We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing simplicity!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Lanta Pavilion Resort
Ranked #71 of 84 Hotels in Ko Lanta
Tonsberg
Level 6 Contributor
163 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Relaxing simplicity!”
Reviewed January 28, 2013 via mobile

You must remember, this isn't a high class 5 star resort.... It's a small basic clean resort.. The newer deluxe bungalows are nice and clean. Bathroom is simple but clean..
Breakfast included in the room gets kinda boring when you're staying for a longer period..
The service in the restaurant is always friendly, but can be painstakingly ineffective at times and they don't always get it right... so there is room for improvement. But if you're nice and point it out.. you'll probably end up with what you want... in time... ;-) (Relax!! This is basically the way it is everywhere on Ko Lanta)
The service in the reception is compleatly hazzle free... No complaints.
The guys in the bar... Relax man!! Thanks for everything. Nice people, friendly service and always smiling!!
The ladies at the beach massage... Well worth several visits.
Beach is nice... But remember that there is a reef and you need to know where to walk when you go for a swim.

I would like to recommend this resort to everybody who wants an easy, friendly and clean resort, with its small imperfections, and a relaxing holiday.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dr_Nico
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hawaiian9, Manager at Lanta Pavilion Resort, responded to this review, February 6, 2013
Thanks for you kind words. Yes, breakfast.... I have been after the boss for 2 years now to change the breakfast style. I would prefer a breakfast menu with several choices to our current style of eggs,sausage toast, fruit, coffee or.tea and juice -- every day. Much better to be able to chose from a variety of simple breakfasts. I'm sure after reading this and the many other reviews that mention our breakfast, the owner will see the light. Glad you enjoyed your stay!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

253 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    60
    74
    50
    30
    39
See reviews for
44
109
21
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed January 24, 2013

We stayed at Lanta Pavillion for 4 nights In January. The hotel is ok, however it is incredibly expensive for what you actually get. To add some perspective, we were travelling on a budget, and paid around £30 a night for this hotel which was by far the most expensive of all the islands we visited.

We had a standard room with air con. The room although clean is in desperate need of some TLC. We picked up a leaflet for the hotel at the front desk, and the photos make the room look very different to what you will actually get. Also, the beds are rather lumpy!

On the plus side, the hotel grounds are well kept, there is a nice swimming pool to use, the hotel is right on the beach and the hotel restaurant serves some very nice food.

Overall this is not a terrible hotel, the surrounding are nice, and the restaurant is good, but I was left very disappointed with the quality of our room considering the cost of it.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve1758
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hawaiian9, Manager at Lanta Pavilion Resort, responded to this review, February 6, 2013
Koh Lanta is an expensive island, as are many of the smaller near-by islands. I too think that it is expensive for what you get compared to other parts of Thailand, but Lanta is trying to go up market. This seems to be changing as market forces do their magic. We are, however, very competitively priced compared to other resorts on the island, and have many different discounts. If we have rooms available at the last minute, the price drops considerably, but we are usually full in high season, which shows that we are competitive. If you are able to come in the low season, it's just as nice or nicer, except you might have rainy days. Still plenty of sun though and up to eighty percemt off. In the high season. the prices will always be determined by what people are willing to pay! It doesn't last long and we need return on investment!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed January 11, 2013

My boyfriend and I spent four nights at the Lanta Pavilion in December. We were supposed to stay two nights but after our first immediately extended our stay to four. This is a simple hotel with clean, modest but comfortable rooms, hot showers, and very friendly staff. The rooms are not directly on the beach but you just have to walk through a path through the courtyard to reach it. It is not a fancy resort but does have a simple pool and nice chairs out on the beach, and a beachside restaurant for sunset drinks and dining.

The reason we liked our stay so much was we loved its location on Klong Khong beach. While it is not a great beach for swimming (rocks) it stretches for ages in either direction, has out of this world sunsets, and tons of rasta bars and beach shack restaurants to hang out at. It was perfect for a couple in their 20's to play on all day - with cheap food and drinks available on foot in either direction of the hotel.

Koh Lanta has a lot of fancy, secluded resorts on quiet beaches in the south but Pavilion was a much better fit for us as we wanted to interact with the town instead of just vegging at a pool all day. If you want to do the same, the Pavilion is a great place to rest your head. They also have free pick up from the ferry!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tory L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pavilion123, Manager at Lanta Pavilion Resort, responded to this review, January 18, 2013
Couldn't have said it better myself! Some people love our beach and style, some don't. Reviews like this help peope chose. Thank you! Our aim is to make everyone here happy!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed January 4, 2013

we stayed in peak season, shortly after new year eve. The bungalows are pretty much ok. And very clean, even we met dirty bed sheets (caming just from laundry), never happened again. The bungalow are buil in two rows. Between there is a way, used by motor bikes even at night. Taxis are coming and going also. Staff is kind. At the beach you will find the pool and restaurant, where you have breakfast: american breakfast=2 fried eggs, 1 sausage, 2 slices of toast, 1 cup of tea/coffee.
I think thats vey poor. The price in these days for the bungalow is high. You will find better resorts (buffett) 10-20% cheaper.
The beach: is strewn with pieces of corals, not easy to walk. And in the sea are hundreds of rocks. Swimming at low tide is impossible and at high tide you have mind your feet, hurts much.

Room Tip: take a bungalow in the middle between entry and beach
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hawaiian9, Manager at Lanta Pavilion Resort, responded to this review, February 16, 2013
Koh Lanta is an expensive island, relative to most of Thailand. We are very competitively priced, having many promotions throughout the year to keep our rooms cheaper than our competitors. We rae about the same price as resorts that are not nearly as nice. We have the nicest grounds on the beach and probably the best service, yet stay competitively priced. The best prices are usually available at the last minute. It is easy to tell how busy the island is by looking at online agents like Agoda. If there are many rooms available at many resorts, chances are that you can wait until the last minute and get a deal. If the island is full, the prices go back up.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norrtälje, Stockholms Län, Sweden
2 reviews
Reviewed December 25, 2012

If you are looking for a relaxing place this is it. It's a basic hotel, not a very high standard but it's a good location and calm beach. The best food is just a couple of yards outside the hotel! on the right side of the road, to the left, there is three girls having an resturant they got the best thai food on the island!

Room Tip: for the best standard rooms pic room B1 or B2!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anthon B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed December 8, 2012

Location - Lanta Pavillion is located right on Khlong Khlong beach, the beach itself is beautiful, white sand and blue sea. There are a few beastly rocks in the sea, so be careful, I managed to smash my hip one day (but then I am clumsy). You can get in and out easily enough but you may find yourself squeeling if you come across an exceptionally stoney bit. The rooms themselves are all located around paths surrounded by beautiful gardens, really are amazing (will attempt to upload pics). They all work so hard on the upkeep of them.
Rooms - The rooms are basic, but have everything you need and are cleaned whenever you put the "Make up my Room" card on the door. The only downside is the shower, which in the room we were in was really quite awful, and took me about 20 minutes to desand every day. But we managed and I am ridiculously picky when it comes to rooms.
Reception and other Facilities - Now the Sunset Restaurent is amazing, I am again quite a fussy eater, but was absolutely spoilt for choice, and we ate at a few places along Khlong Khlong beach but this was without doubt our favourite. The people who work here are friendly, and they all manage to speak enlgish. Plenty of excursions available on reception, and they will arrange everything for you!
I cannot recommend this place enough for you - if you want a nice relaxing stay at reasonable prices with friendly people then this will be perfect.

Room Tip: We stayed in one of the newer built ones with A/C didn't see the others so can't comment but...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jenga1300
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hawaiian9, Manager at Lanta Pavilion Resort, responded to this review, December 11, 2012
Thanks for your kind words! I'm glad you enjoyed your stay. Sorry about the shower. Sometimes when we are full the water pressure gets low and sometimes individual rooms have problems. Usually, if the staff is informed, we can sort it out quickly. We are also buying a new pump so should have fewer problems like this. The chef will be very happy to see this review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed November 23, 2012 via mobile

This place does what it says on the tin well...good location for all the resturants as this appears to be the busiest part of the resort....bike hire for 250 for 24 hours a bargin...they also appear to be new bikes...breakfast included...food in beach bar good...coffee is very strong....beach a bit rocky...common in koh lanta...very quiet resort don't come if you are singl and wanna party...

Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Reiceproject
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hawaiian9, Manager at Lanta Pavilion Resort, responded to this review, December 11, 2012
Glad you enjoyed your stay! We usually don't get rated as a "party" resort as nearby Koh Phi Phi and other bars on the beach are much more more party oriented, but our bar man does try to keep eveyone happy and will stay open all night if the party is happenning (as long as it's not noisy enough to bother the other guests). We are usually more of a chilled place, so you can get the best of both worlds!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ko Lanta hotels
0.3 mi away
Lanta Darawadee Hotel
Lanta Darawadee Hotel
#69 of 84 in Ko Lanta
39 reviews
2.4 mi away
Lanta Nice Beach Resort
Lanta Nice Beach Resort
#67 of 84 in Ko Lanta
167 reviews
2.1 mi away
Lanta Seafront Resort
Lanta Seafront Resort
#76 of 84 in Ko Lanta
59 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Blue Andaman Lanta Resort
Blue Andaman Lanta Resort
#41 of 84 in Ko Lanta
286 reviews
2.7 mi away
Lanta Nature Beach Resort
Lanta Nature Beach Resort
#42 of 84 in Ko Lanta
196 reviews
2.1 mi away
Good Days Lanta Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lanta Pavilion Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lanta Pavilion Resort

Property: Lanta Pavilion Resort
Address: 120 Moo 2 | Saladan, Ko Lanta 81150, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Krabi Province > Ko Lanta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#34 Top resorts Hotel in Ko Lanta
#42 On the Beach Hotel in Ko Lanta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Lanta Pavilion Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Steps from Klong Khong Beach this tropical resort offers, free pick up from the pier, free parking, free WIFI, outdoor adult & child pools, lantern lit pathways and our famous sun set restaurant. The resort also has a professional travel and tour advice centre and beachfront relax bar beside the swimming pool. The spacious and modern bungalows have lantern lit garden pathways with luscious green tropical gardens & outdoor veranda area offering a tranquil and peaceful setting. AIRPORT PICK UP / TRANSFER SERVICE AVAILABLE UPON REQUEST Ideally located in the middle of the West coast which is the side with all the beaches. The location offers relaxation and a good night sleep yet only minutes away from the action or steps away from spectacular sunsets on the beautiful Khlong Khong beach. Accessing the rest of the island is very convenient from Lanta Pavilion Resort as it is almost an equal distance to each interesting place on the island. The nature and scenery in the South, shopping and Saladan Pier in the north and the cultural villages such as Lanta Old Town, the chao lay village and the Thung Yee Peng Village. Each air-conditioned room comes fitted with a flat screen cable TV, free Wi-FI, fridge, mini bar, safety deposit box & en-suite bathroom with hot water and free toiletries. The beach front 'sun set restaurant" offers multi nationality dishes cooked from fresh ingredients. There is also a daily beach front BBQ with fresh "catch of the day" and night time fire show in high season. Laundry, dry cleaning, motorbike hire & massage services available along with many day tours and diving trips can all be arranged at the resorts reception. Important information: Please be aware that during the monsoon season (May - October), the restaurant is sometimes closed or open limited hours. The beachfront relax bar is open all year round. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Expedia, Agoda, Priceline, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Lanta Pavilion Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lanta Pavilion Hotel Ko Lanta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing