We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“OK.” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Southern Lanta Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Southern Lanta Resort
Ranked #54 of 84 Hotels in Ko Lanta
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
37 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“OK.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 29, 2013 via mobile

Stayed for one night. The resort is right on the beach so you have direct access to Klong Dao Beach. I was booked in a standard garden view bungalow which was fine. The room was fairly spacious & clean. The double bed was very firm & the pillows were fluffy. There was a safe in the room that can for a laptop.
The bathroom was clean with a shower. But, as someone has already commented, there's a distinct sewer smell.
There is 2 one hr for free wifi access but you will have to pay a nominal fee for longer access. I recommend getting a dtac SIM card for 400 baht which gives u unlimited data & 100 baht credit for 1 week of use & top up for later. There's a shop just on the main road of the resort.
The resort is really quiet at night. There is nobody at reception after 11pm. I had to retrieve my key from the security guy there.
The main road that leads to Saladan Pier is pretty safe. I walked the stretch of the way to the town. It took about 30 minutes by foot.
There's a Gelato shop just opposite the resort called 2 Scoops. Go! It's fantastic.
The buffet breakfast in the morning was OK. Despite being in the warmer, everything tasted cold. There was a made to order omelet stand & typically juice & coffee stations.
It's definitely a resort for families & kids.

Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank chiqee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

189 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    32
    72
    54
    21
    10
See reviews for
70
73
11
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Boulder, Colorado
Level Contributor
54 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 21, 2013

If you are looking for a very kid friendly resort on Koh Lanta, Southern Lanta is a good choice. Our superior garden bungalow was quite basic and overpriced but you pay for the location, awesome beach, the pool and playground. The breakfast buffet was great though service in General was a little impersonal. The resort was filled with mostly Swedes, some friendly but most stick to themselves. We really appreciated how quiet the resort was, prob because of its size, so well insulated from the noise of bars nearby. The pool was fun but way over treated, the chlorine and bromine levels were off the chart-- we brought test strips. Make sure to rinse off.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lyndel1374
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
167 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 21, 2013

We last were in Southern Lanta during the 2004 tsunami and wondered how it had changed.
We found the amenitis fine, the room comfortable, the rate cheap. It was full and very noisy and the breakfast was poor though the restaurant food was good.

The negative for us was the staff, After 2 days we wree still asked evert 5 minutes - what room are you in? After one day in Golden Bay Cottages we knew all the staff's names and they knew ours and used them....here you are just an inconvenience.

I would not recommend this place as there are lots of better places on Klong Dao and though it is cheap it just isnt worth it. I wont retun and would go to Golden Bay even with the comments made in that review.

Room Tip: If you want quiet it isnt for you but avoid anywhere near the pool especially D02-D06 unless you wan...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank michael p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 14, 2013

We had only booked 2 nights here but after the first night we liked it so much we booked another 5. The rooms are a good size with large bathrooms and showers. There are 2 good sized swimming pools one which was hidden away and always empty. The buffet breakfast was very nice and had a lot of choice. Located on the best beach in koh lanta and of an evening the bars and restaurants along the beach are perfect for dining and relaxing ( indian bar was our favourite with fire shows on every evening). Very good value for money would defiantly return

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AimeeJ89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town
Level Contributor
60 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 7, 2013

This hotel is situated on the most beautiful beach in Lanta. However, they should rather close their doors during low season. There was no buffet breakfast for us, we had to eat from a set menu every morning! After the 2nd day, we really did not look forward to breakfast as it was so boring! The hotel could not cater for us for lunch or dinner, and even the drinks menu was limited to a few drinks available. When we asked for something to eat or drink, they would refer us to the Seven Eleven!

The rooms are really small and the showers in some of the bathrooms are so small that a normal sized person cannot fit into it.

The hotel is on such a beautiful beach with the most beautiful sunsets that I've ever seen. Such a pity that the hotel stays open during low season when they cannot provide the service and food that is expected.

I'll go back to Lanta island, but look for another hotel on Klong Dao beach.

Room Tip: The only decent rooms are the few delux rooms right on the beachfront.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WilIls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Ko Lanta hotels

Worcestershire
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 13, 2013

We decided to move from phi phi , very glad we did ,fell in love with the island , basic accommodation , good service ( not many here) but had to check each night when they stopped serving food , transport was arranged for us , quick check in , complimentary water , I would go again

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank travelertogo_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lund, Sweden
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 24, 2013

We stayed for 12 days in a bungalow with one large room and a toilet with shower. We had good airconditioning and a a TV and fridge. We had Eurosport, CNN and BBC that we could watch. All other channels were Thailndic programs. A comfortable loging. Breakfirst was ok but cheese and fruits like mango and papaya were missing. Internet was only free for 2 hours and then you have to pay. However was internet was free of charge in most restaurants so we would propose to introduce free internet for all guests at the hotel. At the beach the hotel provided sun chairs but too many were broken without any replacement. The sandbeach was very close and the water just perfect for swimming. The garden was very dry and could have been much greener with a watering system. Close to many good restaurants at the beach and along the village road. The staff is kind and helpful. It is an average hotel and can be improved.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank skarvgol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ko Lanta hotels
0.1 mi away
Royal Lanta Resort and Spa
Royal Lanta Resort and Spa
#31 of 84 in Ko Lanta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 332 reviews
0.3 mi away
Lanta Sea House Resort
Lanta Sea House Resort
#30 of 84 in Ko Lanta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 145 reviews
0.6 mi away
Twin Bay Resort
Twin Bay Resort
#20 of 84 in Ko Lanta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 491 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Holiday Villa
Holiday Villa
#49 of 84 in Ko Lanta
3.5 of 5 bubbles 102 reviews
0.1 mi away
Golden Bay Cottages
Golden Bay Cottages
#40 of 203 in Ko Lanta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 206 reviews
0.2 mi away
D.R. Lanta Bay Resort
D.R. Lanta Bay Resort
#45 of 203 in Ko Lanta
3.5 of 5 bubbles 112 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Southern Lanta Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Southern Lanta Resort

Property: Southern Lanta Resort
Address: 105 Moo 3 Tumbon Saladan, Ko Lanta 81150, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Krabi Province > Ko Lanta
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #54 of 84 Hotels in Ko Lanta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Southern Lanta Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 100
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Southern Lanta Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Southern Lanta Hotel Ko Lanta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing