We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrible terribly and unpleasantly for staying there!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Cha-Da Beach Resort & Spa
Ranked #57 of 84 Hotels in Ko Lanta
Skovde, Sweden
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Terrible terribly and unpleasantly for staying there!”
Reviewed June 16, 2014 via mobile

We booked at Cha da hotel for 2 nights during our first time in Lanta beach. We searched this hotel via booking.com. We didn't expect anything from the beach anyway because we knew already that it was going to be low season during our staying. We were hopefully that our hotel would cheer us up but it was not as we expected.

No tv available in the first night. We tried to call the reception and informed them that the television didn't work. We got the answer of excuse about that and they tried to fix it ASAP! And they could fix it in the day after so we had to stay in a very quiet room at the first night!

No Internet available at the restaurant. We were informed that if we were not willing to pay for the Internet so we could even use Internet for free at the restaurant. No Internet at the first day and no either Internet at the second day.

Electricity was cut off at the second night. I called the reception to ask that how long we could use the electricity again? And I just heard the unpleasantly voice from another person that answered me, 'I don't know!!!!' But I thought that she didn't know that I heard her voice!!!

No breakfast Buffe during low season. We had to order what we wanted from the staffs who worked there. Foods were limits! Boring and not quite nice!! So low values of 4.5 stars hotel

Overall during our stayings there, we were not happy with it. Not worth for the value as we paid for it. We didn't want much, just a good service from the GM even though it was low season there.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Wisaa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

384 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    69
    157
    82
    34
    42
See reviews for
158
127
9
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed May 23, 2014

Misleading adverstising on website. Lousy customer service. Most unprofessional Hotel GM ever encountered.

Electricity supply to rooms get cut off numerous times a day.

Room has no jacuzzi despite what is stated in the website. GM has no interest in attending to the needs of hotel customers.

Room Tip: Do not choose this hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Decayy11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Ko Lanta hotels

Kata Beach, Thailand
Level Contributor
37 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed April 29, 2014

We stayed at try end of April when the resort was almost empty so for us it was quite as we wanted. We booked the pool access room which was amazing, the pool is beautiful and so is the room, totally worth it. What we didn't like is the extra charge for WiFi , the bad was too hard in our opinion so we didn't sleep so well... Loots of moskitos and the breakfast/restaurant is so so...

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alon B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed April 29, 2014 via mobile

Good room but as the last one said the air con machinery is outside the door and it is noisy ! The cleaning teams are amazing and efficient ! The pool is very good! The reception staff are quite rude and you pay for every conceivable extra ! Wifi is 1500 baht for 1 week and breakfast 500 baht!

I would save your money and go down the beach and find a cheaper place !

Even the massage is 1000 baht plus 10 metres down the beach is a place for 300 baht !

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Ojgreer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level Contributor
64 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed April 27, 2014 via mobile

Not sure where the hotel got almost 5 stars. Booked a silver suite and had to change as the air con machinery was placed just outside the door, next to the bed... Reception was nice trying to find a solution so after visiting 2 other options, I settled in the esmerald suite. Closer to the pool, beach and restaurant.
-Service is average
- many small details of low maintenance, service etc... Could be improved in order to turn things around.
- feels overpriced for what it is really
- American breakfast buffet is ok, but nothing compared to what you would expect from a real 4-5 stars.
- make sure you bring anti-Mosquitos diffusers for the night in the room. Despite putting a lot of insect repellent, I woke up every morning with bites everywhere...
- service overall quite disappointing. Maybe the end of the season?
On the pros :
- beach is really nice.
- good location to watch sunset ( go to the bar a 100 m on the left for the sunset )
-very good cleaning team for the room

If you are planning to go island hoping, would recommend to save money and go for something cheaper.

Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank dolphin2508
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
56 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed April 14, 2014

We stayed here for two night during Songkran holidays.
The pool villa was very nice and not so expensive ( long holidays in Thailand). The room was very large and well appointed. We had some minor problem about the switch for bed light.
It's very difficult to turn on during the night time when we wanted to go to toilet!!!

The food was OK and included in room rate. They had Thai and American buffet.
The service was good too. The Lanta island is very nice and not too crowded. I would like to come back to Lanta island again. But I will stay at other hotel because there are many good hotels in this island or Thailand!!!!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SamTang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
37 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed March 29, 2014

This was our first time to Koh lanta and we'll definitely be back. The island has a quiet charm. The hotel is well situated, in a beautiful setting on the beach in lush gardens. We stayed in a Gold suite with direct pool access. Our room was situated in the corner which gave us extra privacy which was quite enjoyable. The room was large and luxurious and well appointed. The bathroom was big including a welcoming spa bath. The suite has an additional lounge area and patio. Staff were friendly and welcoming. New young staff at the pool bar and at dinner made communicating difficult but but not a deal breaker. Note there was a unpleasant smell emanating close to the restaurant. The food was great but we found that the restaurant was empty and staff would not be attentive and due to lack of training led them to stand around joking. However adjacent restaurants were lovely. Beach was phenomenal and quiet. A true Thai experience. In a nutshell a sensational experience for the Domingo's.

Room Tip: Pool access rooms are great. There are quiet zones (child free) and child friendly zones to suit all...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TheDomingos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ko Lanta hotels
0.1 mi away
Twin Lotus Resort & Spa
Twin Lotus Resort & Spa
#6 of 84 in Ko Lanta
726 reviews
0.2 mi away
Royal Lanta Resort and Spa
Royal Lanta Resort and Spa
#33 of 84 in Ko Lanta
347 reviews
0.3 mi away
Southern Lanta Resort
Southern Lanta Resort
#60 of 84 in Ko Lanta
190 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Twin Bay Resort
Twin Bay Resort
#18 of 84 in Ko Lanta
505 reviews
2.2 mi away
Long Beach Chalet
Long Beach Chalet
#7 of 84 in Ko Lanta
544 reviews
1.5 mi away
Lanta Sand Resort and Spa
Lanta Sand Resort and Spa
#20 of 84 in Ko Lanta
398 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cha-Da Beach Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cha-Da Beach Resort & Spa

Property: Cha-Da Beach Resort & Spa
Address: 279 Moo 1, Tambol Saladan, Ko Lanta 81150, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Krabi Province > Ko Lanta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#10 Luxury Hotel in Ko Lanta
#16 Spa Hotel in Ko Lanta
#28 Top resorts Hotel in Ko Lanta
#38 On the Beach Hotel in Ko Lanta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Cha-Da Beach Resort & Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 196
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelsforEveryone, Priceline, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Cha-Da Beach Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cha-Da Beach Resort And Spa
Cha-Da Beach Hotel Ko Lanta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing