We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A good value experience”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Rawi Warin Resort & Spa
Ranked #15 of 84 Hotels in Ko Lanta
Certificate of Excellence
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A good value experience”
Reviewed November 24, 2013

We stayed at this hotel as part of a one month trip around Thailand. Loh Kanta is very quiet but that suited us perfectly at Bangkok and a busy few days. It is a beautiful resort perfect for families more than couples wanting anything lively in the evenings. The pool is beautiful five star and all the food is a high four star standard with a range of all thai and western hot and cold food and drinks. The prices for dinner are in line with the resort about £5 for a club sandwich and salad at the beach bar and about £7 a main in the restaurant at night. Yes this is expensive for Thailand but still resonable we felt.

The rooms are big with two double beds in. We got the option to villa upgrade for 1000 baht a night we just didn't feel it was worth the expense we looked into them and this would be worth it for a family. The rooms are the highest in the resort but you can get free golf buggies if you don't want to walk.

We are went to do a elephant ride and see the waterfalls and caves the three things I would advise you do on the island.

Room Tip: Notes above on rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jemima S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

826 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    366
    268
    94
    56
    42
See reviews for
185
461
10
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (123)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
34 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed November 19, 2013

Let's start with the check in: no warm and friendly welcome, but confused and unfriendly staff at the reception! It took us nearly 3 hours after the regular check-in time before we finally could get in our room. Reason therefor was, that they had to clean the room and the owner of the hotel wanted to check every room.. We don't know what they exactly did but it wasn't cleaning the room, cause it was really not super clean and our room (low category) was permanently smelling mouldy. There was no nice view, simply a dark room on the hillside.

Nice garden and pools but very bad light at night and horrible stairs up to the houses at the hillside. That's why they probably try to carry anybody up there by their little cars making a terrible noise.

Pool services stop at 6 pm, you get beach towels only by signature ( and if you don't return them you will be charged for the towels!!! )

Complete breakfast buffet with bad coffee, the rest of the breakfast was fine. What really sucked, was the horrible music choice including every day the same songs, with classic versions of "titanic" and "unbreak my Heart" we felt like 60!

Over all we can't recommend to stay there as the rates are high and it is not worth this large amount of extra money!

Room Tip: Take the villas, not the "deluxe rooms"!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank angiek530
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
argyll, scotland
Level Contributor
49 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 139 helpful votes
Reviewed November 14, 2013

After reading some of the reviews we were a bit unsure about booking this hotel for three nights but after getting a very good price we were glad that we did! We had a Sea View villa which was very spacious and clean. Sea views were not bad but a bit impeded by foliage but it did give a feeling of privacy and we did not feel overlooked by other villas.
As it was a special occasion we spoke to Martin the Head Chef and to the Restaurant Manager who organised a delicious meal for us complete with birthday cake!
Pool area is very nice but can get a bit busy - good service from pool bar. Beach is nice too and for more of a relaxed feel try the Reggae bar on the other side of hotel off beach!! We looked at the Spa but felt it was very over priced so we had a massage on the beach which was great and only about 350 BHT!
Overall it was a great experience and we enjoyed our time there. Staff were very friendly and helpful. We would stay here again and feel that the hotel and staff are working hard to improve standards.

Room Tip: Sea View Villas are very spacious with large balcony area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank argylllassie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Telluride, Colorado
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 11, 2013 via mobile

I expected better since the price I was paying, but it was rather disappointing. The rooms are beautiful, all though this is a HUGE resort and there are a lot of people. The rooms are quite a hike as well. I had to walk up 4 staircases to get to mine. The staff is okay, not overly helpful and service is disappointing. Susie at the front desk was helpful and I liked her recommendations. There was no real personal touch to the resort and it's crowded. Expect to be poolside with crying children all day long. The biggest disappointment was upon checking out I paid $200 usd for laundry, room service, pool service, restaurant, etc. and the hotel staff didn't even offer to carry my bag or hail me a tuk-tuk. I had to walk out to the road with all of my stuff. There are much better resorts on the island.

Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
Helpful?
2 Thank Hennessg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
penang
Level Contributor
116 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed November 9, 2013 via mobile

The hotel is about6 25 minutes ride from Saladan pier. Located by the beach with beautiful view of the sunset.

The crew were helpful butThe rather slow in providing the service. Nevertheless, they understood English quite well.

The rooms were beautiful and spacious. The room service was slow. Buggy service were always available to the rooms as some were located up the hill. Walking up to the room was nice too.

The complimentary breakfast was good.

The Spa was awful. Do not go to the Spa. The masseuse were not professional and lousy massage. Not recommended at all. Waste of money.

There is no shuttle to Saladan pier. Have to pay 400 baht. However, bike rental was only 200 baht per day just outside the resort. You can go around the island with that.

Do not get the transport back to krabi from the resort. It costs 2200 baht, sharing. The VIP shuttle will cost 3400 baht. If you but it from Saladan pier, its only 300 baht per person and they will pick you from the resort.

Overall, this is a luxurious getaway with few more fine tunings to be done. It would be nice if they provide free shuttle to Saladan at least twice a day.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank drnara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, England
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed November 8, 2013

If you are looking for 5 star luxury do not book and go elsewhere.

We booked this resort based on everyone's reviews on trip advisor and the beautiful location however it was a massive disappointment. The amenities are excellent and rate 5 star such as the cinema room, tennis courts and pool however the room and service lacked terribly.

The room we originally had was disgusting and would not rate 5 star, the room had terrible damp which stunk the room out and the bed sheets were wet. On complaining the staff took a long time in finding us another room, asking us to stay in the stinky room until they found us another one. They took ages to the point where we had to go down to reception to ask what was going on. Staff just smiled, laughed and no apology. Eventually we had another room with no damp, and had a great view of the ocean, however the toilet was broken and wouldn't flush, this had to be repaired twice, the curtains were hanging off so we had to fix them, the safe broke within days and had to have batteries replaced, the fridge full of overpriced soda was over a year out of date, and the beds where the most uncomfortable piece of rubbish we've ever slept on. Sleeping on a concrete floor would have been more nicer. We've stopped at 2 star guesthouses and had better beds.

The beds where never changed either even though they said they did it daily, never replenished the shampoo and shower gel until we asked for some more.

To make matters worse on our day of leaving we came back from breakfast to find mouse droppings on our bed, so not only was the room falling apart we were sharing it with rodents.

So on reading my review think twice about wasting your hard earned money on this supposed 5 star resort.

If you do decide to go here then go outside for food, it's nice and cheap.... Turn right out the resort and 2 mins down the road is River Sand restaurant. Tasty food, great portions and great price.

If Rawi Warin spent a bit of time looking after the rooms and the service was better than it would be worth the money, as it stands the rooms are 2 star standard with a 5 star pool. Real shame.

Room Tip: Book a room without damp! Higher floors have stunning sea views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Hyperbabe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rawiwarinkrabi, Manager at Rawi Warin Resort & Spa, responded to this review, November 11, 2013
Dear Hyperbabe

Im sorry to hear your points about the rooms and you can be rest assured we will follow up on all points, and make sure this is improved and acted upon.

we value all our guests points and we will make sure we will act to improve the service to our valued guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed November 6, 2013 via mobile

This was a lovely relaxing place to stay. The VIP transfer from the airport in Krabi was very comfortable, as was our room. We had a sea view villa, which is worth mentioning was high up on the hillside. We were happy to walk up to this but many tourists seemed to prefer getting a lift from one of the many golf carts the staff were driving around.
The pool and beach area were great, as was the food served in the restaurant. It wasn't peak season so some things were closed- notably the hilltop pool and some of the bars/restaurants associated with the hotel. This was also reflected in the surrounding area, with many of the local restaurants only starting to open towards the end of our stay as the area got busier.
The hotel restaurant staff seemed quite disorganised- I'm used to Thai service being slower than in the UK, but this was worse than average. Still, not more than a mild annoyance during an otherwise very relaxing stay.

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank costyp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ko Lanta hotels
4.2 mi away
Layana Resort and Spa
Layana Resort and Spa
#1 of 84 in Ko Lanta
1,432 reviews
6.4 mi away
Twin Lotus Resort & Spa
Twin Lotus Resort & Spa
#6 of 84 in Ko Lanta
726 reviews
4.1 mi away
Long Beach Chalet
Long Beach Chalet
#7 of 84 in Ko Lanta
544 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
The Houben Hotel
The Houben Hotel
#4 of 84 in Ko Lanta
685 reviews
6.7 mi away
Crown Lanta Resort & Spa
Crown Lanta Resort & Spa
#11 of 84 in Ko Lanta
1,368 reviews
4.4 mi away
Pimalai Resort and Spa
Pimalai Resort and Spa
#2 of 84 in Ko Lanta
2,049 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rawi Warin Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rawi Warin Resort & Spa

Property: Rawi Warin Resort & Spa
Address: 139 Moo 8 | Krabi, Ko Lanta 81150, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Krabi Province > Ko Lanta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#7 Luxury Hotel in Ko Lanta
#8 Top resorts Hotel in Ko Lanta
#11 Romantic Hotel in Ko Lanta
#12 On the Beach Hotel in Ko Lanta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Rawi Warin Resort & Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 185
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Rawi Warin Resort & Spa offers a luxurious escape from the stresses of the modern world. Situated on 34 rai of land, into the foothills of the Koh Lanta Yai and overlooking the crystal waters of Klong Tob Bay, this beautiful, award-winning resort offers a choice of rooms, each with its own distinct style and ambience, numerous sports activities, superb dining options and private swimming pools. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Ctrip TA, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Rawi Warin Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rawi Warin Hotel Ko Lanta
Rawi Warin Resort And Spa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing