacious and comfortable, each with its own bathroom and deck with chairs and hammock. A well maintained pool serves as a centerpiece of the grounds. This setting makes up for the wide range of hospitality from the staff. Many appeared unfriendly or grumpy, particularity in the restaurant. In response to our request for a face cloth and hand towel, we were informed they were intended for “VIP” guests only. The exceptions were Mart and Paan at the front desk, who exhibited tremendous hospitality and helpfulness.

The restaurant serves authentic Thai fare as well as Western meals. Thai food is very affordable and delicious. The chicken satay appetizer, as well as red and green curries are above average for either lunch or supper. The only negative was the unannounced cancellation of the barbeque buffet during our stay as the result of a large group reservation in the restaurant.

Overall a great setting and location, although management needs to ensure that staff hospitality is a higher priority, as there are many other accommodation options for visitors to choose from.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pyke88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed April 23, 2012

I loved my recent stay there!! I was traveling alone and spent 3 nights there. The bungalows are basic and are expensive compared to others elsewhere but what you are getting as well is hotel like service. The staff are super friendly, the food in the restaurant is really good and it sits in it's own bay so is nice and peaceful. Don't go if you are after a cheap value for money bungalow however if you want the full 360 degree experience then this is an excellent choice. For a more lively night out you are close to everything, maybe 15-20 mins walk or a ride in a taxi so a great all round location. It gets my vote!!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Justin H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
114 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
Reviewed April 22, 2012

First of all, i must say that i do not agree with some previous reviews saying it is over priced. Walk-in customers will always have a higher price compared to bookings through agencies. This is not only at Relay Bay but with all hotels in Thailand. I am not talking about B&B or hostels, let's compare apples to apples. Also I think people need to understand the concept. No place for concrete building and modern facilities at Relax Bay. It is "Robinson Crusoe" style experience. Simple, but still comfortable and with style.

Koh Lanta is located 2 hours from Krabi airport. Quiet and somehow miraculously "under-developed" compared to neighboring Krabi and Phuket. The resort is surrounded by a beautiful tropical garden and located on a very nice large private beach, no major hotel nearby!

We spent 5 nights in a VIP beach bungalow. Bungalows are facing the sea, pretty basic but still comfortable. Nice terrace with a table, chairs and a hammock, perfect for a nap a coffee early morning! Just a suggestion for improvement: a small water pipe at the entrance of the bungalow to clean your feet from sand would be nice. Like this, we would avoid to bring tons of sand inside the bungalow... Do not forget a mosquito repellent.

One very nicely decorated restaurant, right on the beach. I highly recommend you the chicken satay and the carpaccio of barracuda! Good breakfast with choice of both western and Asian dishes. I recommend the Thai menu rather than the Western menu. Menu for kids available.
A few words about the beach bar where you can enjoy the sunset but all day long, Some really nice cocktails and fresh fruit juices.

Plenty of small restaurants available a few hundreds meters away on the main road. Free shuttle to bring you there.

No TV in rooms, which is great. Free Internet connection available in the resort.
We organized 2 daily trips via the hotel. Good service.

Overall a great peaceful relaxing experience. I will be back!

Room Tip: VIP beach bungalow
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Raphael T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level 4 Contributor
20 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed April 18, 2012

I like the idea that the resort is secluded on top of the hill. Nice decor with the restaurant overlooking the beach. There is no other resort so it is very private.
The cabanas are also neat, each has it's own hammock with a nice view.
Overall i feel it is simple, not too over the top and suitable for family with childrens.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Chillclouds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buenos Aires
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed April 11, 2012

We got there without a reservation and ask to see the rooms. 60usd the cheapest one, really basic, with fan. too expensive for that. I got it from trip advisor, and it happend with lots of places I went in this trip. You see... people trust people so they go where the reviews are good... and the hotel grows really fast and get famous... so they inflate the prices and are fully booked... and really half of them are not worth it, and you can find better places for the same or less price. so be aware of this phenomenon, because lots of good places dont get famous.
The people on the reception were really nice, there a beautiful restaurant right on the beach, but again... long beach is full of them, one right to another.

Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank __michelle_naiki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ko Lanta hotels
1.1 mi away
Long Beach Chalet
Long Beach Chalet
#6 of 84 in Ko Lanta
556 reviews
1.2 mi away
Layana Resort and Spa
Layana Resort and Spa
#1 of 84 in Ko Lanta
1,455 reviews
0.2 mi away
Lazy Days Bungalows
Lazy Days Bungalows
#8 of 84 in Ko Lanta
186 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Twin Lotus Resort & Spa by Burasari
3.6 mi away
Twin Bay Resort
Twin Bay Resort
#19 of 84 in Ko Lanta
509 reviews
2.9 mi away
MOONLIGHT Exotic Bay Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Relax Bay Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Relax Bay Resort

Property: Relax Bay Resort
Address: 111 Moo 2 | AO Phrae Ae - Koh Lanta, Ko Lanta 81150, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Krabi Province > Ko Lanta
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Best Value Hotel in Ko Lanta
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Ko Lanta
#8 Family Hotel in Ko Lanta
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Ko Lanta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Relax Bay Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Relax bay is not your average hotel. If you look for a traditional hotel with AC, concrete walls and all amenities you can find in any deluxe hotel anywhere in the world. Well, we are not the place to be. Our rooms are Huts, spaced between 5 and 10 m from each other and set in a as Jungle-ish possible setting. There is almost no concrete and we constructed our bungalows under the trees. This means they are in the shade. Furthermore the grass-type roofs are overhanging and give protection against the sun and around the bungalows we planted flowers and plants to block out the sun. Shade means coolness but also darkness. Bamboo, a living natural product also soaks up the moisture in the air. We air the rooms, but they always smell a bit Bamboo-ish. They do not smell damp and not well kept, they smell natural.Our roofs are made from grass, so they disintegrate after a time. They are not as waterproof as concrete, or tar roofs. However they are much cooler. and they look much better. Prices on the net should be the same everywhere , but you are best served by making a direct reservation at the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Travelocity and Hotwire so you can book your Relax Bay Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Relax Bay Hotel Ko Lanta
Relax Bay Ko Lanta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing