We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great potential ruined by bad business practice”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Lanta Riviera Resort
Ranked #124 of 145 Ko Lanta B&B and Inns
Shanghai
Level Contributor
50 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Great potential ruined by bad business practice”
Reviewed February 21, 2013

This "resort" gets 3 stars because it`s an average between good food, nice location and abysmal services.

We booked a air-con room with Booking.com and when we got there they insisted that we booked a standard fan room. That, I didn`t like and as it turns out some other visitors had the same problem before us. The pictures and description on Booking.com is not really what they have available when you get there.

After 2 nights we upgraded to the air-con.

The bungallows are nice but pricey compared to other resorts in the area.

They do have a pool and that is a big plus because the tide is strong in this area so in the afternoon there`s no swimming in the sea. The coral peaks out of the water.

They have a restaurant with very good food. The downside is that the breakfast is expensive and some of the servers are plain rude.

The bar next door has the best Mojito in all Koh Lanta, and trust me, I`ve tried about two dozen different places.

My advice is : spend a bit more money on the air-con bungallows and you won`t have any problems here.

Room Tip: Get bungallows closer to the pool. The wireless is stronger there. Avoid the "standard room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vdodan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

255 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    23
    62
    66
    44
    60
See reviews for
27
102
14
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 29, 2013

We stayed here for 7 nights with 4 other friends and their children. It felt very safe and the children were happy to run from room to room. 3 of us were allocated rooms in the block, rather than a bungalow. It was nice in the evening being elevated as you got a nice breeze blowing through. Unfortunately our room was a bit smelly, which seemed to be due to the drainage system. Our A/C broke near the end of our visit which I reported to reception and it was fixed within half an hour. In hindsight a move to a bungalow may have been the better option.

Staff in the restaurant were all very helpful and friendly and the Thai food was amazing. One of our party was Thai and she was VERY impressed with the quality of the Thai food being served.
Freedom bar that is allocated on the resort was also really relaxed and friendly, great cocktails for 120 baht!!
The beach is beautiful and the swimming is good right outside the resort. It can be a bit rocky out in the water but nothing that is going to stop you swimming.
Staff at reception were really helpful when trying to book onto a Thai cooking course, giving us all the options available.
Good resort on an AMAZING beach, very chilled. Would definitely return, but ask for bungalow

Room Tip: If allocated a room in the block ask if you can be moved into a bungalow as they seem to be more rec...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NicnacM72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed January 22, 2013

tuk tuk driver tok us here got a room at the front by pool and bar was 900 baht we paid wen we arrived after looking at the room. when we went to the room on closer inspection the bathroom floor was filthy with slime so we asked them if they could just mop it a guy came and looked then just he left and was playing a game of pool laughing about it, we took our bags to reception and said we wanted our money so we could stay somewhere else where the staff might be helpful and they refused us . we had been in the room for 1 minute and they said no refunds , at this point the owner cane up and slammed his hand down aggresivly and said GET OUT to my girlfriend we eventually got 500 back but not the full amount very bad service would not recommend even botherig! we found a place down the road the same price and twice as nice.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank kylieviolet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Ko Lanta hotels

Spokane, Washington
Level Contributor
116 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 134 helpful votes
Reviewed January 3, 2013

The bungalows are very modern with good A/C. The hotel is hard to find but they will pick you up at the dock when you arrive by boat. It is a few miles from the dock area. The pool is nice also. This is the kind of place we pictured when we came to Thailand. It's right on the beach with dining overlooking the beach. The staff is friendly. There are some problems. No in room safe and the cabinet they keep your things in for safe keeping is behind the front desk with one key to open all the drawers. Not inspiring. The service and food in the restaurant is not the best. They say they are a Muslim establishment so they don't serve pork. This means the pizza and other non-Thai foods are not tasty. Stick to Thai food. The only other restaurant is a shabby open air affair across the highway but the food is much better there. It is next to the tattoo parlor and the menu lists tattoos you can get in addition to the food! It is easy to rent mopeds and I recommend you tour the island on a moped. It is scenic and fun. Lanta is not a "party" island full of late night young revelers like Koh Phi Phi so it is much more relaxed and is easy to get around. Lanta is probably my favorite island in Thailand and I have been all over the north and south. Koh Samui for instance is crowded and boring. Koh Phi Phi of course is a disaster and unless you are a backpacker 20 something partier I would avoid Koh Phi Phi like the plague.

Room Tip: Get a bungalow away from the pool and bar since it will be noisy at night. All rooms are close to t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Homeboynot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai, China
1 review
Reviewed January 2, 2013

We stayed in this resort on Dec 27, 2012. The bathroom was so dirty, air conditioner was broken (we couldn't sleep for entire night), the brown color of bath towel had many white dots of bleach (we only got 1 bath towel for 2 persons). 
Next day we had breakfast in the restaurant, during the time we have heard so many people were talking and laughing very loud and thought the noise was from other guests, but unfortunately it was coming from restaurant staffs. After breakfast we packed our stuffs into our luggage and then went out with motorbike for quick tour. Around 11am we lost the way to go to resort, because the signage is very small. Finally we arrived resort and requested for check-out in the reception. The receptionist asked for 200 baht for 40 minutes late. I told her we were not informed the check out time while checking in your resort, but she still insisted us to pay. I told her I worked at front office in the hotel for years and we give our hotel guests a bit time to prepare before C/O, besides, we always tell guests the time of check-out while guest C/I and also make calls to remind guests the C/O time again at the day. 
Suddenly a Thailand guy wearing sport wear jacket with long hair and unshaved mustache came to us and insisted us to pay with bad attitude. I told him we are not going to pay 200 baht, because we were not aware of C/O time, he said he'll call the police man, I told him no problem, but I would like to see your manager as well, he said Ok, the manager will come soon. 
After a few minutes, the manager wasn't there. My husband and I think it's time to go and we can't wait any longer since I'm pregnant and the driver of tuk tuk was waiting for us. The Thailand guy grabbed the driver's key the said nobody is allowed to leave unless we pay. I was very angry....some other hotel guests saw this situation and were telling him "she is pregnant, you don't need make thing so bad". He said "I don't [--] care about she is pregnant". My husband was also very angry and asked his name, he said his name is "lucky [--] mother whatever".... In the end we left 100 baht to him.... He said he doesn't want the money anymore. 
In short, we were very disappointed the service in this resort with poor facilities and bad service and we will never come back again!!!!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wangthui
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warsaw, Poland
Level Contributor
20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed December 15, 2012

Stayed 5 nights and we recommend it to you.
Hotel - very good for its price.
> Cozy rooms and comfortable beds. Clean linen.
> Quite good bathroom conditions.
> Air conditioning works OK.
> Good room service.
> Thai food delicious in hotel restaurant.
> WiFi sometimes stops working.
> Fantastic massage services!
> Good starting point to visit the whole island by scooter.
Beach side - restful
> nice sunsets and views
> good either for jogging or yoga, swimming, snorkeling
> beach bars opened in the evening
and very nice atmosphere to have fun at the beach.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anna J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed December 15, 2012

Lanta riviera resort , They Steal your personal belongings from the rooms, bar, and restaurant.
you much careful a lot.
newly open Coco lanta ego resort is very good. if you like to stay in Koh lanta , the best choice is
Coco lanta ego resort ,

Room Tip: newly open, coco lanta ego resort is very good
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank jammy b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ko Lanta hotels
0.1 mi away
Lanta Darawadee Hotel
Lanta Darawadee Hotel
#69 of 84 in Ko Lanta
39 reviews
0.3 mi away
Blue Andaman Lanta Resort
Blue Andaman Lanta Resort
#43 of 84 in Ko Lanta
281 reviews
0.0 mi away
Lanta Emerald Bungalow
Lanta Emerald Bungalow
#49 of 145 in Ko Lanta
126 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Lanta New Coconut Bungalow
Lanta New Coconut Bungalow
#8 of 145 in Ko Lanta
127 reviews
0.0 mi away
Coco Lanta Resort
Coco Lanta Resort
#4 of 210 in Ko Lanta
367 reviews
0.2 mi away
Veranda Lanta & Spa Resort
Veranda Lanta & Spa Resort
#77 of 145 in Ko Lanta
7 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lanta Riviera Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lanta Riviera Resort

Property: Lanta Riviera Resort
Address: 90/4 Moo 2, | Saladan Subdistrict, Ko Lanta 81150, Thailand (Formerly Lanta Riviera Bungalows)
Location: Thailand > Krabi Province > Ko Lanta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #124 of 145 B&Bs / Inns in Ko Lanta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Lanta Riviera Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lanta Riviera Resort offers modern air-conditioned rooms. Approximately 9 km from Saladan Centre, the resort is equipped with an outdoor pool, massage service and free Wi-Fi. This resort also has an on-site tour desk. The resort is 15 km from Koh Lanta Old Town and 25 km from Koh Lanta National park. Krabi Airport is 2 hours away by boat and car. Rooms at Lanta Riviera Resort are fitted with a satellite TV, a safety deposit box and a refrigerator. Shower facilities and free toiletries are included in an en suite bathroom. The resort offers car and bicycle rental service, airport shuttle and luggage storage. There is also a gift shop on site. Riviera Restaurant serves Thai and European cuisines between 07:00-22:00 hrs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, HostelWorld, Hotwire, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Ctrip TA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and Hotel.de so you can book your Lanta Riviera Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lanta Riviera Bungalows Hotel Ko Lanta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing