We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great time, definitely recommend”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Lanta Pavilion Resort
Ranked #73 of 85 Hotels in Ko Lanta
Reviewed April 1, 2014

We stayed here for three nights with another couple as part of our trip around the islands of Thailand.

We actually hadn't booked this hotel, had planned to stay at some bungalows along the same beach but when we arrived we weren't happy & decided to look for an alternative. We thought the Pavillion Resort looked nice and they greeted us nicely when we arrived, Rob, the Resort Manager, was particular helpful from the start and throughout our trip so we decided to spend the three days on Koh Lanta here.

We thought it was very good value for money, the rooms were to a good standard, had a nice pool & the food & drink was also good and reasonably priced.

The strip of beach where it was situated also had some good bars & restaurants to eat at.

Overall great time & good value.

Room Tip: Get an AC Room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Alex B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pavilion123, Manager at Lanta Pavilion Resort, responded to this reviewResponded April 5, 2014

It was a pleasure to meet you and I am happy you enjoyed your time here, you would be welcome back at any time. I really hope you enjoy the rest of your travelling.
Best of luck :-)

We stayed here for three nights with another couple as part of our trip around the islands of Thailand.

We actually hadn't booked this hotel, had planned to stay at some bungalows along the same beach but when we arrived we weren't happy & decided to look for an alternative. We thought the Pavillion Resort looked nice and they greeted us nicely when we arrived, Rob, the Resort Manager, was particular helpful from the start and throughout our trip so we decided to spend the three days on Koh Lanta here.

We thought it was very good value for money, the rooms were to a good standard, had a nice pool & the food & drink was also good and reasonably priced.

The strip of beach where it was situated also had some good bars & restaurants to eat at.

Overall great time & good value.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (262)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

90 - 96 of 262 reviews

Reviewed March 18, 2014

We were there 1 hour before looking for another hotel down the beach. The staff is unfriendly, they should all go to charm school, especially the front desk. The service in the restaurant is terribly slow and also unfriendly, the bar not much better. The pool was ok but short on umbrellas. The beach at low tide is full of rocks and you can't make it out for a swim (the hotel picture is taken at high tide). We stayed in a bungalow and the room was good, nice porch. The staff here needs to be whipped into shape, totally unacceptable. Find a better alternative.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Gerry S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pavilion123, Manager at Lanta Pavilion Resort, responded to this reviewResponded April 5, 2014

It amazes me how many compliments I get from the guests who stay here and say that our staff are so friendly and smiling 24 hours a day. I know things are a little slow here but this is island life and people come here for a relaxing peaceful break. I can understand that some other parts of the world the service in bars and restaurants is very fast and precise but we are an island in Thailand were life is slow and relaxed. I guess this can make some people become agitated and frustrated and the relationship gets lost. We try our best to get to know all our guests and have everybody leave with a big smile and a wonderful experience but I see this is not always possible.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 4, 2014

me and my husband and our 2 children (8 and 3) stayed here for 6 days in February 2014. It was so relaxing and peaceful. we really enjoyed our time here. The staff were so friendly and always helped with everything. There a some rocks on the beach but we played in the water a lot in the high time. There was a beautiful pool in the resort and we spent a lot of time there, our children loved it. Now we stay another place in Koh Lanta but really miss Lanta Pavilion Resort. We will go back there before we leave for sure. The food in the restaurant is cheap and the restauarant was on the beach front which we really liked. The resort helped us with everything for booking tours and how to get around the island and also to get from the airport. We love it so much

Room Tip: we only booked for 6 days and we couldnt extend our stay as the family rooms were fully booked. nex...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sonia b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pavilion123, Manager at Lanta Pavilion Resort, responded to this reviewResponded April 5, 2014

It was such a pleasure to see a happy cheerful family who en joy everyday and take the most from life. I was so happy to meet you. It was my pleasure to help you with all your information for transport and where to go and what to do on the island. I realise that many places on the island don't have somebody with good enough English to let you know all the fun and adventurous things to be seen and done so I was glad to help you make the most of that. The island is big and many things to do but I think you and your family managed to see all of the caves, waterfalls, notional park, hot springs, jungle trekiing. I hope you have as much adventure for the rest of your travels.
Best regards
Lanta Pavilion Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 3, 2014 via mobile

Booked two nights of a two week vacation here, was planning to stay here if everything was nice. First of all they advertise Temperapedic mattresses which are expensive gel memory foam mattresses, what you get instead is a mattress similar to a sofa sleeper where you can feel every spring in the thin uncomfortable mattress. Cockroaches and lizards and ants inside the room. Shower head inside bathroom with no curtain so whole area gets wet, the water pressure is just a trickle similar to a public water
fountain. There is a big sign to not throw toilet paper into toilet instead put in open waste paper basket ( to those of you in the know the only reason to do this is they don't want to buy the more expensive toilet paper that dissolves in water) then they don't clean your room until very very late in the afternoon and since there is no safe you must bring your valuables to the beach or trust the maids.
Since this is a Muslim owned and run hotel they serve no pork for breakfast so you get rubbery eggs and a chicken hotdog.
The beach in front is full of rocks and coral formations and is not access able for 1/2 the day only during high tide the resorts closer to Saladan don't have this problem.
After arriving we checked 6 other hotels, ALL were much nicer at 1/4 to 1/2 the price or for the same price you can get a luxurious room elsewhere. We ended up moving to a Buddhist owned and run place that had a fantastic Buffett breakfast and bacon, sausage, etc for almost half the cost with a much nicer pillow top mattress , toilet that you can actually flush toilet paper down, shower with a curtain ands a safe. The Lanta Pavillion would be acceptable at a $12-16 per night rate but any more would be a rip off.

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Ronnie I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pavilion123, Manager at Lanta Pavilion Resort, responded to this reviewResponded March 4, 2014

It seems you were very dissapointed with your stay here and I can only imagine what kind of place you were looking for, perhaps a 5 star in Bangkok would have been more appropriate for you. I can appologise about the mattress as the person who added the information did not realise what a Temperapedic mattress was. The mattresses we provide is nothing like a sofa mattress, it is a standard mattress which can be expected in any 3 star resort. Anybody who has been on holiday in the south of Thailand or is thinking about going will probably already know that there is small geckos which run around and also if you leave your door open or leave food crumbs on the floor you will immediately invite them inside along with ants, cockroaches and mosquitos, apart from provide mosquito nets on all of the windows which we already have there is not much more any resort can do to stop this, other than not allowing guests to eat food in the rooms. We do try our best to ensure every guest has a comfortable, enjoyable stay and we will always go out of our way where possible to help with anything at all. If you are traveling in the south of Thailand you can hate or embrace the lifestyle but a little research or read some traveler blogs should prevent any surprises. Every place I have visited in Thailand requires that you do not flush toilet paper down the toilet, it is standard practice. There is a water pressured cleaner provided which is a lot more cleaner and hygenic than using paper. If you are laid back, relaxed and an easy going person you will love Koh Lanta but if you are very fussy and expect really high standards maybe you will not enjoy so much. We have a resort guidelines card in the room and the details are all explained at reception, these guidelines cover things like, hang your "clean room" sign on the door if you wish your room to be cleaned, some people have late nights and do not want to be disturbed so the cleaner will not knock on the doors to check if there is no sign displayed. The guidelines also explain that there is safety deposit boxes in our secure area at reception which are accessible from 6am - 10.30pm. Our prices are very good for the amenities of our resort and there is no such rooms for 1/4 of the price, if there was we would match it. Koh Lanta is 80% muslim, it is a beautiful place where buddhists, muslim and chinese all live in harmony. More buddhist areas are located around the Bangkok area. We are sorry to disappoint you with no pork at breakfast but this can not change, there is other delicious Thai style options available. There is a 3 metre difference between high tide and low tide in Koh Lanta, we have provided a big poster showing the timetable. There is only 1 other beach (long beach) that has less rocks but still has rocks. Long beach is busy, loud and more of a back packer style place. Klong Khong is relaxed and peaceful and only 5 minutes away from long beach if you wish to go to the beach there or for a more lively night life. The beach on Klong Khong is perfect for swimming in the high tide. If any body has any questions or needs any information emails will be replied with as much detail as possible, info@lantapavilion.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 18, 2014 via mobile

Me and my family have been to plenty of places in Thailand. Some with higher standards and some with lower. We always end up comparing them with this place and none has yet ever beaten lanta pavillion. The staff is lovely, great food and a beautiful beach with a laid back feeling. However, it is not possible to swim during low tide but since they have a pool this is not a problem. Definitely worth a visit if you are going to Koh Lanta.

Stayed: March 2013
1  Thank Skobbe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pavilion123, Manager at Lanta Pavilion Resort, responded to this reviewResponded March 4, 2014

We are always happy to hear people have had a good time in our resort. Usually if 20 people have a good experience maybe 1 will write a review but if 1 person has a bad experience they will write a review for sure so it is very nice to see happy experiences. Almost every guest who checks out of our resort is so happy and wants to return and we love to great returning guests.
Hope to see you again

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 14, 2014

Average room with a less than average bed. Restaurant is on the beach and the hotel offers sunbeds, chairs, mats and pillows w/o charge.
Its true that swimming is challenging at low tide but at high tide its OK and snorkeling is fine as well.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RasmusBremer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 31, 2014

While I enjoyed my stay at Lanta Pavilion, I think you need to set your expectations before going to this hotel...I think the word "resort" is a bit of a stretch. We went in mid January 2014, so while the price of our room wasn't dirt cheap ($70USD), it was one of the more affordable options we found, and I was very satisfied with our experience.

What I liked: I loved the hotel's proximity to the beach- the bungalows are not sitting literally on the beach, but a very short and pleasant walk through the grounds. Traveling with two other girlfriends in our 20's- we loved all of the Rasta bars and restaurants on the beach near our hotel. The beach was beautiful and not crowded. The rooms were clean (enough), A/C worked great and we had plenty of hot showers and space.

The things I didn't like: the breakfast was essentially pointless- some greasy fried eggs and a cold piece of toast with juice. Our bathroom smelled like a sewer- we literally had to hold our breath anytime we would use it. In general the state of the rooms looked pretty sad, definitely nothing like the pictures on this website looked. They were fine, but everything just looked worn and tired. When the tide went out you couldn't swim in the water anymore because of how rocky it was...obviously not the hotel's fault at all, just a bit of a bummer.

Overall I had a good experience and would recommend this place for the price!

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Heather M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ko Lanta hotels
2.7 mi away
Lanta Nature Beach Resort
Lanta Nature Beach Resort
#33 of 85 in Ko Lanta
225 reviews
1.9 mi away
Thai House Beach Resort
Thai House Beach Resort
#16 of 85 in Ko Lanta
215 reviews
2.4 mi away
Lanta Nice Beach Resort
Lanta Nice Beach Resort
#74 of 85 in Ko Lanta
180 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
Ocean View Resort
Ocean View Resort
#67 of 85 in Ko Lanta
85 reviews
2.1 mi away
Lanta Seafront Resort
Lanta Seafront Resort
#77 of 85 in Ko Lanta
62 reviews
5.3 mi away
Saladan Beach Resort
Saladan Beach Resort
#32 of 85 in Ko Lanta
55 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lanta Pavilion Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lanta Pavilion Resort

Address: 120 Moo 2 | Saladan, Ko Lanta 81150, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Krabi Province > Ko Lanta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#36 Top resorts Hotel in Ko Lanta
#45 On the Beach Hotel in Ko Lanta
Price Range: $14 - $100 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Lanta Pavilion Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Steps from Klong Khong Beach this tropical resort offers, free pick up from the pier, free parking, free WIFI, outdoor adult & child pools, lantern lit pathways and our famous sun set restaurant. The resort also has a professional travel and tour advice centre and beachfront relax bar beside the swimming pool. The spacious and modern bungalows have lantern lit garden pathways with luscious green tropical gardens & outdoor veranda area offering a tranquil and peaceful setting. AIRPORT PICK UP / TRANSFER SERVICE AVAILABLE UPON REQUEST Ideally located in the middle of the West coast which is the side with all the beaches. The location offers relaxation and a good night sleep yet only minutes away from the action or steps away from spectacular sunsets on the beautiful Khlong Khong beach. Accessing the rest of the island is very convenient from Lanta Pavilion Resort as it is almost an equal distance to each interesting place on the island. The nature and scenery in the South, shopping and Saladan Pier in the north and the cultural villages such as Lanta Old Town, the chao lay village and the Thung Yee Peng Village. Each air-conditioned room comes fitted with a flat screen cable TV, free Wi-FI, fridge, mini bar, safety deposit box & en-suite bathroom with hot water and free toiletries. The beach front 'sun set restaurant" offers multi nationality dishes cooked from fresh ingredients. There is also a daily beach front BBQ with fresh "catch of the day" and night time fire show in high season. Laundry, dry cleaning, motorbike hire & massage services available along with many day tours and diving trips can all be arranged at the resorts reception. Important information: Please be aware that during the monsoon season (May - October), the restaurant is sometimes closed or open limited hours. The beachfront relax bar is open all year round. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Agoda, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, Orbitz and HotelQuickly so you can book your Lanta Pavilion Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lanta Pavilion Hotel Ko Lanta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing