We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“friendly host + amazing food” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Patty's Secret Garden

Patty's Secret Garden
Ranked #15 of 288 Restaurants in Ko Lanta
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $3 - $14
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Romantic, Dining on a budget, Bar scene, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Families with children, Kids
Dining options: Brunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wine and Beer
Description: Patty's Secret Garden is a charming garden restaurant and bar in Phra Ae, Long Beach, Ko Lanta. The restaurant features delicious Thai and Western Cuisine. Thai highlights include Laap Tod (deep fried minced chicken balls infused with Thai sweet basil and herbs), Gai manoa (Chicken breast in breadcrumbs served with crispy seaweed and lemon mayo)and one of the finest Massaman Currys on the island! Western highlights include awesome western breakfasts, amazing salads and one of the best burgers in Thailand. Come and recharge your batteries with us and we promise you wont be disappointed! We also have a guest house with six "flashpacker" rooms, 2 with aircon and 4 with fan. Julian, Jeed and Patty (our daughter!) Look forward to welcoming you to our Secret Garden!
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“friendly host + amazing food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 24, 2014

They actually provided cheap and comfortable rooms to stay, too. I was there with a friend for 3 nights. The family who owns the restaurant and the staffs were very friendly. We had a brunch there once and dinner twice. Their bread was homemade and vegetables organic. Their salad was great. And at the end of our stay, my friend just happened to crave some grilled squids and the staffs went to the market to get some to cook for us even it wasn't on the menu. It was impressive.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank imclearaqua
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

705 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    472
    153
    55
    10
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
KL
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Great Food, Lovely Helpful Owner”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 16, 2014

We are two adults and two children (5 & 7). We had a great lunch at Patty's. I had a tuna sandwich that was so good I was wondering what was in the secret recipe. We also had a fantastic big mozz & tomato salad. My husband had great thai dishes with just enough spice. The kids both loved the homemade nuggets and pizza. The food is really fresh with a lot of flavor. The owner is such a nice guy. We asked him about going to old town and he quickly got out a map and showed us where to go and how to get there and where to stop for a drink.

Little Patty, the owner's daughter, is a 3 year old charmer who loves to show all the kids the play area. If you have small kids this is a great place to go. You can enjoy authentic thai food and a beer while the kids have fun. It's right on the main road in Long Beach and is a great location to watch Lanta life go by.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank PamelaFKl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great food and drinks, good atmosphere.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 14, 2014 via mobile

A family friendly restaurant with a wide menu of western and Thai, cooked with skill. There were lovely frozen margaritas and great music to be listened to.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank DhakaJen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“good food good cocktails”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 14, 2014

My girlfriend and I ate here a few times over our 5 day stay in Koh Lanta and also rented a motorbike hassle free from here.

Great full English breakfast. Can't testify 100% to the authenticity because I'm American, but it was definitely quality food.

Great cocktails. We got a pina colada and a mojito. Both were fresh, delicious, and strong.

Thai food was quality, but I wouldn't recommend coming here solely for the Thai food itself. It is more expensive than other places, but that being said, if you want good drinks and a nice environment, go ahead and come here and eat the Thai food.

The owners are very friendly. We first came here because we saw that they were renting out motor bikes. The process was very easy and completely hassle free. The owner also spent a few minutes explaining a map to us and explaining the different beaches/restaurants/bars on the island.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank mikkecurl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
31 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Delicious food, nice setting”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 4, 2014

We ate at Patty's Secret Garden in Ko Lanta during our stay. It was recommended by someone we met on a dive trip. It took us nearly our whole stay in Ko Lanta before we stumbled across it - it's in Long Beach. If you're coming from Saladan, it's on the left hand side of the road, a fair ways into Long Beach. They have great signage, so it's easy to spot from a tuktuk driving past.

It has a great laid back bohemian atmosphere, with lots of seating areas and options - from chairs to bamboo style huts that are common to Ko Lanta. The staff was great - super pleasant, and helpful. We had a fried tofu and herb appetizer that was amazing, and then a veggie burger and fries, and a tofu tamarind stir fry with rice. All of it was very delicious. With two non-alcoholic drinks, the bill was about 720 baht - a little on the expensive side for Ko Lanta, but definitely worth the price and very delicious.

If you're looking for vegetarian options, Patty's has a ton of delicious ones!

  • Visited April 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Alison M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Patty's Secret Garden also viewed

Ko Lanta, Krabi Province
Ko Lanta, Krabi Province
 
Ko Lanta, Krabi Province
 

Been to Patty's Secret Garden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing