We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A splendid spot!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Relax Bay Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Relax Bay Resort
Ranked #11 of 84 Hotels in Ko Lanta
Certificate of Excellence
Des Moines, Iowa
Level Contributor
112 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“A splendid spot!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 30, 2012

Just spent 3 nights here. Our bungalow was very clean and with a jungle view. A very nice restaurant on the beach and a lavish breakfast buffet is included in the price. A very nice, sandy beach. Twice a week they sponsor a spectacular, but brief, fire show by their bar on the beach. Just a few yards along the beach are a couple more bars and little cafes. The evening sunset is truly remarkable. The ferry from Krabi takes about two hours.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Schanke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

668 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    317
    217
    83
    29
    22
See reviews for
139
342
31
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
29 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 25, 2012

Relax Bay is the perfect name for this spot. It was serene, peaceful and beautiful. Mostly a French/European crowd, which was fine with me. Initially, I stayed in a premium bungalow with my two girlfriends that I was travelling with. The bungalow was lovely, spacious, clean and bright. When they continued on their trip and I stayed behind for a few more days, however, I saw a less pretty version of Relax Bay. I moved to a standard bungalow which was small, dark and unwelcoming. Just a few minor changes would have spruced it up and made it much more appealing, but I'm not sure if the resort management will invest in those changes. Koh Lanta is so popular now that places can charge what they like and don't necessarily upgrade. It is popular for a legitimate reason though - the diving is lovely, the weather even more so, and the drinks are great. :-) I would still go back to Koh Lanta and likely would stay at Relax Bay Resort again - I'd just make sure to pay the extra for a premium, sea view bungalow.

Room Tip: Pay more for the premium bungalows if you can get one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JEPCda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 21, 2012

A clean and spacious bungalow in a fabulous setting. A few steps to the private beach where you can laze until the sun sets. We enjoyed watching the sun go down with a half priced cocktail or two before dinner. The food on offer in the restaurant was a good mix of Thai and Western - very tasty, especially the fish my son adds!!. The staff are great, very helpful and friendly. A good time was had by all - great location, good company and a fantastic holiday. Will definitely be back.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ScottyandPoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 19, 2012

i stayed at relax bay for 3 nights .. i had booked the tent experience as i really wanted peace and quiet , and the idea of being in the tent up in the trees ,over the sea sounded perfect.
I had also been to relax bay as a visitor so thought it sounded ok . there are lots of kids there so i thought i would at least be quiet up there .
I knew there were supposed to be two tents and had wondered how that worked.
I soon found out . tent two overlooks tent one, my tent ! .. although tent two had been dismantled. The tents are very near to each other..a light on in the tent at night would reveal everything to anyone in the other tent !! and also any noise !

I loved the tent and thought it was lovely and the view . and thankfully no one staying in the other one. BUT on the first day i had to ask one of the staff . who was very nearby . this area being above the main resort , to stop using a CHAINSAW !!! chopping up wood. 0n the same day i had to ask some staff to stop using a hammer to dismantle what was left of the other tent , and later on that day there was loud thai dance music coming from one of the staff huts about 200 hundred yards away. i asked if this was normal as the main resort was pretty peaceful !!!
the next day i again had to ask the staff to stop someone from hammering and using a saw on the second tent. surely this kind of work would be done when there were not people staying there !!
The third daY , there were 4 members of staff on the platform looking at me . one with a jetwash one talking as loudly as she could on her mobile and the other hammering .

so much for my meditation exercise !! its all very well for relax bay to offer a tent experience when the tent is great bu the experience is awful.

I explained i was there 3 days and they could do what they wanted after that but there was obviously no acknowledgement of that fact.. no apology was offered and no discount either .
The breaakfast which was included was ok but not the hot food.
but beware if the breakfast is not included, it is comulsory !! they add 150 to your bill whether you have it or not.. the hot food is not cooked fresh and is not worth eating.

Happy hour cocktails are 100 baht but are in half size glasses .. so half price , half size !

The restaurant used to be good . but i dont know what happened to it .. its now expensive and not good at all.
You are slightly trapped in that bay .. if you stay there then go out and dont be tempted to just stay there the whole time .. but dont pay double the price for the tent like i did when it was more peaceful in the basic fan bungalow.

Room Tip: dont go near the pool its full of screaming kids
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mcintoshian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
france
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 17, 2012

I am traveling in thailand with familly and lots of people told us about relax bay , so I decided to stay with them while we were in Koh lanta.
But unfortunately I was very dispointed, when I checked -in my premier fan Bungalow.
It was very spacious and fairly clean but that was it. All bugalows were differents
But all of them were infested with mosquito but no mosquito net, some old screen on the window definitively needed to be updated.
Been given some baygon but unfortunately my uncle is asmathique.
No safe to put your belongings , or any hangers to hang your cloths. I had a desk but no chair!
The restaurant look very beautiful especially in the night but the over price food wasn't fantastic.
Then we woke up around 10pm, as someone was crashing cans from the bar right near my bungalow, not sure if they got told off, but they stoped after 15minutes and started again in the morning at 7am. So not so relaxing to spend fews days in relax bay.
The only positive of the resort is the staff, they are all very friendly and efficient.
I beleive this place can be paradise again, but right now it need a bit of love.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MimieFrance
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 15, 2012

We stayed for New Year and the hotel put on a wonderful buffet, free chinese lanterns and a great evening. The bungalow (premier fan bungalow) was fine, kept clean etc but although there was a rail with 4 hangers there was no where else to put or hang anything, a few hooks / shelves etc would really help. For two women staying for 10 nights this became really irritating.

The staff were great, really helpful and friendly and efficient (hence the scores below). Unfortunately the owner was neither helpful or friendly and in fact was not even able to return a smile from his guests. We found this put a damper on what could have been a really good stay (you can't score this element).

The yoga was amazing and on a wonderful platform overlooking the bay.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jillyalex1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 10, 2012

We returned to Relax Bay and enjoyed it even more this time. We would never look for anything else in Koh Lanta. Charming, wonderful friendliness, extraordinary great kitchen (thai / french), small but nice pool, great beach bar. Privacy, and fine balance between placement of bungalows in the terrain.
Aesthetic and cool, without loosing substans. Great staff, all the way around. Comfortable distance to San Saladan - no problem to get there and back.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ksmCopenhagen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ko Lanta hotels
1.1 mi away
Long Beach Chalet
Long Beach Chalet
#10 of 84 in Ko Lanta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 507 reviews
3.6 mi away
Twin Bay Resort
Twin Bay Resort
#20 of 84 in Ko Lanta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 491 reviews
0.3 mi away
Mook Lanta Resort
Mook Lanta Resort
#17 of 84 in Ko Lanta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 422 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Lazy Days Bungalows
Lazy Days Bungalows
#7 of 84 in Ko Lanta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 170 reviews
2.8 mi away
MOONLIGHT Exotic Bay Resort
4.3 mi away
SriLanta Resort
SriLanta Resort
#23 of 84 in Ko Lanta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 941 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Relax Bay Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Relax Bay Resort

Property: Relax Bay Resort
Address: 111 Moo 2 | AO Phrae Ae - Koh Lanta, Ko Lanta 81150, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Krabi Province > Ko Lanta
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Ko Lanta
#8 Family Hotel in Ko Lanta
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Ko Lanta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Relax Bay Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Relax bay is not your average hotel. If you look for a traditional hotel with AC, concrete walls and all amenities you can find in any deluxe hotel anywhere in the world. Well, we are not the place to be. Our rooms are Huts, spaced between 5 and 10 m from each other and set in a as Jungle-ish possible setting. There is almost no concrete and we constructed our bungalows under the trees. This means they are in the shade. Furthermore the grass-type roofs are overhanging and give protection against the sun and around the bungalows we planted flowers and plants to block out the sun. Shade means coolness but also darkness. Bamboo, a living natural product also soaks up the moisture in the air. We air the rooms, but they always smell a bit Bamboo-ish. They do not smell damp and not well kept, they smell natural.Our roofs are made from grass, so they disintegrate after a time. They are not as waterproof as concrete, or tar roofs. However they are much cooler. and they look much better. Prices on the net should be the same everywhere , but you are best served by making a direct reservation at the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Relax Bay Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Relax Bay Hotel Ko Lanta
Relax Bay Ko Lanta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing