We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overpriced and no value for money!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Lanta Casuarina Beach Resort
Ranked #28 of 84 Hotels in Ko Lanta
Reviewed November 21, 2011

On almost every hotel website you visit Hotel Casuarina is described as a professionally run hotel with a prime service.! If you call overcharging for rooms, staff with selected service and a almost non-english speaking restaurant staff professionally run, then yes Casuarina is absolutely in that category!
And don't even get me started on the fact that they charge for WI-FI! and it didn't even work properly. Everywhere else we traveled WI-FI was free, even in the most basic restaurants and in bars etc. It really just seems as they try to squeeze as much money as possible out of the guests.

We had rented a scooter for two days and the receptionist had advised it came with free gas and that they would be able to fill it up when returned the last day. When we checked out all of a sudden gas wasn't free and she asked if we could fill it up for them! When we said no they instead charged us (to much) to fill it up themselves.

Casuarina was highly disappointing, find somewhere else where you actually get good value. You can do a lot with your money in Thailand if you spend them right but Casuarina is definitely not the place to do it!

Room Tip: Choose a villa turned towards the beach. the "normal rooms" even with seaview is blocked b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Camilla2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (323)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

118 - 124 of 323 reviews

Reviewed September 1, 2011

Hotel is very nice, we took garden view room, and it was very good. Hotel is right on the beach, and has also own swimming pool. It is very good for children also.
Hotel is about 10 min away from the ferry, so the connection to the mainland is very good. 5-10 minutes walk away is there a lot of restaurants, shops, etc. You can also hire a scooter and discover an island. Prices are really cheap.
Hotel food is not too expensive, but you can eat in nearby restaurant for 1/3 of the price. Rent taxi or ferry in the village and not in the hotel!

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Dejan32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 21, 2011

We'd been their during Songkran holiday. The room was nice and wroth the money we spent. Staffs were nice, friendly. We'd a problem with A/C one day and they fixed it right away. Will come back again.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MollyLanta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 18, 2011

The best thing that this hotel has going for it is its location. Situated on a prime spot on Long Beach which is a clean white sandy beach with crystal clear water. Rooms were very expensive even for the high season but comfortable. Breakfast was very frugal by Thai standards. We never had a meal in the hotel - and judging by the empty restaurant, nobody else did either! 10 minutes down the road are some lovely little local restaurants but mostly we took a 15 minute tuk tuk ride into Saladan and had a meal there. Would we come back to Ko Lanta? In a heartbeat!!! Would we stay at the Casuarina again? No, I'm afraid not.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank quink_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 12, 2011

Pro:
+ Nice ressort (e.g. pool, beach)
+ Friendly staff in the restaurant
+ Beachview rooms are ok but need a renovation

Con:
- Internet costs 100 Baht per hour and it does not work properly
- Reception staff is not that friendly
- Basic prices are high in the restaurant.
Additionaly they add 7% tax and 10% service charge to the basic price which makes it even more expensive.
- Bad value for money if you compare with other ressorts

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nuschi_on_tour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2010

Thankfully stayed only one night. Beautiful hotel on the beach, but completely secluded from restaurants etc. Especially in Low season when not much is open.
Upgraded my room when arrived due to noisy maintenance (good) to a bungalow. Unfortunately bungalow Air Con did not work which became apparent when it was cooler outside than in my room (bad). Hotel staff changed my room immediately I notified them at midnight (good).
Main gripe is internet costs 100 baht for 100 minutes (nothing smaller), which allows me plenty of internet time to write this review. Also, I was told before I purchased this internet that I could print on the following day. The next day they told me I could not print until the manager returned in the afternoon. Checkout at 12:00 (bad)

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank loulou26_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 23, 2010

The Lanta Casaurina was an OK hotel. We went to Lanta in June during the rainy season and would not recommend it. It rained (duh) most of the time and there weren't many places doing business. Lanta Casaurina only had about 7 out of 52 rooms booked - it felt like "The Shining."

On the upside, the service was good and we were able to rent motorbikes for 350 baht per day + gas. The pool was pretty but there was a lot of rubbish washed up on the beach. Perhaps the hotel is better during the high season...but I'd look into another spot were I ever to return to Lanta.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank corklevy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ko Lanta hotels
0.7 mi away
Lanta Pearl Beach Resort
Lanta Pearl Beach Resort
#18 of 84 in Ko Lanta
426 reviews
0.3 mi away
Long Beach Chalet
Long Beach Chalet
#6 of 84 in Ko Lanta
571 reviews
1.0 mi away
Lanta Sand Resort and Spa
Lanta Sand Resort and Spa
#20 of 84 in Ko Lanta
426 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Royal Lanta Resort and Spa
Royal Lanta Resort and Spa
#34 of 84 in Ko Lanta
347 reviews
2.9 mi away
Twin Bay Resort
Twin Bay Resort
#19 of 84 in Ko Lanta
512 reviews
0.3 mi away
Lanta Castaway Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lanta Casuarina Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lanta Casuarina Beach Resort

Address: 288 Moo 3 | Phra Ae Beach, Saladan, Ko Lanta 81150, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Krabi Province > Ko Lanta
Amenities:
Beach Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#13 Top resorts Hotel in Ko Lanta
#23 On the Beach Hotel in Ko Lanta
Price Range: $30 - $132 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Lanta Casuarina Beach Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Cancelon, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Lanta Casuarina Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lanta Casuarina Beach Hotel Ko Lanta
Lanta Casuarina Hotel
Hotel Lanta Casuarina

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing