We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“fantastic room and service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Southern Lanta Resort
Ranked #53 of 84 Hotels in Ko Lanta
Reviewed July 13, 2011

We stayed at the Southern off season, only a few other people staying there. We were given a lovley room with a sea view from the verandah, well appointed and very clean. The management is very helpful even offering a free trip into Saladan. Any problems are sorted immediately.Would definitely stay here again. Great pool. It is close to quite a few good places to eat.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pambicoot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (192)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

59 - 65 of 192 reviews

Reviewed May 9, 2011

We went to Lanta for a weekend to have holiday, a really nice resort hotel but problem now when it is low season that all food was finish - if nor for that i would give them a "4 star" .
If and when we go back to Lanta, we stay in same hotel.

Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
Thank tyronefroberg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 21, 2011

I really want to write a lot about this place and hotel. Although we went there last June but did not have time to put this update. Location of this hotel is just amazing, we have selected the beach front suite. Do not go by the name of suite, as this is just a big room, but yes this is right on the beach. You can watch the sunset from your room only. There is a small patio outside the room where you can sit and you can spend many days just watching the sea and only the sea and just doing nothing. The room is a thai style room, bed is big enough and there is also a day bed, which you can make your child sleep at night. The pool is small but for us this was enough as we did not have to share this with anyone. At night you can hear the sea waves, the place is just amazing. They give free WiFi but only on the pool and reception area, this does not reach your room. For us this was not a problem at all.

The season when we went is low season, and that was so low, you hardly see anyone in the beach. You can walk long and long on the beach and no one would be around. We had been to many different places in southern Thailand, this is the most amazing experience we had. A hotel where you are the only guests, but this have not made their hospitality to us any less, in fact the hotel manager use to ask us if we need anything or if anything is that he can do for us. They have a shuttle to the Saladan town, but since we were the only guests, this shuttle got us any time we wanted. Most of the shops in the town was closed and very few tourist could be seen in the roads. But by a little walk in the back of the hotel there was a minimart and you could get all your necessity needs there. The food in the hotel is just good, we had dinners there since nothing was open after evening. Brkfast was served on a set menu, we have to keep in mind that we are the only guests and they can never arrange a buffet for us only.

If you are a fun loving person, this is not the place. If you are a quite and peace loving person, who just want to spend a very private time with their family only, this is JUST THE RIGHT PLACE. This is just a perfect peaceful holiday we have ever opted for, just nothing to do, and spend a lot of time together. There is no much things to do in Koh Lanta. Its just a quite island, you can make this all to yourself. We spend a week there and every moment we enjoy.

I would highly recommend this place to any peace loving person who wants to have the comfort of home on the lap of nature. If we go to Koh Lanta again, we are sure to stay here only. At the end, I want to thank the manager who really taken all the care to serve us the best.

Room Tip: the beach front suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank strawberryz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 7, 2011

This is a large resort, catering mainly to Swedish families as there is a school next door. The beach couldn't be closer and is relatively quiet. It's just a short walk along the beach to a wide choice of restaurants or a cheap tuk tuk ride into town.

The staff were incredibly helpful and friendly. Overall an excellent place to stay.

  • Stayed: February 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ViksG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 11, 2011

A very big resort with bungalows in rows down to the beach. Not very individual, but quite allright. The bungalows are regular. Uncomfortable chairs on the veranda. Beach front bungalows could be disturbed by noice from restaurants etc. The pool is allright but due to all the kids playing there the water qality might be poor in the afternoon. The restaurant is good, but the music can sometimes be loud by the beach. Breakfast is good. Crowded beach where the chairs get occupied before 7 am. The resort is well managed and the staff is friendly. Good location close to Baan Saladan. You get what you pay for.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Bellamin69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 8, 2011

I stayed at Southern Lanta for 3 weeks and enjoyed every minute of it. The staff was so friendly and the hotel was great - beautiful garden and pool and right on the middle of the Klong Dau beach where most things happened. The reastaurant had entertainment every other night. The bungalow was nicer than the pictures and I could look to the sea from my bed.
This hotel is a great place to stay and enjoy the sunset every night, and then go on trips to the more southern islands with white beaches.Lots of day trips to enjoy - do take the 4 island trip and ride elephants!
Teh Klong Dau beach is very nice. It varies with the tide - sometimes very shallow and sometimes deeper and you can bodysurf when the tide comes in. Great beach for young and old.
I hope to go back some day!

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank beatehelland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 30, 2011

A hundred rooms and 99 of them occupied by Swedish travellers here on long vaccation escaping their winter. Many children with them. But Swedish people are nice (not very outgoing on average though) so we were very happy to be the only non-Swedes (Aussies). Great rooms, good breakfasts, magic restaurant on the beach, short walk to many other good restaurants along the beach, interesting long walk into town (or short cyclo ride) whre there are many other restaurants and shops, nice little pool (although pretty busy). This is a really good place to stay. The beach is excellent to swim in, safe, sandy, no sea lice or sea weed or jellyfish, warm. Food in the restaurant was superb and well priced and the service was also excellent. We had a queen size bed, a single bed and an extra bed on the floor to accommodate the 4 in our family. Family rooms exist but were booked out. Service at front desk fluctuated between average and good, depending on who was there. Highly recommend this place.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Carperdiem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ko Lanta hotels
0.8 mi away
Twin Bay Resort
Twin Bay Resort
#19 of 84 in Ko Lanta
515 reviews
0.1 mi away
Royal Lanta Resort and Spa
Royal Lanta Resort and Spa
#37 of 84 in Ko Lanta
350 reviews
1.5 mi away
Lanta Pearl Beach Resort
Lanta Pearl Beach Resort
#17 of 84 in Ko Lanta
432 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Lanta Island Resort
Lanta Island Resort
#38 of 84 in Ko Lanta
105 reviews
1.0 mi away
Lanta Resort
Lanta Resort
#49 of 84 in Ko Lanta
331 reviews
0.2 mi away
Laguna Beach Club
Laguna Beach Club
#36 of 84 in Ko Lanta
91 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Southern Lanta Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Southern Lanta Resort

Address: 105, Moo 3 | Sala Dan, Ko Lanta 81150, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Krabi Province > Ko Lanta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#36 On the Beach Hotel in Ko Lanta
Price Range: $44 - $147 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Southern Lanta Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 99
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Southern Lanta Resort located right on the middle of Klong Dao Beach, the striking three kilometre stretch of golden sandy beach and shallow clear water, an ideal place for tourists that would love to get rid of the hustle and bustle life. With hundred metres of private beach front and the vibrant natural surroundings, Southern Lanta Resort also offers selections of room ranging from over hundred bungalows and apartments located on the spacious ground. The bungalows allow the magnificent view of the beach and beautifully decorated garden right from the balcony. With just minutes away from the most dynamic spots of the island, Southern Lanta Resort had certainly becomes favourite spot for holidays-goers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Orbitz, HotelQuickly and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Southern Lanta Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Southern Lanta Hotel Ko Lanta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing