We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It is not even open - building site!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Twin Lotus Resort & Spa by Burasari
Ranked #7 of 84 Hotels in Ko Lanta
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 14, 2012

We booked two nights here through Agoda.com after a long and stressful journey you can imagine our upset upon find the hotel not even open and basically one large construction site.

We did not stay here in the end as it would have been impossible, be very wary of booking this place until it is certain that it is open again!

The only positive I can say is that the manager did help us find alternative accommodation nearby, but this should NEVER of happened in the first place!

Shambles.

Room Tip: Check the hotel is actually not still under construction!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank tacohound
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (765)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

349 - 355 of 765 reviews

Reviewed June 19, 2010

We stayed in Thailand for two weeks and loved it, an amazing place to visit. The other hotels we stayed in were fantastic. The President Palace in Bangkok, The Houben on Koh Lanta, Phi Phi Island Village Resort, Silom Centre Point Bangkok and the Phra Nang on Koh Lanta - all great hotels, well maintained facilities and lovely staff, all worth a visit. When we arrived at The Twin Lotus, we were shocked at how run down and dilapidated the grounds, rooms and pools were. The restaurant has a limited and extremely overpriced menu. The website in no way reflects the property. Our room was old and dirty (see photos) and the area unsafe - on seeing the flimsy lock on the back door of the room we decided to leave straight away. We booked the Phra Nang on the internet, based on other travellers' recommendations on tripadvisor, and left straight away. We are glad we did, to stay at the Twin Lotus would have ruined an otherwise wonderful holiday. The taxi driver arranged via the Concierge overcharged us by 400 Baht (double the price) to go to the Phra Nang. We have been waiting for a refund from the Twin Lotus since February, unfortunately the hotel has refused to refund even one of the 6 nights we had prepaid. Although the rest of the island's hotel were full, it is telling that the Twin Lotus still had rooms to sell. I will be back to Thailand but I would rather sleep on the beach than pay for this awful hotel.

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BerlinDublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 10, 2010

We booked 2 nights over the internet while travelling in Thailiand. The sea side is nothing special. The resort seems abandoned. It is not central. The food at the restaurant was not eatable and I left it in my plate and they seemed to be used to that and did not ask me if anything was wrong with it and or if I wanted something else instead. It is really expensive for what you get, the standard room is old and the bathroom shower was giving me the electro shock. I definitely do not recommand this resort, it was the only bad place where we have been in Thailand!

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ChicaMorena2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 28, 2010

We stayed for ten days at the Twin Lotus Resort on the Island of Koh Lanta, in March 2010, for the second part of our Thailand holiday. Following on from three days in busy sleazy Bangkok, we found the Twin Lotus to be delightful haven of tranquility. At the time of our stay, the hotel occupancy was only thirty percent, which meant that staff and facilities were never stretched.
The hotel is situated at the north end of Khlong Dao beach, on the west coast of the island of Koh Lanta Ya,i close to the northern tip. (Note that at the time of writing Google Maps places this hotel on the Thai mainland, miles away from its true location!). TheTwin Lotus is just one of a number of resort hotels strung along the length of the mile-long beach. It occupies a large expanse of land behind the beach, with the main swimming pool, bar, and restaurant situated at the front overlooking the sea, while the bulk of the guest accomodation is scattered in beautifully tended garden areas behind. We had a "deluxe room" on the upper storey of a two-decked terrace of rooms at the back of the resort, overlooking a palm-fringed lawn (about a three or four minute stroll from the beach). The room had all that we expected from a four-star holiday hotel, with twin beds,wash- basin, and cupboards in the principal area, complete with refridgerated mini-bar, satellite TV, wardrobes with guest robes and slippers, excellent air-condtioning, tea/coffee making equipment, hair-dryer, programmable safe, etc. The spacious bathroom with shower, w/c, and full length mirrors was separated by a sliding frosted-glass door. A wooden door opposite led outside into a small enclosed yard with an outdoor bathtub (open to the sky). A lockable service entrance at the back of the room allowed access by the maids for daily sevicing of the rooms without disturbing any guests sunbathing on the veranda at the front . Copious free bottled water was replenished daily, as were the tea and coffee sachets. Mini-bar tarrifs were reasonable, and not much more than the prices that the local shops charged for the same items.
The buffet breakfast, supplied in the main restaurant overlooking the pool and beach, consisted of a decent choice of the usual hot and cold food and fruit juices, with fresh tea/coffee brought to your table. We didn't use the restaurant for any other meals (as we were Bed and Breakfast only), although the menu looked good (if a little overpriced!).
The beach and sea were really excellent for bathing, with gradually sloping sand, clean water, and gentle waves. The rest of the beach was backed by a continuous string of restaurants offering a massive range of both Thai and international cuisine, and often specialising in seafood .We tried eight or nine of these, and all were pretty good if rather "samey". On the last day, we realised that we had missed what was probably the most up-market (and expensive) restaurant on the beach, which was only about fifty yards north of the Twin Lotus (in the opposite direction from all the other restaurants) , with a "Royal Thai" type cooking that was close to " haute cuisine".
The hotel provides free bicycles (all newish good quality mountain-type bikes) which are great for getting to the local shops on the back roads, and will take you to the little town and ferry port of Sala Dan in about fifteen minutes. Also provided free was internet access (four PCs in the reception building), although the bandwidth was pretty narrow (remember dial-up speeds?) and websites tended to "time-out" frequently. Since attempting to write and send a "hotmail" email almost always ended in the connection being terminated before the message could be sent, we found that it was always best to highlight and "copy" the email message that one had just composed, so that it could be quickly "pasted" back in to Hotmail after a reset and sent immediately before the program had timed-out!
The staff were always extremely helpful and friendly, and there was never any overt expectation of tipping.
All in all, we were very happy with this hotel and its friendly ambiance. Yes - as has been mentioned in other reviews - the rooms are probably due for a refurbishment soon, but everything was clean and tidy, and it has the feel of a genuine 4-star resort.

The majority of other visitors to this island are Scandinavian, and it has acquired a good reputation as being middle-class and family-friendly. There were quite a few young children around during our stay, and most were quiet and well behaved. We saw no signs at all of the sleazy side of Thailand in Koh Lanta. It was very hot and dry in March (35-40 degrees most days) and I'm pleased to say that there were no mosquitos at this time!

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lupin100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 18, 2010

The speed boat transfer from krabi (organised by hotel) was good. However, our room (which was supposed to be deluxe) was a grave disappointment. It was shabby, gloomy and on the edge of the rather run-down complex neighbouring the main road to Saladan. We promptly asked to be moved and were taken to the beach end of the complex and housed in a bungalow, which was much more indicative of what we had paid (£120 a night). If luxury is what you are after and you paid over £75 a night to stay at this hotel, I would not settle for anything less than a bungalow near to the beach - the apartment we were shown was not 3*, let alone 4*. That said, the staff were very helpful.
There is a language barrier, so be prepared for this if you have special needs or dietary requirements. Further, the spa is seriously lacking facilities - there is no yoga, tai chi, manicure, pedicure or meditation (despite what the website advertises).
The food at the Twin Lotus, although good on the whole, is quite pricey - the restaurants along the beach cater for all ages and budgets and there are plenty of good value eateries farther along the beach.
The hotel has good bikes, snorkel gear, body boards, kayak available to hire free of charge and I thought this was a great facility - we made use of these every day.
The holiday makers to Koh Lanta are formed of a good mix of ages and nationalities (but mainly families) and by venturing into Saladan or moving around the island, you do get to experience the local culture so you can escape from the feeling of being trapped in a resort. Beware that a Thomas Cook hotel has already stamped its mark on this particular beach (and it is not too far from Twin Lotus) so I am not sure how long it will be until the beach is invaded by annoying animation reps and 18-30 pub crawls ;) The tranquil Koh Lanta may be a very different place this time next year.
The sea is gorgeous, just like a bath. It was a little rainy and overcast in January but perfect if you're not a sun worshipper. We were still able to get a nice colour. The pool at the hotel is also quite nice, but the sun beds are plastic and uncomfortable as not all have covers - it's a small point, but again one to bear in mind if you are after luxury.
A disappointing end to the holiday was being squashed on to a speed boat with a rather disorganised family of six (and all of their luggage). It was a case of the hotel trying to get more money but not actually putting on an adequate service - the boat could barely move and the 2 hour drive to Krabi airport was almost unbearable with noisy children. If you're brave enough to barter, perhaps you could book something private from an operator in Saladan in order to avoid this issue.
To summarise: good location, plenty to do but be wary of getting good value for money - Twin Lotus was very mediocre in places, so in order to get the most out of your holiday don't be afraid to complain!

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank laceyfamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 27, 2010

We stayed at the Twin Lotus in Ko Lanta for our anniversary trip during the end of Jan beginning Feb in 2009 and absolutely loved it.

We were welcomed with a nice foot wash and massage and fresh fruit and then a day later, when the hotel found out it was our anniversary, they gave us an anniversary cake which was so big that we had to share with the staff!!

We stayed in a standard room which was really nice and clean and well equipped. We stayed at the bottom floor of the hotel with the garden view and close to the garden pool. The were a wooden rail to hand our wet bathing gear and staff were really accommodating with everything. Laundry service was excellent and cheap.

The location of the hotel is perfect. Less than 10 mins from the Pier for the ferry to Krabi and the hotel had free shuttle service. The hotel also had a shuttle service from the hotel to the restaurants in Saladan, at scheduled times. We didn’t use this service as we rented motorbike and bicycles from the hotel to get around the area. We used the bicycles to ride from our hotel room to the breakfast area in the morning which was like a 7 min walk but we found riding the bicycle (free for hire) more enjoyable! We took a ride through the local roads, roadside markets and pulled up at secluded beaches away from the hotel and loved it ! Breakfast was plenty and great variety from hot food to fresh fruit and the staff were very attentive.

The main pool is located right in front of the beach so you can swim up and have a view of the beach. It wasn’t every hard to get a spot for the pool lounges as most of the people also enjoyed the private beach of the hotel. The hotel is located towards the end of the beach which is nice but not far away at all from all the nice restaurants located on the beach. I recommended eating anywhere along the beach. We tried everywhere and loved them. They are certainly cheaper than the hotel and tax free. Same with the beach bars. We usually left our hotel, walked along the beach to these fantastic restaurants on the beach and sat there for hours enjoying our meals and drinks. There is like a 7-Eleven store about 5 mins walk long the beach from the hotel where you can get a lots of things from sun screen to packet noodles and if you walk about from this shop towards the road, you will find other shops including pharmacy, opti-care etc – very convenient if you run out of supplies. The 7-Eleven staff were very helpful as if they don’t have anything that you want, they will try and get it for you to take you to a place where you can get it for a mere 100baht.

Also, all the island tours you might want to arrange for (like the 5 island tour – loved it!) are also conveniently located along the beach. Hunt around for a good deal. Don’t go with the tours organised by the Hotel -they are too expensive. Same with massages etc.Along the beach you can get a nice massage on the beach for about 250baht !

I would really recommend this hotel for anyone who is looking for a nice, restful getaway. The beach is not crowded, the nights out are very chilled and relaxing and walks along the beach are amazing. This place is for couples and children. Although we mainly spotted couples in this area.

You wont be disappointed! I will definitely be staying at the Twin Lotus again for an overall good value for money, great location and lovely staff.

  • Stayed: January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank thaihols
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
An Agoda Traveler
Reviewed January 16, 2010

  • Stayed: January 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank An Agoda Traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ko Lanta hotels
2.1 mi away
Layana Resort and Spa
Layana Resort and Spa
#1 of 84 in Ko Lanta
1,485 reviews
2.3 mi away
Long Beach Chalet
Long Beach Chalet
#6 of 84 in Ko Lanta
571 reviews
10.1 mi away
The Houben Hotel ( Adult Only )
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Lanta Sand Resort and Spa
Lanta Sand Resort and Spa
#17 of 84 in Ko Lanta
424 reviews
0.6 mi away
Crown Lanta Resort & Spa
10.6 mi away
Pimalai Resort and Spa
Pimalai Resort and Spa
#2 of 84 in Ko Lanta
2,098 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Twin Lotus Resort & Spa by Burasari? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Twin Lotus Resort & Spa by Burasari

Address: 199, Moo 1 | Sala Dan, Klong Dao Beach, Ko Lanta 81150, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Krabi Province > Ko Lanta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Ko Lanta
#4 Spa Hotel in Ko Lanta
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Ko Lanta
Price Range: $71 - $299 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Twin Lotus Resort & Spa by Burasari 4.5*
Number of rooms: 76
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Twin Lotus Resort, Koh Lanta is re-opening its doors in late 2012 after a full renovation and the addition of newly constructed Villas and facilities. Situated on 12 acres of gardens and a 3-kilometer white-sand beach, new facilities include a brand new Spa & Wellness Center as well as Beachfront Bar & Restaurant. Villas are located on the beachfront, as well as in the gardens and overlooking the canal that runs through the property. Please note that according to resort policy, Twin Lotus welcomes guests aged 18 and over only. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, Hotwire, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Twin Lotus Resort & Spa by Burasari reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Twin Lotus Resort And Spa
Twin Lotus Hotel Ko Lanta
Twin Lotus Ko Lanta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing