We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“beautiful setting, but complete lack of management”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Lanta Sand Resort and Spa
Ranked #20 of 84 Hotels in Ko Lanta
roma
Level Contributor
107 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“beautiful setting, but complete lack of management”
Reviewed January 31, 2011

Arriving at 8 p.m. at the dark lobby we were welcomed by badly trained staff. Our two balcony rooms were not available, so we were given a villa and a mini-suite, so we did not complain. The next day our daughter and her fiancée had to change into the balcony room, which was very poorly designed and had no bathtub, only a tiny pool on the little terrace, which badly needed cleaning.
The person responsible for the beach chairs made a big business: he blocked all available deck chairs with towels, and "sold" them to all new arriving clients. For a tip he then was willing to block the seats for the following day.
The worst part was the lack of supervision at the only restaurant, food items and drinks on the menu were not always available, and the European menu was poor, while the Asian dishes were good. Staff did their best, but again lacked training and supervision and very poor English.
Twice cockroaches in the bathroom, and very dim lights in the bathrooms. Obviously the owner only thinks on how to save money, since he uses energy saving lightbulbs so you cannot see your face in the mirror.
We learned that the owner lives and works in Krabi, two hours away. But what is really shocking is that the manager herself lives and works in Phuket, even further away.
What a pity for the lovely garden , it could be such a nice hotel.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RomaRenato
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

398 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    152
    133
    63
    24
    26
See reviews for
93
206
15
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Bangkok
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed December 27, 2010

Stayed there for 4 days over Christmas. We stayed in a room as no bungalows available. The room was clean and nice, but I found it quite noisy (you could hear the people next door, upstairs and in the hallway very easily). Beach is beautiful and well-located. They need to invest in some new sun beds and umbrellas as the sun beds are starting to rot and the umbrellas were in poor condition. However, the staff was very nice and the hotel itself is quite pleasant. Best part is the location at the top end of the long beach.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Julie_Traveler2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vasteras, Sweden
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 4, 2010

The hotel area is very well maintained with beautiful garden environment. Two pools but we spent only time in the one closest to the restaurant where we could play as well as relax. Not crowded at all in the beginning of December. The restaurant is great for breakfast with the wonderful view of the beach and ocean. The beach area is also well maintained but still "rustique" enough so that it doesn't feel too flashy. The hotel restaurant is good also for lunch/dinner but a little boring and expensive compare to the neighbouring restaurants along the beach. Koh Lanta is known in Sweden as very crowded with Swedish families and of course there are a lot of Swedes at Long Beach but as it is not too much people at all (beginning Dec) and also French/English/Spanish/German tourists are present, the mix is OK. A really good hotel and area that I can recommend both for families with children as well as for travellers without children.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Apollo

Helpful?
2 Thank Family_AMM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
Reviewed June 2, 2010

We are 2 adults and 1 child. Our Family were enjoy when we were their. The staff very helpful and freindly.The place is good and clean. If we have a chance to back to Lanta We will go to Lanta Sand Resort & Spa agian.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mercy-Techa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Osaka, Japan
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 29, 2010

We went there for few days at first,but when we were ther we changed our mind to stay longer because we love Lanta Sand Resort & Spa-the place that we are looking for relaxing on our vacation.
The asmosphere is very very nice peachful, beautiful and wonderful.
Our room was simple,but it was so cool we love our bathtub behide our room.The resort surrouded by many kinds of plants.Staff very freindly and helpful.Sure we will come bach again

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Hanakopk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scotland UK
Level Contributor
45 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 157 helpful votes
Reviewed March 18, 2010

There were no bungalows left when we arrived but we were offered a choice of rooms in 'the sands' and settled on a third (top floor) Junior Suite in one of the main blocks. The hotel is unusual in that the two blocks at the back of the hotel each have an individual pool separate from the main pool and 'pool entry' ground floor rooms where you step from your balcony right into the water.
These two pools are great pools, big and ideal for swimmers. children have to be supervised. They are quite different from the free form main pool which is at the centre of the hotel grounds, not next to the beach. Our room was perfect, a living area and separate bedroom. It was good quality,well furnished and air conditioned at quite a reasonable price. In a sense we were pleased that we stayed in the main block, the villas were on the main pathway to the beach and a bit dark from the trees and plants for our liking.A warning however. If, however the sound of children playing puts you off then beware , the main block is populated mainly by Swedish families who sit round the pool while the children play together in the pool and the noise can be quite loud.
The hotel restaurant lacks atmosphere and like others, the quality of meals was unremarkable. Most people seem to eat at the beach restaurants anyway.
The reception staff are very helpful, the room was clean, linen and towels changed each day. No problem with this hotel.

It is very centrally situated on Ko Lanta, there is plenty of beach life and the sea is safe for swimming. I would certainly go back to this hotel, but we would find out when the Swedish school holidays are before we go!

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TimPoster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, UK
Level Contributor
23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed February 1, 2010

Stayed here as part of our honeymoon in Thailand. Everything about this place was brilliant from the room, to the setting, to the service. The resort is very green and lush and pretty. We stayed in one of the rooms with a balcony over looking the beautiful pools. There was a bath anda day bed on the balcony which was lovely for watching the sun set. The room was massive and very clean. The food was also good.
It was very quiet when we were there although it was peak season. There were mainly other couples and a few families. They have dvd's for you to borrow for free if you want to relax in your room. It was very hot and the air con worked brilliantly.
The beach was glorious and there were lots of great places to eat. I would say it is more of a place for couples as there isn't much nightlife if you are young and single.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kelliems
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ko Lanta hotels
0.8 mi away
Long Beach Chalet
Long Beach Chalet
#7 of 84 in Ko Lanta
544 reviews
1.9 mi away
Twin Bay Resort
Twin Bay Resort
#18 of 84 in Ko Lanta
505 reviews
1.4 mi away
Royal Lanta Resort and Spa
Royal Lanta Resort and Spa
#33 of 84 in Ko Lanta
347 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Twin Lotus Resort & Spa
Twin Lotus Resort & Spa
#6 of 84 in Ko Lanta
726 reviews
2.0 mi away
Crown Lanta Resort & Spa
Crown Lanta Resort & Spa
#11 of 84 in Ko Lanta
1,367 reviews
6.1 mi away
SriLanta Resort
SriLanta Resort
#22 of 84 in Ko Lanta
1,008 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lanta Sand Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lanta Sand Resort and Spa

Property: Lanta Sand Resort and Spa
Address: 279 Moo 3 | Long Beach, Tambon Saladan, Ko Lanta 81150, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Krabi Province > Ko Lanta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Spa Hotel in Ko Lanta
#8 Luxury Hotel in Ko Lanta
#17 On the Beach Hotel in Ko Lanta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Lanta Sand Resort and Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 77
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Northern Modern mix Classical in style. Lanta Sand Resort& Spa is a tropical paradise of relaxing garden, Surrounded by coconut trees, lotus lagoon and crystal clear water, white sand beaches. The resort offering an atmosphere to relax, nourish and revitalize. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Lanta Sand Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lanta Sand Hotel Ko Lanta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing